We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel needs to reach for the top” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Ranked #2 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel needs to reach for the top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are curreny staying at Vintage Kimpton in Portland. We've found our stay here to be excellent, staff are warm and friendly, the hotel is well situated, the rooms are clean and spacious. The only issue in our stay has been that one of the two elevators has not been functioning during our stay. Meaning long delays waiting for the elevator in the lobby and on the 8th floor. I tried climbing the stairs to the 8th floor, but wasn't the best idea I've had. I would give this place 5 stars if it wasnt for the elevator.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gurby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Gurby;
You are right.... we just completed the mechanical modernization of one elevator and the second is now underway. This is part of our commitment to exceptional guest experiences. Unfortunately, it takes time to get the work done. We are almost there. Our guests safety, security, comfort and overall experience is our focus. There is no way around the time it takes to update the elevator. We are sorry for any inconvenience and appreciate your fabulous review of our service and the other experience s you enjoyed while you were staying here at the hotel. Please know that in a couple more weeks, both elevators will be complete! We look forward to seeing you back again. All the best, Sandy Burkett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    296
    79
    41
    9
See reviews for
167
530
93
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Overall a good experience here. Main comment of note is the slight shabbiness of the room. Our room was ample, quiet, and the bed was comfortable. But there were water stains on the ceiling and the bathroom looked cheaply done and a little outdated. Overall service was good, although the front desk was a little inconsistent: some staff went out of their way to help, others were indifferent.

I'd give this hotel another try while possibly requesting another room. Maybe I just got unlucky with the one suite that needs a little more TLC?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trappedinfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Trappedinfrance;
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your feedback and I hope that you mentioned the issues you experienced to our team, so that the next guest does not have the same issue in the guest room that you occupied. We are investing in our guest experiences over $2 million in mechanical upgrades, operable window refurbishment, and back of the house equipment which all improve the comfort and guest experience, much of this work, our guests often don't see. Upon completion we will be doing a full guest room renovation as well. We look forward to you returning and seeing what else is new at the Vintage Portland! Happy Trails, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

What I love about Kimpton Hotels is their pet friendly policy. I had previously stayed in a Kimpton in Seattle which was divine. Upon arriving at this hotel it stated in the room packet that dogs were not to be left alone. This was not true in Seattle. I don't leave my dog alone as she is small, spoiled and a service dog. In Seattle we left my sister's dog alone to go shopping. Her dog will bark for a short time when we leave and well then stop and sleep. The food at Hotel Vintage plaza was good. We had room service as even though my dog is a service dog I avoid taking her anywhere she may not be wanted by other patrons. In Seattle as we looked at the menu to ordered to go we were encourage to stay and keep the dog with us. My other complaint about Hotel Vintage is that I foolishly left two outfits in the closet. I called to see if they had the outfits. I got a call saying that indeed they had found the clothes and to what address should they be sent. I left my address twice and never received my clothes. I've decided the clothes are a write off. The hotel was very expensive. I would stay at a different Kimpton in the future but this one I think not.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachV070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear RachV070;
I'm so sorry that you have not received your clothes. I hope that you will contact me personally, as we want to ensure you have your things, we do not have your address. I appreciate the feedback on this site. Travelers often forget things in their haste to leave and I encourage them to contact us, speak to someone, as at times when people leave messages, they speak very quickly and we may not be able to discern the message or a phone number left on voice mail. We certainly want to get your things back to you, so I encourage you to contact me directly - that we may get correct shipping information. I have checked with my team and we have no record of your address or a message. Thank you again, we look forward to returning your treasures to you..
All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just spent a long weekend at this hotel. Its in a great location for downtown Portland, so we could park the car and walk everywhere we needed to go. There were a couple minor issues with the room, but it all worked out well. The staff is very friendly. There are cheaper hotels nearby that you might put on your list if this place is too pricey. The restaurant on site is yummy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Paul G;
You seem to travel to Portland alot, there were several reviews for our neighborhood along with ours - I want to thank you for your gracious feedback. You noted that our staff was friendly, that there were a couple things that worked out. We would loved to knock it out of the park next time you are in town. Our goal 5 star everytime. Glad you enjoyed Pazzo I think it is "Yummy" too!Thank you once again, we look forward to serving you in the future. All the best, Sandy Burkett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amawalk, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Vintage Plaza. Our last night there, we asked the hotel staff to call us a taxi to the airport for the morning. They agreed to do so. When we checked out, they took us to what we thought was the taxi they promised to call for us; the driver loaded our luggage into the back and we got in. However, there was no meter. The driver explained to us that this was actually a town car. It turns out that a town car is a much more expensive way to get to the airport in Portland. I don't know why the hotel staff called a town car for us. Maybe they have some argument why the town car is so much better that we really should be happy to pay extra for one. However, I think they had an obligation to actually make that argument and not just hustle us into the vehicle we thought was the taxi they had promised us. My real objection is not the extra cost but rather the dishonesty of the hotel staff.

It also bothered me a lot that the room comes with a cute stuffed animal that you can buy when you check out at a grossly inflated price. I don't mind all the other overpriced stuff that they put in your hotel room for easy but expensive purchase. However, I think the stuffed animal is different because if a little kid spends a few nights in a room with a cute stuffed animal, there is a significant risk that the kid is going to become extremely attached to that stuffed animal. Then either the parents are stuck paying an insane price for the stuffed animal or the kid has to leave without it; it seems really unfair to one or the other of them. The stuffed animal policy seems insidiously clever but deeply manipulative. We did not have kids with us so it was not an issue for us, but it did make me feel like the hotel was not run very ethically.

Our room was very nice. The bed was comfortable. Wireless internet in the hotel was great. The hotel coffee was excellent. This would be our favorite hotel in Portland if it was operated in a more honest manner. We will never, ever return to this hotel, and we will never recommend it to anyone. Hotel management should seriously reconsider how they treat their guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jwm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear JWM4
Thank you for letting us know that you requested a taxi, I agree you should have been able to have a taxi, thank you for alerting us about your experience with the towncar. I will let you know the towncar does provide transportation to many of our frequent guests, we have no complaints about their service or being to the hotel when called. I cannot say the same about the other vendors in town.I will also let you know that when we had an ice storm, when it is dinner time, they were the ones that ensured our guests were cared for. I am truly sorry that it felt like you were taken advantage of, that is never our intention.

The stuffed animal is an offering that many of our travelers choose to take home to their kids, or purchase while they are here. Part of the proceeds go to the humane society of Portland. As with all of our honor bar offerings, we provide as a convenience to the guest.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your actual stay with us. I just wanted to respond and apologize to you about the request you made not being fulfilled as you reqluested.
All the best on your traveles.
Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Two-night business stay at the hotel. I am a regular Kimpton patron -- like the style and convenience of their hotels. The quality is also consistent and the service strong.

My first stay at the Vintage was disappointing. The room was spacious but poorly laid out and at 6'2" I literally towered over the shower stall.

When I arrived at the hotel, one of the two elevators was out of order. When I woke up the next morning, both were out of order. The staff did a poor job communicating the status and were not effective at letting people in the lobby know the elevators weren't working.

By the end of the day the elevator was back in service, but the experience marred the visit. .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Dan M.
We are always grateful for the feedback of our guests, and I am sorry that you were caught in that window of time where we had both elevators down. Which was just over an hour, that was an inconvenience to our in house guests. I am happy to let you know that we are in the process of investing in our property. $1.2 million has been spent in the past 18 months to renew all of our mechanical systems, heating/cooling, exhauste systems, new Wireless platform to ensure the connectivity of our guests. The elevators are one week from completion of the first upgrade, the second will then be under way for a few weeks, as you pointed out. It is time. I do hope that when you return to Portland, you give us the opportunity to ensure that your stay with us is exceptional, and we truly appreciate your loyalty to Kimpton. Best, Sandy Burkett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Loved the staff, great location, and the happy hour tastings were really fun (even the free appetizers were really good). The staff had great advice about what to see and where to go.I'd definitely come here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Adam S;
Thank you for letting others know where to enjoy a great stay when in Portland! I really apprecated your feedback about our fun and tasty wine hour. Come on back and bring your friends!
Best, Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland! From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over our complimentary hosted wine hour with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the adult game room, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing