We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Ranked #3 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, great service”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had a large group staying at the Vintage Plaza for a wedding nearby. Service was first-class, accommodations were excellent, and the hotel staff was outstanding! One elevator was out of service, but the staff was very accommodating and helped make up for the inconvenience by stepping out of the elevator so we could step on. Bellman were personable, hardworking and prompt. Front desk staff was friendly and worked hard to accommodate our numerous requests. Prior to the event, Marisa in the sales office was friendly, helpful and professional. Hotel is beautifully decorated, well-appointed and just the right size. Thanks for making my daughter's wedding weekend so perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzabelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Suzabelv;
Your review was such a pleasure to read, authentic and real. I so appreciate your acknowledgement that our team is doing all they can to ensure great guest experiences while "upgrading our elevators". I am thrilled that we had the honor of ensuring that your daughters wedding weekend was perfect. We hope to see you all back with us a year from now on their first anniversary! We will have both elevators humming right along and all of our renovation work will have long since been complete. Again, thank you for trusting us to care for your daughters big event and honoring us to serve you all.
May your journey continue to be filled with wonder! Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    300
    81
    43
    10
See reviews for
172
548
93
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I held my wedding at Monterey Plaza a couple of weeks ago, and it was a great experience! The venue is very picturesque, the service was top-notch, and the food was delicious. I greatly appreciated the professionalism of the staff, including their wedding planner Alexis who was a real partner every step of the way. It makes a big difference to have someone with that kind of experience and expertise guiding you and keeping you on track with all the different things that one has to manage in order to pull off a wedding. I'm happy to recommend this venue to anyone looking to book a wedding in the Monterey area.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money to get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Damon; Thank you - we are always thrilled that weddings go off without a hitch. I am uncertain how your review of the Monterey Plaza has appeared here - Here's to Alexis at the other Plaza. When you visit Porltand, please come stay with us! Congratulations, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
268 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Here are 3 reasons to choose a Kimpton Hotel: there's always a great staff, a fine restaurant and funky furnishings. Oh, there's a fourth: always a gym, even if it's tiny, it's all you need to keep trim. Did I mention happy hour, pet-friendly or LGBT friendly? Check out the bio of the chef, John Eisenhart. A very exceptional person. The Hotel Vintage Plaza is located in downtown Portland and my girlfriend and I rode the free bikes the Hotel provided all over town one sundrenched day. Visiting for a teachers' conference at the nearby convention center, we worked late at night in our room but were rewarded with splendid food from Pazzo. The shopping was conveniently nearby and satisfied all our needs for a new suit, high heels, and trinkets for our dearest at home. I highly recommend staying at the Hotel Vintage Plaza, for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Get the vast room that includes about 750 sq. ft. if you want to work or relax like you're at ho...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins in room and credit if you forgo housekeeping. Good practices!
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Nan F -
Your review was so very gracious and welcomed. I am thrilled that you truly enjoyed our facility, Chef John's delicious offerings in Pazzo and all of the usual value adds that we offer as a Kimpton hotel. 5 Stars says it all and I just wanted you to know that we are grateful. Hurry back from NYC to beautiful Portland.... we will be here, your home away from home.
All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are curreny staying at Vintage Kimpton in Portland. We've found our stay here to be excellent, staff are warm and friendly, the hotel is well situated, the rooms are clean and spacious. The only issue in our stay has been that one of the two elevators has not been functioning during our stay. Meaning long delays waiting for the elevator in the lobby and on the 8th floor. I tried climbing the stairs to the 8th floor, but wasn't the best idea I've had. I would give this place 5 stars if it wasnt for the elevator.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gurby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Gurby;
You are right.... we just completed the mechanical modernization of one elevator and the second is now underway. This is part of our commitment to exceptional guest experiences. Unfortunately, it takes time to get the work done. We are almost there. Our guests safety, security, comfort and overall experience is our focus. There is no way around the time it takes to update the elevator. We are sorry for any inconvenience and appreciate your fabulous review of our service and the other experience s you enjoyed while you were staying here at the hotel. Please know that in a couple more weeks, both elevators will be complete! We look forward to seeing you back again. All the best, Sandy Burkett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Overall a good experience here. Main comment of note is the slight shabbiness of the room. Our room was ample, quiet, and the bed was comfortable. But there were water stains on the ceiling and the bathroom looked cheaply done and a little outdated. Overall service was good, although the front desk was a little inconsistent: some staff went out of their way to help, others were indifferent.

I'd give this hotel another try while possibly requesting another room. Maybe I just got unlucky with the one suite that needs a little more TLC?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trappedinfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Trappedinfrance;
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your feedback and I hope that you mentioned the issues you experienced to our team, so that the next guest does not have the same issue in the guest room that you occupied. We are investing in our guest experiences over $2 million in mechanical upgrades, operable window refurbishment, and back of the house equipment which all improve the comfort and guest experience, much of this work, our guests often don't see. Upon completion we will be doing a full guest room renovation as well. We look forward to you returning and seeing what else is new at the Vintage Portland! Happy Trails, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

What I love about Kimpton Hotels is their pet friendly policy. I had previously stayed in a Kimpton in Seattle which was divine. Upon arriving at this hotel it stated in the room packet that dogs were not to be left alone. This was not true in Seattle. I don't leave my dog alone as she is small, spoiled and a service dog. In Seattle we left my sister's dog alone to go shopping. Her dog will bark for a short time when we leave and well then stop and sleep. The food at Hotel Vintage plaza was good. We had room service as even though my dog is a service dog I avoid taking her anywhere she may not be wanted by other patrons. In Seattle as we looked at the menu to ordered to go we were encourage to stay and keep the dog with us. My other complaint about Hotel Vintage is that I foolishly left two outfits in the closet. I called to see if they had the outfits. I got a call saying that indeed they had found the clothes and to what address should they be sent. I left my address twice and never received my clothes. I've decided the clothes are a write off. The hotel was very expensive. I would stay at a different Kimpton in the future but this one I think not.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachV070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear RachV070;
I'm so sorry that you have not received your clothes. I hope that you will contact me personally, as we want to ensure you have your things, we do not have your address. I appreciate the feedback on this site. Travelers often forget things in their haste to leave and I encourage them to contact us, speak to someone, as at times when people leave messages, they speak very quickly and we may not be able to discern the message or a phone number left on voice mail. We certainly want to get your things back to you, so I encourage you to contact me directly - that we may get correct shipping information. I have checked with my team and we have no record of your address or a message. Thank you again, we look forward to returning your treasures to you..
All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just spent a long weekend at this hotel. Its in a great location for downtown Portland, so we could park the car and walk everywhere we needed to go. There were a couple minor issues with the room, but it all worked out well. The staff is very friendly. There are cheaper hotels nearby that you might put on your list if this place is too pricey. The restaurant on site is yummy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Paul G;
You seem to travel to Portland alot, there were several reviews for our neighborhood along with ours - I want to thank you for your gracious feedback. You noted that our staff was friendly, that there were a couple things that worked out. We would loved to knock it out of the park next time you are in town. Our goal 5 star everytime. Glad you enjoyed Pazzo I think it is "Yummy" too!Thank you once again, we look forward to serving you in the future. All the best, Sandy Burkett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,777 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#10 of 141 in Portland
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland! From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over our complimentary hosted social hour with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the game lounge, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing