We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Ranked #2 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights here for a business trip. Room was nice - average size - with a comfortable bed. Appreciated nice bath amenities in ample supply. Location in outstanding for walking to the river, Powell's bookstore, and good food options. Must say room service here was outstanding and reasonably priced (a first in my experience). Staff were really outstanding and friendly, in addition to professional. Only negative was downtown location means noise from garbage trucks and the like starting at 3 am. Bring your earplugs.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank horsetraveler2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Bear66; I loved your review- thank you for your gracious comments and the advise to other travelers. Sorry that you had noise from outside. We too have earplugs at the front desk for any of our really light sleepers, and our rooms on the 8th floor that are well insulated from outside sound, as they have skylights vs. windows. Again, your review rocked and we look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Portland. Always our pleasure to serve, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    298
    81
    42
    9
See reviews for
171
544
93
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Can’t beat this downtown Portland location for access to the restaurants and shops of the lively Pearl District and the city center. This was my third stay at the Vintage Plaza and this time I was disappointed to find myself in a large, dark, oddly stark room at the rear of the hotel. Avoid 806 unless you happen to be traveling with a St Bernard dog or children who want room to play. Still, the bed was great, and the linens nice. In the morning, fresh out of the shower, I discovered a used towel, left by a previous guest, hanging behind the door, and no hair dryer in the room. Housekeeping responded, but it was an inconvenience, and not the kind of attentive maintenance that I expect from Kimpton hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpiritedWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear SpiritedWalker;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other potential guests and our own team. I would agree with you, that you have every right to expect the most attentive service and cleanliness standards from our property. This is certainly not representative of the quality and cleanliness standards that we are committed to delivering. I do hope we can re-earn your trust and that you will allow us that opportunity. Until the next time you are traveling into Portland, may your journey be filled with joy and wonder. All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had a large group staying at the Vintage Plaza for a wedding nearby. Service was first-class, accommodations were excellent, and the hotel staff was outstanding! One elevator was out of service, but the staff was very accommodating and helped make up for the inconvenience by stepping out of the elevator so we could step on. Bellman were personable, hardworking and prompt. Front desk staff was friendly and worked hard to accommodate our numerous requests. Prior to the event, Marisa in the sales office was friendly, helpful and professional. Hotel is beautifully decorated, well-appointed and just the right size. Thanks for making my daughter's wedding weekend so perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzabelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Suzabelv;
Your review was such a pleasure to read, authentic and real. I so appreciate your acknowledgement that our team is doing all they can to ensure great guest experiences while "upgrading our elevators". I am thrilled that we had the honor of ensuring that your daughters wedding weekend was perfect. We hope to see you all back with us a year from now on their first anniversary! We will have both elevators humming right along and all of our renovation work will have long since been complete. Again, thank you for trusting us to care for your daughters big event and honoring us to serve you all.
May your journey continue to be filled with wonder! Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I held my wedding at Monterey Plaza a couple of weeks ago, and it was a great experience! The venue is very picturesque, the service was top-notch, and the food was delicious. I greatly appreciated the professionalism of the staff, including their wedding planner Alexis who was a real partner every step of the way. It makes a big difference to have someone with that kind of experience and expertise guiding you and keeping you on track with all the different things that one has to manage in order to pull off a wedding. I'm happy to recommend this venue to anyone looking to book a wedding in the Monterey area.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money to get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Damon; Thank you - we are always thrilled that weddings go off without a hitch. I am uncertain how your review of the Monterey Plaza has appeared here - Here's to Alexis at the other Plaza. When you visit Porltand, please come stay with us! Congratulations, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
266 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Here are 3 reasons to choose a Kimpton Hotel: there's always a great staff, a fine restaurant and funky furnishings. Oh, there's a fourth: always a gym, even if it's tiny, it's all you need to keep trim. Did I mention happy hour, pet-friendly or LGBT friendly? Check out the bio of the chef, John Eisenhart. A very exceptional person. The Hotel Vintage Plaza is located in downtown Portland and my girlfriend and I rode the free bikes the Hotel provided all over town one sundrenched day. Visiting for a teachers' conference at the nearby convention center, we worked late at night in our room but were rewarded with splendid food from Pazzo. The shopping was conveniently nearby and satisfied all our needs for a new suit, high heels, and trinkets for our dearest at home. I highly recommend staying at the Hotel Vintage Plaza, for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Get the vast room that includes about 750 sq. ft. if you want to work or relax like you're at ho...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins in room and credit if you forgo housekeeping. Good practices!
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Nan F -
Your review was so very gracious and welcomed. I am thrilled that you truly enjoyed our facility, Chef John's delicious offerings in Pazzo and all of the usual value adds that we offer as a Kimpton hotel. 5 Stars says it all and I just wanted you to know that we are grateful. Hurry back from NYC to beautiful Portland.... we will be here, your home away from home.
All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are curreny staying at Vintage Kimpton in Portland. We've found our stay here to be excellent, staff are warm and friendly, the hotel is well situated, the rooms are clean and spacious. The only issue in our stay has been that one of the two elevators has not been functioning during our stay. Meaning long delays waiting for the elevator in the lobby and on the 8th floor. I tried climbing the stairs to the 8th floor, but wasn't the best idea I've had. I would give this place 5 stars if it wasnt for the elevator.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gurby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Gurby;
You are right.... we just completed the mechanical modernization of one elevator and the second is now underway. This is part of our commitment to exceptional guest experiences. Unfortunately, it takes time to get the work done. We are almost there. Our guests safety, security, comfort and overall experience is our focus. There is no way around the time it takes to update the elevator. We are sorry for any inconvenience and appreciate your fabulous review of our service and the other experience s you enjoyed while you were staying here at the hotel. Please know that in a couple more weeks, both elevators will be complete! We look forward to seeing you back again. All the best, Sandy Burkett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Overall a good experience here. Main comment of note is the slight shabbiness of the room. Our room was ample, quiet, and the bed was comfortable. But there were water stains on the ceiling and the bathroom looked cheaply done and a little outdated. Overall service was good, although the front desk was a little inconsistent: some staff went out of their way to help, others were indifferent.

I'd give this hotel another try while possibly requesting another room. Maybe I just got unlucky with the one suite that needs a little more TLC?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trappedinfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Trappedinfrance;
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your feedback and I hope that you mentioned the issues you experienced to our team, so that the next guest does not have the same issue in the guest room that you occupied. We are investing in our guest experiences over $2 million in mechanical upgrades, operable window refurbishment, and back of the house equipment which all improve the comfort and guest experience, much of this work, our guests often don't see. Upon completion we will be doing a full guest room renovation as well. We look forward to you returning and seeing what else is new at the Vintage Portland! Happy Trails, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland! From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over our complimentary hosted social hour with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the game lounge, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing