We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Plaza Staff Helps Keep Portland Weird and Fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Ranked #6 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Vintage Plaza Staff Helps Keep Portland Weird and Fun!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Vintage Plaza over Memorial Day weekend and had a blast! The staff helped us enjoy our weekend playing tourists by recommending fabulous places to shop and dine. The highlight was waking up Sunday morning and riding the complimentary bicycles out to breakfast. The valet staff got us set up with the bikes, recommended a breakfast joint called Steppingstone and we were on our way. The restaurant was a great old-school diner that played rap music with fantastic service and food-what a weird place! I would expect nothing less than from Portland, it was perfect!
A big thanks to the Vintage Staff for their friendly service and charm!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomesticGoddessMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear DomesticGoddess;
Loved your review about your journey and your stay here at the Vintage Plaza and greater Portland! The breakfast sounded fabulous and I was happy to hear our valet staff helped point you in the right direction, set you up on our fabulous Public Bikes and made your stay in Portland with your friend memorable. We certainly look forward to keeping Portland Weird until you return. Until then, enjoy the journey! Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    308
    86
    46
    11
See reviews for
184
559
95
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
551 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I love this place, but cat give a perfect score because the charge for local calls and things like a tooth brush. Cheap chains can give those for free, for as much as Vintage Plaza charges, you'd think they could include a few freebies.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thanks for returning to stay at our hotel once again, that is always our goal! We do have our "forgot it we got it" items that you can call down to the front desk - toothbrush/toothpaste, razors and a multitude of things that our guests often forget when traveling. We have a note in our bathrooms listing all of the items that we are happy to run up to you, complimentary. For our guest convenience, we also have put a couple of the items in our honor bar,with their related charges - so our guests have a choice and convenience. I am so sorry that you felt we weren't providing value, that is not our intention. I do appreciate your feedback and again truly appreciate your return to our property. We hope to see you back again. Enjoy the journey! Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lompoc, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I love the Kimpton Hotel chain and always stay at them, when they are in a city we are visiting. This location is wonderful, quiet, yet in the big City. We were able to walk many places and also used the valet parking which was fantastic. The restaurant menu was simple, yet fantastic. We enjoyed the complimentary after noon wine and beer and the fantastic service from the moment we entered the valet parking until we checked out 3 days later. We will stay there again the next time we are in Portland.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 9th floor and never heard a sound from any other rooms, quests or traffic
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is completely environmentally friendly. They even have a card on the night stand if you put it out on the door in the evening, they won't change your sheets and offer you $5.00 off your bill.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Mosgrandma;
What fabulous feedback to wake up to! Thank you so much for highlighting what you loved about your 3 nights with us and a 5 STAR ranking. We look forward to your next trip to Portland and appreciate the review for others to have a better understanding of what they can expect. Have an amazing summer. We llok forward to serving you and your friends in the future. All the best,
Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great location, amazing service and love boutique hotels ! Large chains should learn from these amazing Kimpton folks. Simple things like always acknowledging guests and opening doors go a long way ! Love the raid the mini bar perk !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Jeff S-
We love you too! Thank you for acknowledging all we do right to ensure your comfort and convenience. Appreciate you telling the world what you love and that one of those favorite things - happens to be Kimpton!!! Enjoy your journey, Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Love the location of this hotel!! Excellent customer service from check in to housekeeping!! Entire staff friendly and sincere and they all are a great asset to this hotel! The interior and exterior of this hotel is clean and well maintained! Rooms smell feel and was spotless! Housekeeping and maintenance keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melekini2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Melekini2012;
Your review was AWESOME and a perfect end to my day. Thank you for sharing your experience with future travelers about the condition and cleanliness of your experience with us!
We certainly appreciate the great praise. Our team works hard to ensure everything our guests experience exceeds their expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Keep enjoying the journey!
Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel! It's right in the middle of downtown. Walking distance to Saturday Market, the food trucks, the waterway, restaurants, bars, clubs, liquor store, shopping and Voodoo Doughnut.

We stayed in the Starlight Room on the top floor. It's a little more expensive and worth every penny. The floor to ceilings windows give you a great view of the city. It does have motorized blinds so you can close the windows for privacy. Also since it's rains all the time the sound of the rain on the windows is relaxing.

The hotel has free wine and beer happy hour everyday between 5pm and 6pm. There are no coffee makers in the rooms but they provide gourmet coffee by the elevators on every floor. Late one morning I went back for a second cup of coffee and the condiments had already been removed. Rosa saw me looking for them and graciously ran to get me those items.

The italian restaurant on the property is very good. They also provide an affordable room service if desired.

Ice machines are on the odd floors... they are kind of hidden in closets to keep all the floors looking nice.

They guys at the front door were on it! Polite, always grabbed the door... first class service all the way.

Overall it was a fun, friendly vibe by every member of the staff.

Only bad thing I can think of is that only one of the elevators was working so sometimes we would have to wait awhile to get up and down to our room.

I would recommend this hotel to friends and family knowing they would have a great experience too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheLuvDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear TheLuvDiva;
I love your handle! Your review ROCKED and best of all OUR Elevators are back, both of them, modernized, faster and no longer creating inconvenience for our travelers! The thoroughness of your review was exceptional and I just want to let you know how much it is appreciated by the team here at the property, both restaurant and hotel! We have a group of genuine and authentic team members and we hire people that love serving people. Hurry back to Portland to enjoy the Saturday Market, VooDoo Donuts, the Pearl District and all that this beautiful river city has to offer - bring all of your friends - we would love to have you all as our guests again.

Enjoy your journey! Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently for 2 nights. Hotel employees - Valet, front desk, bar - were all genuinely friendly and helpful. Really good location, in walking distance of the pearl district, Powells book store and lots more.

Rooms were really quiet, I had no idea if there was anyone in the room so either side of me, not something you can say about all hotels.

I would definitely stay here again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AllyNiemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear AlliNiemi;
Thank you for your fabulous feedback about our team, hotel and the convenience of our location to all that you visitied while you were in Portland. I loved the detail of your review for future travelers. Hurry back and bring your friends and associates, the more the marrier! Until then, enjoy your journey! Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,719 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,381 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland! From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over our complimentary hosted social hour with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the game lounge, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing