We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Nearby Hotels
Sentinel(Portland)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paramount Hotel(Portland)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel deLuxe(Portland)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveller rating
909
322
93
48
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
909
322
93
48
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine hourpazzo restaurantgarden spawine tastingsoaking tubthe pearlmini barpioneer squarehappy hourfront desk staffheart of downtownvalet parkingstreet noisehotel is in a great locationfew blockspublic transportationupon check
Filter
Updating list...
1,255 - 1,260 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2009

Earlier this month [January], I stayed at The Vintage Plaza. I have stayed there in the past. From my arrival until my departure I was addressed by name by the Hotel staff. Does that make a stay away from home easier? And more pleasant?

The rooms are spotless. Each one is different. Nice touch.

The hotel is located in the middle of downtown so appointments scattered around the downtown are always only a short walk.

Pazzo, the hotel's restaurant has excellent food and perfect service. The breakfasts are especially good.

Attention to detail. The Vintage Plaza does that.

For a real "feel good" experience, stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BillyBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you for your 5 Star review. We look forward to serving you again. Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

My first impression when entering the lobby of the Vintage Plaza was "oh no". We were welcomed with some loud crashing noises and the smell of wet paint. There was a sign reading, "pardon our dust". I requested a quiet room upon check-in and the front desk attendant was very accommodating. She put us in a suite on the 8th floor and although it lacked a window, she assured us that it would be quiet, and it was. Overall, the service at the hotel was excellent.

The room however, was mediocre at best. It felt sort of stuff and the heater motor was incredibly loud, keeping us awake most of the night. The fixtures and furniture were all very dated, and the quality of the furniture was very cheap. Once inside the room, it definitely felt more like a glorified Holiday Inn than a four star hotel. It was not even on-par with a Marriott or a Hilton.

The location is fantastic. You can walk to everything that downtown Portland and the neighboring Pearl District has to offer. If you don't mind parking your own vehicle, you can also find many nearby attended lots for as little as $8/day with in and out privileges. This is a far better choice than the $31/day valet option.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kbumgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you for your review. We look forward to serving you again. Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

WE have just returned from Oregon after spending 3 nights at the Vintage. Everyone we encountered was so nice and friendly. We even meant the manager. The wine tasting in the evening was wonderful, lots of wine, bread and a warm fire. We made our bid on Priceline and was thrilled with the location and hotel. We first stayed in December and then again in January as we were leaving Oregon. I hope I can stay at this same hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cmcabowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you for your 5 Star review. We look forward to serving you again. Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

We had a wonderful experience here for a weekend trip to Portland. We obtained a $75 rate on Hotwire that made it a great bargain as well.

The room was very large and the furnishings and bed were of high quality. The bathroom was also spacious and the work area was more than adequate.

There was free wine at happy hour from 5-6 PM each evening in the quaint lobby. Service at the hotel was very friendly although we didn't have many requests. There is also an Italian restaurant/bar/bakery attached to the hotel. We ate at both the restaurant and bakery and had a positive experience. The bar also seemed to be a good meeting place.

The only drawback was the $29 per day valet parking rate. We discovered we can park at our own at the deck across the street at a signficant discount but you can only come and go once per day with that option.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you for your 5 Star review. We look forward to serving you again. Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

We had an absolutely wonderful time at the VP. Upon check-in we were told we could upgrade to a premier room with a soaking tub for an extra $30 per night. What the heck, we thought, let's go for it.

The room was huge at 750 square feet. That's bigger than my old apartment! It had a wonderful layout with plenty of space. The furniture was comfortable, the room was spotless, and the bed very comfortable. I liked the bold colors and design of the room. Although we didn't have a view of the water, we did have two large windows. The bed was placed closed to the interior of the building so that we didn't hear traffic below (we were on the 6th floor). The soaking tub was terrific too!

We missed the wine hour because we had plans, but enjoyed the free coffee and newspapers in the lobby in the morning. While we were reading I overheard the staff chatting with other guests and was thoroughly impressed with their amicable interactions. At most hotels the staff could care less, but here they were very personable which I appreciated.

I also enjoyed the complimentary umbrella check out at the front desk--comes in handy in rainy Portland. Georgie the poodle is a sweet little canine who lounges behind the front desk in her pearl necklace.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel and we plan to return.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizzieAnneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you for your 5 Star review. We look forward to serving you again. Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews