We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - relaxed stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Ranked #7 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 December 2010

I got this hotel via Priceline. It was an amazing deal as this hotel was beyond my expectations. The rooms were renovated and the lobby was chic. The staff was helpful and I enjoyed getting my complimentary coffee daily in the lobby before heading to the free gym. I wish breakfast were included but there are many great options for eating outside, such as the Pearl Bakery, so that did not bother me too much. Portland is a great city to visit and I would love to come back and stay at another Kimpton property.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellohowareyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2015

hellowhowareyou;
Thank you for your 5 star review on your last trip to Portland. Where have you been? -We've been waiting for you and can't wait to show off our new digs! Thank you for your review. Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2010

I'm a frequent traveler who doesn't usually write reviews for my stays at hotels, but this one is an exception. My wife and I spent our Thanksgiving weekend here, and what a treat we received.

First of all, if you don't want to deal too much with driving, the location of this hotel is perfect. It sits between Pearl District and Pioneer Square, of which both are reachable within five minutes of walking. If you do need to drive, the friendly valet service will bring your car in front of the hotel in within minutes.

During our stay, we were treated with the Macy's parade. The route was exactly in front of the hotel. The hotel rolled out chairs on the street for us to sit down and watch the parade. If you prefer warmer area, the hotel also provides seating in the lobby. They also set up their 2nd floor conference room for parade viewing, where through the large windows you can enjoy the parade sitting down, while sipping your complementary coffee/tea.

Another nice thing about this hotel is there are not too many rooms, so you don't feel cramped. The rooms themselves are very comfortable and spacious. We stayed in the King Spa Suites, which is one of several unique room-styles they have, including: Starlight guestroom, where conservatory windows overhead allow for stargazing. They also have guestrooms called Garden Spa, which has an outdoor balcony with a hot tub. The bed itself is very comfortable. One of the unique signatures of Kimpton Hotel is they'll do everything they can to accommodate you with your pillow preference (soft, firm, etc.) =).

The hospitality of their staff is remarkable. A couple of weeks prior to our arrival, I emailed the hotel's Assistant General Manager to ask about restaurants and places around the hotel. She emailed me back within the same day, and provided prompt answers to my subsequent emails. After my stay, the General Manager even personally replied to the hotel's online survey that I submitted. It is such a delight knowing that someone as busy as he is would actually take the time to read the surveys and personally respond to them.

Overall, we had a memorable and wonderful stay (wonderful enough for me to write this review). Hands down this would be our choice every time we visit Portland!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy_W77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2015

Jeremy_W77
Where have you been? -you had a memorable and wonderful stay (wonderful enough to write this amazing review). Hands down this would be our choice every time we visit Portland! Just wanted you to know that we've been waiting for you and can't wait to show off our new digs! Thank you for your review. Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We stayed here over Thanksgiving with our extended family... ages ranging from 88 to 11. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, the staff was helpful and Pazzo, the Italian restaurant connected to the hotel was delicious and so convenient. The day after Thanksgiving we watched the Macy's parade in front of the hotel and that night watched the Christmas tree lighting two blocks away. This was a great hotel that we would return to. If you would like to read more about visiting Portland, please visit www.travelsketchwrite.com.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsketchwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2015

travelsketchwrite;
We would love you to come back to Portland. Thank you for your last review.
Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

My husband and I and our dog stayed at the Vintage Plaza for two nights over Thanksgiving. The hotel is nicely decorated with comfortable, spacious rooms, and a very welcoming staff. Our dog was as well treated as we we were--with bowls, bottled water, treats, and bags to take on our walks provided in the room. The rooms have single serve coffee makers and coffee is also provided in the lobby in the morning. Wine is served in the lobby at no charge for an hour each evening and dogs are welcome to be in the lobby.
The hotel is conveniently located -- about three blocks from the main square in Portland and major shops.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank bellingham_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you for your 5 Star review. We look forward to serving you again. Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Nice hotel, great staff...upgraded to a king suite. As with all Kimptons, this hotel lives up to the reputation of high standards and professionalism.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyPSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2010

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay! We hope you choose to stay with us your next visit to Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Our favorite place to stay in Portland. Attentive staff, many of who have been there for a long time. Comfortable rooms. Very convenient to downtown and the Pearl District, and easy to get to off of the interstate. Wionderful restaurant on site as well.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you for your 5 Star review. We look forward to serving you again. Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I love this chain of hotels -- rooms are lovely, staff was very attentive -- when alerted this was our anniversary - a bottle of champagne was waiting for us w/a card. The staff is friendly and and very helpful. Location is excellent for shopping or walk down to the riverfront. It just has a very inviting atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SthWesternGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2010

Thank you for staying with us for your anniversary!
We hope you choose to stay with us on your next visit to Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,744 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £142 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland! From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over our complimentary hosted social hour with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the game lounge, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing