We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We adore this place”
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“We adore this place”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We've been staying here for years and will continue to go back. It's a charming hotel with lots of quirky pleasantries. If a view is important to you, ask to stay on a higher floor or specifically inquire. We have had several different types of rooms and just stayed in a beautiful King room on the 8th floor, with a great overview of the city. Close to public transportation as well, one of the joys of staying in Portland. I have nothing but praise for this place!

Room Tip: Stay up high for better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,923
    636
    140
    54
    23
See reviews for
380
1,309
212
586
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hotel DeLuxe is gorgeous. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The bar and restaurant are classy and beautiful to look at. The rooms are beautifully decorated and appointed, the bed very comfortable (beware the oh-so tempting box of treats!). It's a very sexy place, I have to say. Even the hallways with their back-lit mirrors are deeply cool and stylish.
I haven't read any other reviews but I'm guessing that someone will have mentioned that the rooms are small - and they are. But it's an older building and a boutique hotel, so one expects that - and really, what do you need acres of empty carpet for when you can have such a lovely smaller space? My only small quibble might be that the bath tub was the smallest I've ever seen and was quite uncomfortable for a relaxing soak. Having said that though, I'd go back in a second and will recommend it to my out of town guests from now on.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We spent two nights at the comfortable, snazzy, convenient deLuxe in downtown Portland. The lobby is elegant and retro - try a manhattan on a cozy couch and watch the comings and goings from the popular bar just off the lobby. Our corner room was spacious with a dreamy king-size bed -- and a walk in closet and marble bathroom with my husband's favorite shower ever. The staff was unobtrusive, helpful and friendly. But best of all, one gets a very quiet night sleep within easy walking distance of the very lively Pearl District, stadium and downtown. The hotel is on a MAX line so no car is needed, although valet parking is provided.

Room Tip: Corner suites are remarkably large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayorO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed at the hotel over the weekend of February 4th and 5th. It is not for everyone since it is remodeled older building and will have some compromises from a new hotel. The hotel is beautifully decorated in 50's Hollywood stars glamour. We got the larger king feature room, very nice and spacious for a very reasonable price - beat most other comparable hotels in Portland. Our window was over the light rail tracks and we could hear it but it wasn't distracting. Service was outstanding, The waiter in Gracie's (dining room) was very helpful in providing us maps of the valley for winery tours and downtown directions. The breakfasts were outstanding. The Drifter bar was cramped and service was Ok. There was a private event in Gracie's so a number of hotel guests were in the bar. Valet parking was $28 per night. Be prepared. The spray shampoo and the body wash bottles were a little odd. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Get the King Feature room, provides more elbow room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwrohwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I were looking for a central hotel in Portland with some charm for a romantic weekend away. Hotel deLuxe did not disappoint! The staff was attentive, helpful and warm. The hotel was beautiful. The rooms were clean (although a little small) and tastefully decorated. The location was near perfect - walking distance to everything.Would recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level Contributor
241 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Hotel staff was great beginning with the doorman on the first entrance. Front desk staff was excellent and knew the area well--offered enough information to be personable but not too much information that we didn't want to ask.

Room Tip: Not much for views, but if you are out and about, you don't need a view from inside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The hotel lobby is very attractive and staff was welcoming and polite. We booked a double deluxe room and I was suprised at how tiny the room is would like to have been informed of the larger king superior for a small price difference.
we went to the lobby to participate in happy hour at 610 and there were no available seats and I asked about ordering and taking it to the room and was told no. So we ordered room service. I would return however in a larger room.
Gave a 4* because I love the theme of hollywood glamour.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,378 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 141 in Portland
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Property: Hotel deLuxe
Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-1906
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing