We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
Ranked #3 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I'm not usually a fan of hotels, especially chains. The Hotel deLuxe exceeds expectations in every way. The staff is just over the top lovely. The rooms are too. This is a great place to stay when you're in town on business or just a romantic getaway. Away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, but within walking distance of everything. Don't hesitate if you have a choice

Room Tip: The corner rooms are luxorious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,944
    645
    143
    54
    23
See reviews for
385
1,322
218
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel Deluxe in early April for 5 nights & I was expecting it to be the highlight of our hotel stays. Unfortunately it was not. In saying that, it was not awful, but it was definitely more average than anticipated. The staff were courteous enough, but not overly friendly. Some were quite helpful, but they were overall not particularly warm. An exception to this were the restaurant and cocktail staff, who were all incredibly attentive, helpful, friendly, professional and knowledgeable. Upon arrival we were also unpleasantly surprised that the parking available was an additional cost per day of around $30. While this in and of itself is not that much of an issue, it is not made clear anywhere on the website that I could see, so that was quite an irritating introduction to the hotel. The room itself was surprisingly small, though prettily decorated, and the bed quite comfortable. The bathroom was also quite small but recently and tastefully updated. It was very clean, and the products (shampoo, shower gel etc) supplied by the hotel were really lovely. I read other reviews prior to our visit which mentioned very thin walls - we also observed this unfortunate factor however as we were in a deluxe room we didnt have neighbours so it was not so much of an issue. One other negative we experienced was room service - it may simply have been what we ordered, but it was not good - burgers with salad was my request, and the burger was dry, and the 'salad' consisted of a cup of rocket leaves: no dressing or any other accompaniment. I would probably investigate other accomodation options if visiting Portland on holiday again.

Room Tip: Thin walls so a room with no neighbours if you dont want to hear them, i.e. a King deluxe or better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phibbsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week during a conference.

Originally I chose the hotel based on recommendations from others and the convenient location in downtown.

The hotel has a very distinctive, "glamorous" atmosphere that is apparent immediately upon entering. The front desk was exceptionally welcoming and professional. With some similarly classed venues, I frequently come across slightly curt desk agents. The staff at the hotel De Luxe was exceptionally welcoming and useful. An associate of mine had vaguely described a recommended pasta restaurant in town, but I had forgotten the name; I asked one of the agents at the desk, who I believe was the desk manager, if she knew what my companion was talking about - she was able to immediately reconcile my description with a location and description of the restaurant, as well as directions. I asked for other recommendations while I was in town, and the desk was very well versed and informative.

Although I was seldom in my room due to my schedule, the rooms were well kept, styled, comfortable and quiet.

The hotel also had an excellent restaurant and bar within, which I did not expect.

Overall, great experience, plan to stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I loved the old Hollywood theme. It is consistent throughout the hotel, but not gaudy or over the top, just classy. This old hotel is very beautiful and clean. All of the fixtures and furniture are new but vintage looking! The Room Service prices are very good. Staff was great, also! It is located to many restaurants and shopping downtown. Kudos to the night agent who got us coffee when we had to leave at 4:30 in the morning!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emmers7251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is our first time staying in Portland, I chose this hotel, because I found a pretty good deal, and felt like it was in the middle of everywhere that we wanted to be. We rented a car, the hotel itself was easy to find, all staff was very kind, to give advice and point you in the right direction. While here we mostly walked from place to place. Its still a nice distance, but we enjoy walking. The hotel room, upon arrival, was very clean, smaller than expected, but really had everything you could possibly need. We had breakfast at Gracies, I had the french toast (Oh my delectable!) and my husband had the omelette. Price and amazingness of the french toast were great. When we go back to portland I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach0880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacific northwest
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Formerly the Mallory, this classic, movie-themed boutiquish hotel will delight even those who don't like olde movies. Located conveniently across an Interstate from downtown and the Pearl District, the deLuxe is a quiet retreat in an already quiet town.

The beauty of the place is what they have saved from the original Art Deco hotel. Original doors and doorknobs, ornate decoration and soaring ceiling heights have been saved while public spaces and rooms--particularly the bathrooms--have been plushed-up.

On top of it all, the staff is exceptionally accomodating and competent.

And Gracie's, the Hotel deLuxe's restaurant, offers a tasty and reasonably priced menu. Our breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samdeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have stayed at the deLuxe for years, even before it was the deLuxe! We loved their transition remodel to the glamorous and elegant. Rooms are very clean and very comfortable, the staff are knowledgeable, helpful and cheerful. The complimentary breakfast was a GREAT bonus. The hotel is perfectly located for walking around Portland-festivals, markets, shopping, athletic events, museums, restaurants, theater, symphony and book store. We start all our road trips at the deLuxe and we like to end our trips with a final stop at the deLuxe before heading home. It is first rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarynBurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,717 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,483 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 142 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Property: Hotel deLuxe
Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-1906
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing