We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Best service ive had at any hotel anywhere. I have stayed here three times and each time has been fantastic. The rooms are small but well equiped and exeptionally clean. Within walking distance to most of the higlights of portland. A real gem that shouldnt be missed.

2  Thank Farsholious
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

I'm absolutely thrilled we've been able to keep you coming back to the Hotel deLuxe! A fantastic stay for you is a fantastic win for us, and I hope that we can continue to impress you each time you are in Portland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,824)
There are newer reviews for Hotel deLuxe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,824 - 1,830 of 2,824 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a beautiful 1940s/50s style boutique hotel. The lobby and rooms are immaculate and well-appointed, but what truly stands out is the staff of the hotel: knowledgeable, friendly, and truly concerned about the well-being of the guests. Several staff members went above and beyond the call to help us out in terms of finding out about local hiking information and even providing us with supplies to pack our wine from the Willamette Valley. Location is great -- close to great shopping, plus Blue Star and Lardo outposts (what more could you want?!).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickle51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! I'm uplifted to know that our dedicated staff truly helped to make your experience in Portland one to remember. As I'm sure you know, we have a wealth of hiking trails in Portland and beyond, so I hope that when you return to explore more of Forest Park, Council Crest, or even Sauvie Island, you will think of Hotel deLuxe to lay your head.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is an old hotel, but updated and lovely. Our room on the sixth floor faced the street. It was small, and the bathroom was tiny. Those were just small downsides to an otherwise attractive room. The windows are double-glazed at this hotel, so there was no street noise whatsoever. The bed was extremely comfortable. Having USB ports available for our iPhones was a big plus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatConwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to write such a kind review. Our property is on the National Register of Historic Places and we take great pride in ensuring that its historic charm is complemented by modern updates. I'm glad that you found the bed comfortable--we get so many compliments on them that we actually sell them on our website! Our staff is always glad to assist in any way, and I'm happy you were able to take advantage of their service. We will look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Portland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

There is so little bad to say about this hotel, but I feel in the spirit of a proper review, one must list some cons:

Cons: If you're a light sleeper (we're not so it was okay), then you may find this hotel a bit loud, depending on your room location. We had a room close to the elevators and they seemed to be quite clunky. Our room also was near some sort of train track (didn't actually see said track, but it sounded like trains were passing by). As with most fancier hotels, breakfast was not included nor was an iron or hairdryer (though I'm sure you could have asked).

Pros: So many, but will just list a few. As I said, the hotel is gorgeous. The did a great job of keeping the historical look of this hotel without it looking old or run down. Everything was super clean and the rooms were a pretty good size. The hotel is also very close to bus and train stops and only about a 4-block walk to one of the happening areas (and about a 15 block walk to the riverside/Voodoo Donut and Shanghai tunnel tours.). The staff were also super helpful and patient when we bombarded them with questions.

We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

I appreciate your dedication to an un-biased review, but I'm quite glad to know that the good outweighed the bad! Our proximity to the MAX light rail is a major convenience for accessing downtown, but for any guests who are sensitive to noise we are glad to provide a room away from the tracks. We keep our hairdryers and irons hung up out of the way in the closet.

I'm delighted you enjoyed our historic building, and that you were able to go out and explore some of Portland's "happening" spots! It's especially fantastic that you were able to experience the Shanghai Tunnels--definitely a fun excursion that can only (and unexpectedly) be found in Portland. Thanks so much for visiting, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is a fantastically renovated old hotel that features a 1940's/1950's Hollywood movie theme. There are old black and white movie photos all over the place. The renovation is very well done, with all the modern amenities. The restaurant, Gracie's (named after Gracie Allen), has good food at reasonable prices. The staff is very friendly and helpful in all respects. They really make you feel important. The location is great for all the Portland sites. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

I'm so pleased to know that your stay with us was a pleasant one and that the staff was able to make you feel like a star of a bygone era. Obviously you know your old Hollywood history! It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again when you return to Oregon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Fun Golden Age Hollywood theme set in a historic elegant hotel in the quiet Goose Hollow neighborhood. We were there for the Rose Parade and to explore the Culture District, which is very close. As is the Pearl District. The staff were all wonderful! The room was a large cozy and delightful space done pastels with quaint tile bath, walk-in closet, amazing bed and pillows! There was a sofa and ottoman to prop your feet up and just relax. They had a well stocked honor bar and good coffee in the room. The fitness center was exceptionally well done with every piece of equipment you could want. Gracie's is the hotel restaurant a and is superb and the Driftwood Lounge was delightful. Order the mushrooms there!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

I'm thrilled you were able to experience Portland's famous Rose Festival! We're glad to be part of a tradition that brings joy to locals and visitors alike. It sounds like you were able to explore some of the fantastic neighborhoods that help to make our little town a Pacific Northwest destination, as well as stay in and pamper yourself with the luxurious amenities we offer. It would be our pleasure to host you again the next time you're in Portland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel DeLuxe. I'd consider it a boutique hotel with 8 floors and a pretty small lobby. The common areas and the rooms are in good condition but are on the older side. I think given the condition of the hotel and the amenities that I'd call it 3.5 stars instead of 4.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a room with two queen beds, which is very large, with high ceilings, lots of windows and natural light. The bathroom is pretty tiny and doesn't have counter space to place your personal belongings.

The hotel was pretty quiet at night but it seemed like it wasn't sold out when we were there.

Overall, it was a comfortable experience. It's within walking distance of Powell's Books, Deschutes Brewery, and most of downtown Portland. I would stay here again when visiting Portland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cartraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. Thank you for mentioning our lobby--we like to think that its glamour and intimacy is the perfect introduction to an overnight stay at Hotel deLuxe. I do apologize that you weren't provided with enough counter space in your bathroom; as an historic property, several of our rooms are configured a little bit differently. I hope the next time you find yourself in Portland you will stay with us and I'm sure our excellent staff will be able to choose a room for you that works a little better for your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,735 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,547 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 144 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-1906
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £125 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing