We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel deluxe is the best”
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
Ranked #7 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, best location, superb food, and super clean and comfy bed. Have stayed here for many time and each 20nights at least.

Walking distance to everywhere, rose garden, Japanese garden, pioneer square, and shopping area. The river park is gorgeous with superb view, especially during cherry blossom.

Still in love with this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ukritv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Wow, what kind words! It is a real pleasure to know that we have been able to make you feel comfortable for such extended stays. Thank you for making us your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,846 - 1,852 of 2,867 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We loved this hotel, its location, its decor, its excellent breakfast and dinner, and its neat little bar. The staff were gracious, very helpful in giving advice and directions. It is within easy walking distance to Pioneer Square and even easier access to public transportation (including a free bus to the lovely Japanese Gardens). Convenient parking (although at $30 a day it should be.) Definitely where we will stay when we come back to Portland.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ncarolinawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Charm isn't easy to come by these days, so I'm happy we could deliver during your trip! Thank you for joining us both in Gracie's and in the Driftwood Room, we love for our guests to experience the very different but classic vibes that either establishment delivers. And I'm so happy you took advantage of the Washington Park shuttle that picks up a few blocks from us! The International Test Rose Gardens, Japanese Gardens, Oregon Zoo, and a myriad of other attractions are right in our backyard and the shuttle certainly makes getting there that much easier. We will see you again when you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Hotel deLuxe took very good care of us during our stay in Portland. The staff was courteous, the rooms were excellent, and the breakfasts were both tasty and reasonably priced by hotel standards. Finally the location was perfect for our needs, close to downtown and Portland's marvelous public transportation system. When we get back to Portland, we know where we will stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SteveandMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

I love that we were able to help you feel taken care of during your trip to the City of Roses. It sounds like you got to know Trimet, Porltand's fantastic transit system, which is such a great way to see the city. I'm glad that Portland impressed you enough to inspire a return, and doubly glad you will be staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were scheduled to spend four nights at the deLuxe, but my husband had a bicycling accident and surgery in Hood River the day before our scheduled arrival. His cycling friends checked him into the hotel and left. The staff gave him a heating pad, made sure he had food and was comfortable before I arrived the next day. We wearied of room service but my husband couldn't walk; finally I thought to ask for a wheelchair so we could at least get out of the room. The hotel was more than happy to oblige. Long story short, the staff really took good care of us.
The deLuxe is a very nice hotel: quiet rooms (we were on the back side), very good housekeeping, nice furnishings. Gracie's restaurant has a good selection of wines, small plates, salads, larger entrees and desserts (we were lucky to get in-season marionberry pie). We didn't try the bar (which also serves food); the lounge was a nice place to hang out, even in a wheelchair. Thank you to everyone at Hotel deLuxe for being so good to us! We will be back, on our feet, for a real visit soon.

Room Tip: We had an accessible room on the 5th floor with two queen beds. It was very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traveler87506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

I'm so sorry that your trip was marred by such an unfortunate accident, but certainly glad to know that we were able to help you and your husband feel cared for as he recovered. We try to keep wheelchairs and crutches handy for exactly these kinds of unexpected occurrences! I certainly understand it can get a little tiresome to dine in your room day after day, so it's excellent that you took advantage of our restaurant; I hope the old word ambiance and fresh cuisine of Gracie's was relaxing enough to help your husband recuperate that much faster. We will see you again soon, and next time we'll make sure to have all sorts of suggestions for you to explore Portland on foot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 days. This is an old building that has been totally renovated with an interesting Hollywood theme. My room was small, but very comfortable and impeccably clean. Cool restaurant and bar in the hotel with some great drink specials. The staff was friendly and helpful. Easy walk to downtown. Only downside is that it's a bit noisy. Being that it's an older building, you'll here water running and toilets flushing. The light rail runs adjacent to the hotel and you can hear the grinding up until midnight. If you're noise sensitive, this isn't your place. If the noise issue doesn't bother you, then it's a great choice.

Room Tip: For a quieter room, ask to be kept away from the street adjacent to the light rail line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CACAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

I thank you for taking into consideration the age of our building when assessing the noise level. While some of our rooms are located off of the light rail track, we are happy to assist in finding other options for guests who are sensitive to the sound. I'm quite happy to know that you found your room comfortable during your three day stay, and certainly pleased you found yourself in the position to have a few drinks and snacks in the Driftwood Room. Our twice-a-day happy hour is here to stay, but we will be sure to have all new libations for you to enjoy when you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a quiet but convenient location to downtown Portland. It is themed in "old movies" but this is subtle and done by beautiful photography capturing scenes from old movies or radios. Although the room was smallish it was big enough and the bed was comfortable. The service in all parts of the hotel was great. From the friendly checkin complete with suggestions for dining, to the valet who gave us water bottles every day to the waitstaff. We had breakfast in the hotel each day which was excellent.

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room so they put us on the top floor (8th).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherev65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. There are over 400 film stills lining the corridors and in each of our 130 rooms, and each was hand selected to pique the interest of both film buffs and those who might be unfamiliar with the classic Hollywood films of the 30's, 40's and 50's. I'm happy to hear you found our service in keeping with the elegance of our theme, and hope that we can see you again when you return to Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

For our recent trip to Portland, we definitely wanted to be in the middle of the action. But, we didn't want to be in a trendy hotel with hotel staff that are clueless or a place packed with scenesters after being burned on a recent trip to Nashville.

Hotel deLuxe had the perfect balance. The environment was classy and historic. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped with ipod docks and clean, inviting bathrooms.

The staff was great! They were friendly and offered recommendations. The valet staff is one of the best that I've come across. They are laid back and offer water. I had a great conversation with one valet guy.

Location is perfectly situated within walking distance of the major neighborhoods. And, I enjoyed my morning jogs from there. I noticed the Timbers stadium is close by. The location is peaceful and quiet. There is not much traffic nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gritsandhominy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

It sounds like you needed a shot of glamour after your trip to Tennessee, and I'm glad we could deliver it. I will definitely pass along to all of the staff that their efforts to help you have a memorable trip were successful, and I'm thrilled to know one of our valets went above and beyond to ensure your experience with us was comfortable. I hope you will come see us again; maybe after a Timbers game!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 144 in Portland
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 144 in Portland
1,685 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 144 in Portland
1,757 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#16 of 144 in Portland
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-1906
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £112 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing