We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Inn at Northrup Station(Portland)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$264/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Lucia(Portland)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dossier Hotel(Portland)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Lane Suites & Inn(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,933)
Filter reviews
2,933 results
Traveller rating
2,032
667
148
59
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,032
667
148
59
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdriftwood roomdriftwood barhollywood themegracie's restaurantde luxepillow menuthe pearlrooms are smallbeautiful hotelroom servicecorner roomhotel barhappy hourold schoolfront desk staffvalet parkingfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
2,781 - 2,786 of 2,933 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2008

My husband and I had a weekend getaway to Portland and stayed at the Hotel deLuxe. I was pleased that seeing the hotel in person was just as nice as seeing photos of it on their website. We were greeted by very nice and accommodating staff members who cared about the comforts of their guests and were always willing to help. The Queen Deluxe room had the basic outfits of a bed, closet, armoire, flat panel TV, and writing desk. The bathroom had plenty of towels, Aveda brand toiletries, and a good sized shower over tub. The room wasn't huge but it was a good 200sqft that had the essentials. Don't plan on purchasing from their snack/sundries bin since I had forgotten my toothpaste and they were selling their toothbrush and toothpaste kit for $15!

The hotel has a romantic-looking restaurant called Gracie's and an intimate bar/lounge called the Driftwood Room. We didn't get to eat at Gracie's but the Driftwood would be a perfect place to bring a date for cocktails because of the cozy atmosphere.

Although the location is on the outskirts of the main downtown area, we enjoyed the convenience of the MAX lightrail stop nearby which brought us to the Saturday Market, the Oregon Zoo, and the Pioneer Place shopping area is only a brisk 15-min walk from the hotel. So if you're looking for a pleasant and casual stay, I would highly recommend this hotel for its unique decor, reasonable value, and charming staff. If I make another visit to Portland, I would probably book at their sister hotel, Lucia, based on its more central downtown location alone.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank madelynyeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

Stayed one night to celebrate a birthday. Property is beautiful, very elegant, understated, and welcoming. Staff was consistently professional and helpful, from front desk to valet. I've stayed numerous times at Lucia, Paramount, and others in PDX and Hotel Deluxe was as nice as any of them. Location can seem a bit quiet but you can walk anywhere in minutes and it also is extremely quiet at night, something not always as likely at Lucia or Paramount.

Hotel Bar is ideal - dark, cozy, funky, and a great place for a drink before or after dinner. Did not try the restaurant. A five dollar cab ride to almost anything in NW PDX/Pearl district, so you have your pick of eats.

Room (King Deluxe) is small, consistent with the period of the building, but the attention to detail and restoration was impeccable. Great LG LCD TV, one of the best beds I've ever slept in, total darkness shades, iPod clock radio, dimmable bedside lamps, etc.Property management clearly took time to approach things from a guests perspective.

Only criticism (small) - I tend to not like a lot of chitchat at check-in and there seemed to be a focus on inquiring about the nature of guests visit. Since I imagine quite a few of their guests are couples seeking a night away from things for something more intimate than a game of Scrabble it seems like an unneeded intrusion.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank docpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

Hotel Deluxe, just out of the hart of downtown Portland is a great hotel with a good atmsphere. The details in the lobby are nice and the staff is (relaxed) friendly.

We stayed in a cormer room and thought it was a bit to small. Besides of the bed there was not much extra space to open 2 suitcases. The other point aof attention was the shower. The water pressure was low so showering was not as what you can expect from a hotel in this category.

The room itself is beautiful with a 42 inch TV. Also the Ipod docking station and the possibility of using a hotel's ipod is a good gesture.

Alltoghether a possitive stay, just the size of the corner room and the water pressure in the shower need some attention.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JPFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2008

The Hotel deLuxe lived up our expectations. The service was fantastic, the bed comfortable, and the 50s decor/ accents were a nice touch for a boutique hotel. The one "negative" and we had expected it from other reviews, is that the regular rooms are a little small; but as my girlfriend and I were there to explore Portland and not hang out in our room, it was still very comfortable - if you want a lot of room upgrade to the suite. The valet and front desk personal were very knowledgeable and helped us out quite a few times. The hotel itself is with in walking distance to almost every area of the city, or very close to public transportation, we hardly ended up using the car that we had rented. Also, the Driftwood is a great hotel bar to relax in, and Gracie's has great food. All and all a great stay, when we return to Portland we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jshaver81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

I stayed here recently for a dear friend's wedding and was thoroughly impressed. To say that the property is charming is a serious understatment. The hotel has a classic cinema theme that is very well executed without being cheesy. The rooms are stylishly decorated and well appointed (Aveda bath products and interestingly stocked mini bar). We dined in the hotel restaurant for Sunday brunch and it was delicious! The location is fantastic - we took the Max Light Rail both to and from the airport, which was incredibly convienient and good for the environment :) Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful, even offering us bottled water as we departed. Nothing negative to say, only heaps of praise!

If traveling to Portland, be sure to dine at both Wildwood and Ten 01. Also, don't miss the Chinese gardens - truly the most beautiful I have ever seen, with an authentic tea house in the center. They serve many, many types of teas in appropriate modes of presentation. Also, assorted flavors of moon cakes!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VegasPisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews