We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, they named this place right when they called it the deLuxe!”
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
Ranked #4 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great stay, they named this place right when they called it the deLuxe!”
Reviewed 22 January 2010

I cannot say enough positive things about this hotel and their staff. From the moment you walk through the beautiful front glass doors, you are greeted by friendly staff that are immediately offering assistance and left with the feeling that they truly care about providing a quality and enjoyable stay.
This property combines classic Hollywood with modern amenities. I was pleasantly surprised to discover the pillow menu they advertised was actually a menu for pillows. Since most of the time the pillows that come on the bed (and don’t get me started on how comfortable this bed was) in most rooms are either too soft or too hard, so having this option available was wonderful. Just happened that the pillows pre-selected for the bed are perfect. You can also order up an iPod preloaded with music should you desire. Also, loved the Aveda bath products in the bathroom!
The Driftwood Room lounge has a great happy hour featuring champagne cocktails, which got quite crowded. But not to worry, they will serve you in the lobby, just pull up a comfortable couch and relax. I enjoyed an “Elizabeth Taylor”, champagne and crème de violet, which was quite different and very tasty. This was a perfect start to our “night on the town”.
We also enjoyed brunch the next morning in the hotel’s restaurant, Gracie’s. The home fries of russet, Yukon gold, sweet and purple potatoes were delish and perfectly cooked. I ordered a mimosa with breakfast, and when the waiter saw that I was “nursing” it, he made sure to tell me to drink up, they are bottomless! (Can you tell champagne is a theme here?)
While not in the heart of downtown, NW or the Pearl, it was a great location to explore the city from for our “staycation”. MAX is a few short blocks away, as well as the streetcar, and Henry’s and Powell’s are just a couple of blocks away. The best part about being a bit off the grid, how surprisingly quiet it was at night. Other than the occasional passing train, it was very peaceful.
If you are planning a trip to Portland, I could not recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahjerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,904
    628
    140
    54
    23
See reviews for
377
1,299
208
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2010

My boyfriend and I went to stay the weekend in Portland, and had a lovely time staying at the Hotel deLuxe. The theme of "old hollywood" was really cool, and the ambience the hotel lobby and its rooms were lovely. The bed was super comfortable, the room service was great, the minibar had yummy items, and the restaurant and bar downstairs had great servers and good food. I want to go back!

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank violinrouge7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2010

My husband and I live locally in Portland and booked a room last minute for New Years Eve to avoid driving and wanted to enjoy a night in the city. The only bad thing I read about this hotel in all the reviews was how small the room was. This is actually the charm! Everything in the room was wonderful.....most importantly THE BED! Sooooo comfortable, Pillow top with amazingly high thread count sheets! The TV was a flat screen and good size for the room. The staff was EXTREMELY professional and hospitable. I would definitely recommend this hotel for local who want a night away and travelers who want a great location. It's walking distance to Powells Books and local transportation. The Driftwood Bar in the lobby makes one hell of a drink and the atmosphere is like the old Algiers in Las Vegas. I almost forgot the room service breakfast. At $15 for Eggs Benedict, I was thinking it was overpriced. I have to say it was one of the BEST Crab & Shrimp Eggs Benedict I have had in the city and would return to the restaurant alone just for breakfast even if I wasn't staying at the hotel! Thank you for a GREAT start to a New Year!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrettyPrettyGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Incredible staff, beautiful rooms, great location...it's my favorite hotel anywhere!

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
Thank Denver_local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

We've stayed at Hotel deLuxe twice now and I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Portland. The staff is super friendly and helpful, but not smarmy. The property and the rooms are beyond gorgeous. The bathrooms inspired the design of my own bathroom remodel. Love the intimate bar. My only issue is we somehow have managed to come on Mother's Day weekend twice now, so we've not been able to do brunch at the onsite restaurant. Highly recommend. This hotel makes you feel like an old time movie star.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lydia242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2009

Spacious, comfortable room with iHome next to bed, walk-in closet, a Business Center (quiet room with two computers & printer) and VERY reasonable prices. Located close walking distance to the quirky & fun Pearl District, full of great cafes and boutiques.
Every amenity and excessively friendly staff! One of my best hotel experiences!

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank citygirlexplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

The hotel room was small and definitely tight quarters, but who is really hanging out in their hotel room when you are visiting a town that encourages walking and biking. The staff was so helpful and went out of their way to be sure our stay was perfect. They had great recommendations and were so helpful with directions and what to do's. Their parking fees were pretty steep and you could do an $8 valet for the day(No ins and outs) and then move your car to street parking which is free at night til 8am. Better than $25 a day. Other than that, their fitness facility was enough to get ina quick workout and their business center had paper and pens at the ready with two computers and printer. I can't tell you enough how helpful the staff was everyday of our 3 day stay.
I almost forgot, the Driftwood Bar was quite a hotspot for Happy hour which was from 4pm to 6pm and then again at 9pm til close. We had a bottle of wine, mac n' cheese, olives and the charcuterie plate. Great ambiance and conversation.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Property: Hotel deLuxe
Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing