We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in all respects”
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
Ranked #4 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in all respects”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

My wife and two teenage daughters (ages 18 and 17) stayed one night at Hotel deLuxe. It was an excellent stay in all respects.

We found the hotel by looking through tripadvisor.com ratings and it lived up to its billing. Our room (queen/queen) was spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable and the bedding was high-quality.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. They provided good recommendations for dinner spots in Portland. When we checked out, they decided to waive the charge we incurred for internet access (we didn't ask they to do this).

The valet service was also friendly and efficient. They brought our car around within 5 minutes each of the 3 times we called down during our stay. They also provided clear driving directions both times we asked.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but we did have drinks and a late snack in the bar. The service was friendly, the bar was almost full, and everyone seemed to be in good spirits.

Total price/value was high. We found a promotion that offered free valet parking and a $40 food credit ($20 per 2 guests, we were a group of 4) and that helped as well.

If I could change one thing about the hotel it would be its location. While it was convenient (within 5 minutes drive of just about everything we wanted to do in Portland), there are some areas close to the hotel that were a little "sketch." Nothing dangerous or worrisome, just not 4-star or 5-star neighborhoods.

Overall, I recommend the hotel and we will stay there again on our next trip to Portland.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piocaesare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,909
    631
    140
    54
    23
See reviews for
377
1,302
210
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We loved Portland and having the Hotel deLuxe as our home base made it that much more magical. Imaginative, luxurious, friendly and fun. We would stay nowhere else in town.
Walking distance to everything and we took the trolley from the front door of the hotel right to baggage claim at the airport! Three Thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idyllwilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel deLuxe over Labor Day weekend and had a great experience. The staff was exceptionally warm and friendly and genuinely seemed to want to help you. The rooms were small, but what they lacked in size they made up for in warmth and personality. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast in the restaurant was great. Literally no complaints!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

The classic Hollywood theme is fresh and interesting, the beds were excellent (including a choice of seven kinds of pillows), the food was distinctive and delicious, and all the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. I've never had a better hotel experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamersly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

A very lovely hotel with a cinematic theme. This old classic has been renovated in a charming manner. The beds were amazingly comfortable and the pillows come in a variety of densities. Pretty much can walk I guess but we had our bikes and went on some really great rides down the river and over to the other neighbourhoods on both sides of the river and up the hills/mountains around. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about all we asked. Portland is great for eating, so go explore and use this place as your comfort retreat!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Very good service, better location than downtown. The room was on the small side. I tripped and busted my azz (in the middle of the night) on the step up to the bathroom, but I should have remembered. Had a much better room last year. The beds are a bit soft (for me) but overall a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ob2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

After a long drive, Hotel Deluxe in Portland was the perfect stop to relax and recharge. The service especially stands out. From the moment we arrived the valet attendees were incredibly nice and also when we left offered us cold bottles of water for the road. The room was larger than expected and had soothing music playing when we entered. Additionally, not only was there a "Pillow menu" but also an "Ipod menu" which we had never seen before (if you forgot/don't have one they will deliver one to your room with arranged playlists). Overall, exceeded our expectations and next time we visit Portland we will only stay at Hotel Deluxe!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSLASG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Property: Hotel deLuxe
Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing