We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed our first stay in Portland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
McMenamins Kennedy School
Ranked #34 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our first stay in Portland!”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed for a night on each side of our Oregon trip. Perfect for the night you fly in and quick access to the airport on your way out.

The rooms were nice, we had a very comfortable bed and the bath was clean, shower only, basic, but they did have some shelves for your items by the sink and provided the basic shampoo/soap/conditioner. No blow dryer, make sure you use the right plug (the red one in your closet) if you want to use the heater. It was pretty cool when we were there and the room was fine, almost toasty with the heater on. Our room was Sally's room, which was up by the front and across from the restaurant. I was concerned about the noise and we did hear some carts rolling around in the morning, but things were pretty quiet between 11 pm and 7 am.

They had events occuring both nights we were there and I thought that the crowds added to the ambience and enjoyed knowing the local people also enjoy all the fun. I met several gals from the neighborhood in the soaking pool and had a nice chat, if only the soaking pool had bar service! But, not to worry, there are many places to eat and drink all over the school. We enjoyed wandering around and grabbing a brew while checking the different parts of the school out. One of the events included live music so we got to enjoy that the first night.

Our favorite bar was the Honors bar, that may have been because it was close to our room. The only bar we didn't go into was the Detention Bar because, while we think it's cool they allow cigar smoking in there, just too much smoke.

We went to the main restaurant for dinner first night in. It was OK. For better bar food, just catty-corner on Killingsworth, by the Subway, is Concordia Ale House - much better for burgers and sandwiches. Don't get me wrong, Kennedy School's food was pretty good and quite convenient, we ate there again. Twice for breakfast. The best breakfast dish we had was a Southwest Omelet, nice spicy chorizo without a lot of grease and the worst was sweet potatoe pancakes, hard to get them done well enough.

Not a far walk to the Alberta St. neighborhood which is fun and funky.

Proudly wore my Ruby Ale long sleeve T on the way home. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodi_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    198
    46
    26
    12
See reviews for
121
262
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed one night and enjoyed the uniqueness of the property. It was very clever the way the hotel incorporated details from the school: using the auditorium as a movie theatre (with couches as seats and serves food and alcohol), boiler room as a bar, and detention room as a cigar room. My room had a long blackboard which I could not resist to draw something. The room was cutely decorated, with poems on the wall, even in the bathroom, it was very clean (no TV, no microwave/refrigerator, but makes sense given the on-site dining and entertainment options). Nice outdoor soaking pool, but it could be crowded since it's opened to the public during most hours. The property has very nice artwork and memorabilia relating to the school, should take some time to roam around. Excellent staff and even better home-brew beers!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
449 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Do you want to stay in one of the hibbest areas of Portland , in an hotel that is the center piece of the area ? Than kennedy school is where you want to go . Good food , nice rooms , soaking pool, out door fireplace WWWWWOOOO
Top it off with a cold beer , YOUR in Heaven !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Portland made for a terrific vacation, and the stay at Kennedy School complemented the greatness of Portland. along with an interesting (costly) breakfast menu; the best fish and chips I can remember (battered, fried salmon - yum); an adorable cigar smoking (detention) room. Unique, interesting, eccentric, perfecftly Portland. I was initially concerned that construction noise was going to ruin the stay, but the workers were super considerate, started working later in the morning and made surprisingly little noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sephuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
556 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This was the perfect venue for four old high school pals to spend the night. We had a great time walking around the old school/hotel which has been so cleverly converted. McMenamins always thinks of small details to embellish each property. In this case, the old paintings and photos on the wall were fun to look at and there was even a fat yellow pencil in our room like the kind you used to use in second grade ! And that was just the start. At $115 a night, the hotel is definitley a value and there was plenty of room to add a couple of rollaways to one of our rooms. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. Wi-fi is free and they even delivered a complimentary newspaper. We had a good dinner in the restaurant.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for one away from the restaurant, bar or theater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

If you had told me that there was a place, that was a) a hotel, b) a brewpub, c) a movie theater, & d) a restaurant. I would have said that you were nuts. If you also told me that this property was a converted elementary school built in the 1910's, I would have shook my head in disbelief. Simply put, this place is a unique gem, unlike anywhere you will stay. The rooms are converted classrooms. Clean with quirky furnishings. Food in the restaurant was decent & eclectic. The Beer is AMAZING.

My only complaint (and it's a minor one) was the lack of sound insulation between the hallways and the rooms. It looks like they tried to address this by how they partitioned the classrooms. On the plus side, hallway noise was almost non-existant after 10pm. I also wasn't crazy about the fact that random people could use the soaking pool, but maybe I'm just east coast "uptight".

Geek Night trivia was a riot. The movie theater is the best executed "living room / restaurant" style I have ever seen. Reminds me of the old "Beehive Theater" in Pittsburgh, Pa (from the 90's) but better executed.

It's a must stay if you are in portland.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed as a couple, for 3 nights at Kennedy School, 3 weeks ago. The hotel is located in a residential neighborhood, quite far from the main touristic attractions. Portland itself is a very odd place (in a good way) and the hotel captures perfectly this "wierdness". It is located in a building that once was a elementary school. The work they did to turn this school into a hotel was amazing. We spent (literally) hours exploring the building, its nice and unusual decor. There are artworks in almost every corridor and walls, as well pictures and frames that tells the story of the school itself. The old classrooms were turned into spacious and well appointed rooms (no TV, but hey, who needs TV during vacation anyway?). The best of all, there are 5 (yes, 5) bars on the premises, serving basic pub fare and good beer on tap made in the microbrewery that is also located at the hotel. There is also a hot tub and a movie theater (tickets free for guests - pizza and beer available). Basically, you don't have to leave the hotel for having fun. We used public transport to move around Portland and was very convenient. A 25 minutes bus ride to downtown. We stayed during weekdays, but I guess this place may become very noisy during the weekend. If you are a light sleeper, make sure to book a room far away from the bars.

If you are going to Portland and are willing to book a hotel with a legitimate Portland feel, do not hestitate.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trista-SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#41 of 140 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#5 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Jupiter Hotel
#63 of 140 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Kennedy School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Kennedy School

Property: McMenamins Kennedy School
Address: 5736 NE 33rd Ave, Portland, OR 97211-7302
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#27 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#29 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McMenamins Kennedy School 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your McMenamins Kennedy School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Kennedy School Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing