We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very unique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McMenamins Kennedy School

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McMenamins Kennedy School
Ranked #34 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very unique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were visiting Portland to attend my sons wedding. I made the reservations 6 months ago and called this week to make sure we would have a/c. We are from Florida and don't think we can live without it. The hotel had booked us in the wing that had been part of the school which was without air conditioning, but moved us to the English wing which has smaller newer rooms with air. We have enjoyed the brewery (try Ruby beer) and the staff is very accommodating. The gift shop even gave me a bag and tissue to wrap a present I purchased elsewhere. We enjoyed the fish tacos in the restaurant. I would recommend for a unique stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BarbandMike0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad we were able to accommodate your request. I am pleased the individual AC units in the new English wing rooms were more to your liking. We do have central AC in all of our rooms in the original school house building, unfortunately there is no option for individaul control of the heating and cooling system in these rooms. We aim to please and look forward to your next vist!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    191
    43
    25
    12
See reviews for
117
253
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

From what I can well, the McMenamins buy historic properties, and turn them into absolutely brilliant hotels/pubs/and more!

I have been to at least 4, and all have impressed me.

They brew their own beer, make their own wine and distill some great spirits. (all of them are fantastic)


They do a European style hotel at this site, where there is no shower/bath in the room, just so you know. But there was sink in all of my rooms, and the great people, murals, atmosphere made everything great. Bathroom in the hall, it works! I cannot recommend any hotels better for my style of NW traveling. If you stay at one of their properties, you will go again for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and support. There are so many fun things to do on our properties from the restaurant, to the small bars, brewery, hotel, gift shop, soaking pool, and theater. You are correct about most of our hotels having European style bathrooms, but here at the Kennedy School all of our rooms do have their own private bathrooms. Please be sure to stop by and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at the Kennedy School for a night during a recent visit to Portland. It's a very nice property - beautiful gardens filled with happy bees, lots of elements left over from its days as a school. We stayed in the English Wing. Our room was spotless, everything appeared to be very new, there was a quiet and efficient A/C-fan unit, as well as a nice opening window with blackout blinds. We had a great sleep, and were very comfortable overall. Staff were without exception friendly and helpful. On the day we visited it, the soaking pool was quite crowded with splashy kids, but it was pleasant nonetheless. It would be nice if the hotel would consider extending the soaking pool hours designated for guests only slightly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seaward14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The new rooms in our English wing are amazing and the art work is grand. We will definately take into consideration your comments about the soaking pool hours for guest. I will private message you to receive a little more feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights for a wedding thoroughly enjoyed every thing-the way the school has been into a unique hotel, the food,the venue and especially the extremely helpful staff. would definitely return and recommend Kennedy School to all out friends

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for spending time with us and your feedback. We strive to provide the best customer service and experience possible. Make sure to come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a fun experience. The rooms are historic class rooms, there is a detention bar along with several others, a gym converted to a banquet room and amazing soaking pool. The Kennedy is entertaining, much more than a place to stay. Oh yes, including rumors of a ghost.

Easy walk to the Alberta Street revitalized neighborhood village where you will find very good restaurants, shps and markets.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in historic class room and not the new section addition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valhala95014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. Please make sure to come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Kennedy School. From our night at the theater to a morning soak in the soaking pool. The room was clean and the many bars on site were a great value during happy hour. The whole experience was very cool. We only wished we had checked in right at 3 pm to maximize the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNLoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We expect to see you back so you can maximize your time here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is the fifth McMenamin's we have stayed in and, as usual, we were impressed with the remodeling done to the old building as it was turned into a very classy place to stay. As retired educators, it was a bit disconcerting to stay where there were still blackboards, chalk trays and sponge erasers in the room, but we loved it just the same! Too bad our room didn't have portraits of Washington and Lincoln on the wall!!! The Boiler Room Pub is now a favorite place to have a refreshment. The Courtyard Restaurant served great food and the outside dining was a treat. We really appreciated the pamphlet that led us on a self-guided tour of the artwork throughout the building. We hope to return very soon!

Room Tip: Anything in the old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndy468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for the feeback! We appreciate your continued support and patronage. We look forward to seeing again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#41 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Jupiter Hotel
#65 of 138 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Kennedy School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Kennedy School

Property: McMenamins Kennedy School
Address: 5736 N.E. 33rd Ave., Portland, OR 97211
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#29 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McMenamins Kennedy School 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your McMenamins Kennedy School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Kennedy School Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing