We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“School Daze” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McMenamins Kennedy School

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McMenamins Kennedy School
Ranked #35 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Wiichita, KS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“School Daze”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

What a serendipity. The McMenamins Kennedy School was a delightful 3 night stay. Unique, clean, comfortable, friendly and affordable. We had a dinner and a breakfast in their restaurant and were pleased with the quality of the food and the service. We would recommend it and stay again. It would rate a 5 if a Saturday night wedding party hadn't been been so boisterous.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueHighwaysTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    191
    43
    25
    12
See reviews for
117
252
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

What a fun place! Was there for a 2 day meeting and spent 2 nights in an old classroom! No TV but a chalkboard! It is a little funky but it grows on you! Has an onsite movie theater and plenty of bars, some only seat about 10-15! Make this a place to stay with friends or your loved one. In a quiet neighborhood with not much around, about 15 min to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golf4funn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your feeback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay during your meeting. Make sure to come back to see us when you don't have to work. You should also check out the Alberta Art District which is within walking distance next time you come to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have been going to the Kennedy School house since I was little. I have always loved the old charm and funky atmosphere. I finally got to bring my husband, and he loved it too! There is always something fun going on everytime we go.

The food has always been good and the beer is good too. This last trip we enjoyed eating the in courtyard next to the fireplace!

If you are traveling through Portland this is a must stop!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbeck2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for bring your husband to visit and for being a loyal guest. We appreciate your review and look foward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This place is an old, primary school that still looks and feels like an old primary school. But now it includes a full-menu casual dining restaurant, a pub, a cozy bar, a hot saltwater soaking pool and a movie theatre. If you're looking for the posh comfort of a Four Seasons, well, go to the Four Seasons, because you won't find it here. The school's accommodations are much more basic, but clean, comfortable, uniquely decorated (reflecting its history) and a lot of fun. We stayed in the main school building and both the bedroom and washroom were a very decent size. The location is not in the midst of the tourist area, but close enough to bike downtown for the day. My wife and I were a lot older than most of the other guests, and the music can be loud, but we still thought Kennedy School was a great place to spend a couple of nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VonWoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for comments. We are not your typical hotel which makes it fun and entertaining! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Kennedy School. I wish we had more time there to try the restaurant and movie theatre. Overall we thought the uniqueness of this hotel made it fantastic. The only draw back for me was the location. Although it wasn't a bad location it definitely required driving to any sights or exploring the city. We stayed in the recess room which was great but was really loud while the pool was still open to children. This was a non-issue for us since we were only there an hour during open hours to children in the soaking pool. After that it was adults only and was nice and quiet. This would be an issue for anyone trying to take relax prior to 8 o'clock. The bars on-site were interesting and unique but we were not able to try everything in the facility during our one night stay. This is a really interesting and great place for any one who likes unique stays.

Room Tip: Recess room is right by pool which can be very loud during open hours. This was not an issues durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlea_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Make sure when you come back to see us you stay for a few days. There is so much to do and see on property. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allonsee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a great stay at the Kennedy School. Yes, it does smell like a school. Yes, the rooms are minute. Yes, it's busy and happening at any time of the night and day. We stayed one night in the English Wing in a corner upstairs suite, and although there was no room to swing a cat, it was comfortable. The wifi didn't work where we were, and there is no tv, but there is so much on site that there was no lack of entertainment. Coffee delivered to your door promptly in the morning, at the same cost as going out to Starbucks. Decent breakfast in the Courtyard. I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyFaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

felt like we were in the portables at school. Small room, non of those chalk boards or big tall windows we'd come to love at the original Kennedy School experience. Headboard was nice and bed overflowing with pillows.
Good place for lunch not so hot for dinner unless you want pizza or a calzone.
Really disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay away from booking the English wing if at all possible.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank karenmcelhany2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The rooms in the English wing are different from the rooms in the original school house. They do have their own charm and have wonderful art work. I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay. I will private message you to receive more feedback on how we may improve your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#42 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Jupiter Hotel
#66 of 138 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#5 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel Eastlund
#9 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Kennedy School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Kennedy School

Property: McMenamins Kennedy School
Address: 5736 N.E. 33rd Ave., Portland, OR 97211
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#29 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McMenamins Kennedy School 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your McMenamins Kennedy School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Kennedy School Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing