We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great eclectic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McMenamins Kennedy School
Ranked #33 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Bay, St. John
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great eclectic experience”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

McMenamins places are always cool and interesting places to eat.
The food is good, but the real reason to go is the atmosphere.
It amazes me every time I go about the details put in to every aspect and corner of this place. From the lights, pictures, even the bathrooms, this place has details that show thought and design.
It was a short lunch, so a short review, but I if I travel back to Portland with family this is where I would want to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your dining experience. We would love to have you and the family stay with us next time you are in town. We look foward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    202
    46
    26
    12
See reviews for
121
266
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We love all McMennamins Properties and enjoyed staying at the Kennedy School and will and would stay again. Our room was an old classroom that still had a chalk board in it. All rooms are themed and have history. Such a fun place to go.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look foward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyGirlBean
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This place is very cool. Somewhere I read it was a "five star" hotel but I wouldn't call it that in the traditional sense. It is still very reminiscent of the old school it once was. It's quirky and cool. It's comfortable but not luxurious. Chalk boards in the rooms, wood floors, etc. The movie house is super cool and the bars and restaurant are all great. We went for a friend's wedding there and had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonkeyGirlBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for a the wonderful review. What a fun place to attend a wedding! The movie theater is a delight to watch a movie on a comfy couch and enjoy a beer and a burger if you like. We hope to see you next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Read other reviews carefully, I did not. I stayed here for two nights in March, with my 17 year old daughter. We spent one night in a converted classroom (the music room) and one night in the newer "English Wing". The complex is interesting, and I applaud the McMennamins for converting historic buildings into useable space. The historic room was uncomfortable - heated with a space heater, think bedding and with a double bed. There were no comfortable chairs, the lighting was inadequate, and it was quite noisy as it backed to the public restroom and was outside the theater. The room in the English Wing was far more comfortable. I would not say it is a great atmosphere for children, as you might expect with a converted school. There are a number of bars, small and large, with guests roaming the halls with their drinks, the movie playing the evening I was there was over 21 only, there is not much for kids to do after the fun of looking at the murals. The restaurant was in my opinion overpriced for mediocre food, and the service was terribly slow, but the atmosphere in the courtyard with a nice open fire was lovely. Breakfast was not included in the room rate - and frankly not offering any breakfast option for guests is pretty unusual. There were not coffee pots in the rooms, nor an area where you could fix a cup of tea in a common area. This is a great spot for the right person, it just wasn't right for us - I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Select rooms in the English Wing for a better sleeping experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susan_0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry to hear that you will not be returning. I can understand how frustrating it can be if ithe room is not at a comfortable temperature. We have centralized heating along wth a space heater. We are continously finding ways to better heat our rooms. It can be challenging with the high ceilings and large glass windows. We have decided to also offer earplugs in all of our rooms to assist with the noise level. We have also extended kid hours in the pool to our hotel guests, so they are welcomed to soak as long as the pool is open as well. We do attempt to cater to all age groups as we welcome everyone. We offer breakfast/dinner option packages for our hotel rooms Sunday-Thursday. Thank you for the feedback, we will take the breakfast package option with the room into consideration. We offer complimentary coffee at the front desk from 7am-11am daily. I also believe your tea selection idea is lovely idea and a great option to implement for guests who do not prefer coffee. I will check the couch in the music room to ensure it is in good order. Again thank you for all of your wonderful feedback. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again, if not visiting one of our other locations which may be more to your liking. I will be sending you a private message as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We visited the Kennedy School on a trip to Oregon a few years back and decided to go back and actually stay there. It's a quirky place with a movie theater and several bars and restaurants. Lots of fun. But it was crawling with young kids on Saturday, so if you're not looking for a family day, don't go there on the weekend during the day. And if you're going to the movie, get there early so you can grab one of the love seats or comfy chairs before they're all gone. The room was large and very clean, but cold one night and hot the next with no way to control the temp. Also, we could hear all the traffic in the wood floor hallways...kind of annoying. Parking is also a problem. Even as overnight guests, we still had to park 3 blocks away on a rainy Saturday night. Overall we enjoyed it, and we'll probably visit again but not stay over night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main hallway are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtul review. We hope to see you again in the future. I have forwarded your comments regarding the room temperature to our facilities coordinator as we are actively working to solve these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Yes, this is the nicest place closest to our daughter's apartment, which is near the Alberta Arts District. Yes, it's got a great vibe to it. However, there are a few issues (which were resolved, by the way with a phone call in response to our comment card, thank you) with the place: we stayed here in January and our room was COLD. The space heater could not keep up with it. We ended up turning on the hair dryer in the bathroom full blast so that we could take a shower in comfort. The parking in the back was also troublesome, given that there are several restaurants/bars/theater/events going on and parking is at a premium during those times. The room was clean; the staff was attentive and friendly; the restaurant served up some great breakfast & happy hour food. Would we stay here again? Yes, we would, and we'd put up with the same issues as before. Overall, a fun & unique experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you would stay again and look forward to seeing you again! Thank you again for bringing the issues you encountered to our attention, your feedback is essential to our improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Kennedy School is an actual old school. Our room was called the Recess Room complete with cloak closet. (An old term). The ceilings are high and the furniture is all vintage and pretty interesting as is the wacky artwork posted prominently on every surface thru-out the entire property. We had a view of the extra large hot tub, probably 30 feet long x 12 feet wide, thru dense shrubbery. No TV, so as a guest caring for an infant and room bound, it made a boring night. There are plenty of things for couples to do. Many restaurants and theatres within the complex. This is a popular location for meetings and the fact they are pet friendly raises their overall appeal. Certainly would make a good weekend location for the couple wanting something a little different.

Room Tip: All the rooms are old classrooms furnished and decorated with vintage items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send your review. I am sorry to hear that you were bored in your room and understand how difficult it can be to stay entertained when you are confined to the room. We do offer Wi-Fi and books to read but know that it's not easy to do either when caring for an infant. We hope we will see you again when you can be out and enjoying the property. Thank you again for providing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#40 of 141 in Portland
284 reviews
Jupiter Hotel
#64 of 141 in Portland
549 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Kennedy School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Kennedy School

Property: McMenamins Kennedy School
Address: 5736 NE 33rd Ave, Portland, OR 97211-7302
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#29 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McMenamins Kennedy School 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your McMenamins Kennedy School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Kennedy School Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing