We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
McMenamins Kennedy School
Nearby Hotels
Sentinel(Portland)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel deLuxe(Portland)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Paramount Hotel(Portland)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$313
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (651)
Filter reviews
651 results
Traveller rating
339
219
51
28
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
339
219
51
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovie theatersoaking poolelementary schoolenglish wingcourtyard restaurantdetention barroom bardetention roomhonors baralberta streetcypress roomcigar roommultiple barsbars and restaurantsmain restaurantunique hotelgreat beer
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 651 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a unique experience! There is so much to see and do on this property. It was a great place to stay on the day of our travel because everything you could want is right there on the property. There are restaurants, bars (plural), and a movie theater all on site! The hotel is so full of history and interesting. The Boiler Room Bar was a favorite place to hang out at the end of our day. There is a pool table, and the service is exceptional. We really enjoyed our stay on this property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Annette S-

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It sounds like you had a wonderful time here. Please come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

First experience staying at a McMenamins property was a pleasure...restoration of the property was tastefully done taking us back in time. You could just sense all the history that has taken place here. The rooms in the old building are quite comfortable and relaxing; even though we were there on a 95+ degree day, it was comfortable without air conditioning, with just the ceiling fan going. The heated soaking pool in the evening was relaxing and if you're a guest, you can attend a free movie in the evening. We took our own art tour of the hallways to reflect on a time gone by! Would definitely recommend to others and stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hi Pam D-

Thank you for sharing your unique experience with us! We absolutely love incorporating the history through our halls, rooms, and the entire building. The soaking pool is a fantastic way to start or end your day, and taking in a complimentary movie with your stay while having a beverage or a bite to eat is the Portland way to go. We look forwad to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This felt like staying at an amusement park for adults (although it seemed like a kid-friendly place, too) - a homebrewed cherry beer here, a concert there, sleeping in a classroom with blackboards still on the wall, gift shops with hand made jewelry and tableware. We had lots of fun wandering the halls and just seeing what we'd stumble across, bars, restaurants, gardens, country music concerts. Really memorable!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epipremnum A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hi Epipremnum A-

Thank you for reviewing us. It is fun place for adults. Where else can you wander the halls of a school with a home brewed beer in hand?! Come back and visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I love all McMenamins but this one is pretty special (though Edgefield remains my #1). The soaking pool is smaller but still relaxing. The room I stayed in had a chalk board to write messages to the next guests (they leave it on). The whole place has a fun vibe. Boiler Room bar has so many interesting things to look at. Don't forget to check out the hand painted artwork and walls all over the property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hi Melisa C-

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We like the healthy competition between us and Edgefield! But we will continue to strive to make us your favorite. We look foward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here with my husband & daughter between 16th - 20th of June 2014. The 3 of us loved it. This was our first trip to Portland & I was really happy that we stayed here. Its different to any hotel we have ever stayed in. Food was good, beer & wine was excellent. Staff were really friendly & helpful. We stayed in room no:111 Broom & basket room, which nice & quiet even when there was a band playing the gym. Our room was located around the corner from the reception. My daughter was really happy with the blackboard & didn't care there was no TV. Room was nice & bright, king size bed was really comfortable & our daughter slept on a roll-away bed. The soaking pool was fabulous. The artwork all over the building was really beautiful. It was interesting to see that the school is 99years old.

We met various locals on our travels who all recommended the hotel & its amenities. The hotel is really popular with locals who use the soaking pool, movie theatre, eat lunch, dinner & drinks in one of the bars. As it popular, you may have to wait to get a table for dinner. I think it says a lot when the locals are really positive about the hotel place.

The only negative comment I would make is the public transport details getting to & from the hotel are not listed on the website, but should be! We used the bus service to get to & from Portland city centre. There is a bus stop, for bus route 73 directly outside & the 70 around the corner. I think we changed route to the number 15 in order to get to Downtown Portland. I think the cost of the ticket for an adult was roughly $2.50 which allows you to make transfers during a 2hr period.

Overall a really nice hotel. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I recommend our room no:111 Broom & basket. In the main building
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UBear666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hi UBear666-

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy everyone in your party enjoyed their stay! We appreciate your feedback about the public transportation information being listed on our website. We will see what we can do about adding that information on there. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews