We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something Different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
McMenamins Kennedy School
Ranked #36 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Something Different”
Reviewed 1 February 2009

This used to be a real school but is now part of the McMenamins Chain. As such it is part of the neighbourhood, a funky brewpub with quirky accommodation.

I was tempted to be naughty and give it just one star ... so that I would be sent to the Detention Room, one of the great little bars. Was it my favourite ... or was it the Courtyard (great casual dining) ... or the old Gym that is now a great place to chill and watch a movie?

The whole Kennedy School experience is fun, fun, fun. You don't have to stay to experience it but I especially loved the blackboard in the bedroom and the pool in the old staffroom.

Oh ... and the beer is great too!

  • Liked — It was something different in "themed" accommodation; funky fun.
  • Disliked — It wasn't that close to the city centre
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank julnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    198
    46
    26
    12
See reviews for
121
262
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

This was such a great place to stay. It was super clean, and an awsome price. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone who wants something a little different. The Hotel staff were great. We stayed at 2 other McMenamins on our Holiday, and both were great.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tannermae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAKE WORTH, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Overall we liked it here. The food and beer are great and there's so much to do and see right on the property between the bars, restaurants, murals, old photos, movie theatre and pool. The staff is also very nice and you can't beat the price.

We stayed here 3 nights and it was only the first night that we had any complaints. We were in one of the interior rooms ("Girls' Ballcourt" I think) that is right across from a banquet hall that was hosting a wedding reception. The music and voices were very loud and went on until quite late and some of the guests were smoking and talking right outside our window. There was no way we could sleep with the noise. We contemplated leaving the next day but gave it another chance and ended up having a good time.

If we come again I'd stay in one of the rooms that has exterior windows instead of the interior rooms that have windows on the courtyards.

  • Liked — the food and beer
  • Disliked — the noisy rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MARKLakeWorth_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We've stayed at the Kennedy School a few times and it never disappoints. The room was clean and really nice (Cherry Blossom theme) with high ceilings, large windows. There's no TV or telephone in the room and that was fine by us, there's a lot to do right in the "school"--barhopping, dining, music events, admiring the art in the hallway, movies. We had a blast "barhopping" within the property and visited all 5 pubs. Nearby Alberta Street offers a nice strolling, shopping opportunity.

  • Liked — The great microbrews
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKotsonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

I travel to Portland 2-3 times per year for business/pleasure. Since I travel alone I enjoy staying at smaller hotels that have entertainment close by. Kennedy Schools movie autotorium is just the right thing. The restaruant is wonderful and McMenamins Beer & Wine are very enjoyable. The rooms are always clean and the staff is GREAT !!! I'll be sure to take some photos on my next visit and post them for everyone to see.

  • Liked — The location and the interesting dacor.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, Ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2008

I was excited to stay here after seeing the website and reading reviews and it lived up to my expectations. A friend lives in Portland and she also gave it great reviews for the bars and theater. My husband and I stayed three nights and were sad to go. I had been worried about the location, but turns out it is within walking distance of Alberta street with lots of great shops, bars and restaurants, and in a really nice area. The room was nice and good sized, with an adjoining bathroom. It was suprisingly quiet considering the activities on property. The property itself is a landmark to explore. The staff were all very nice, and there is free parking availible. We ate one dinner and one breakfast there, and both were absolutely delicious. Unfortunately we did not get to try the beer yet, but we did purchase some to bring back. One night we caught a late movie for free at the theater, and the couches were so comfortable we fell asleep. Sadly I didn't get to try out the soaking pool but it looked amazing. Next time!

  • Liked — The reuse of the space and activities on the property
  • Disliked — I was bummed there was no bath tub but of course there is the pool...
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

The Kennedy School is a great choice for travelers looking for a different, non-cookie-cutter hotel experience. You won't get a standard hotel room here--all accommodations are former classrooms, complete with chalkboards, large windows, and unique furnishings. We loved having dinner in the hotel restaurant (the former cafeteria), sampling microbrews at the property's many pubs (we tried three of their six bars), and catching a movie at the theater (the former auditorium). We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Liked — Historic buiilding, great on-site activities and entertainment
  • Disliked — Nothing! It's a great spot!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SarahP1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#42 of 140 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#5 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Jupiter Hotel
#63 of 140 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Kennedy School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Kennedy School

Property: McMenamins Kennedy School
Address: 5736 NE 33rd Ave, Portland, OR 97211-7302
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#27 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#29 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McMenamins Kennedy School 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your McMenamins Kennedy School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Kennedy School Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing