We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Ranked #10 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location to walk to restaurants and stores in neighborhood without the hustle and bustle of downtown Portland. Wonderful organic market close by. Nice covered parking but tight. Difficult with larger SUV.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProvidenceGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    186
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
122
207
27
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We spent a few days at the Silver Cloud while visiting Portland earlier this month. The Inn is located right on the edge of Northwest 23rd & 21st, areas with lots of restaurants and some interesting stores. It's also just a five minute walk to the nearest streetcar stop, which will take you around Downtown Portland for just a dollar a ticket (or five bucks for a day pass).

Other pros: the parking is free, and in a lot on site. Breakfast is included, just a basic complimentary with the usual fare. Free wifi is available in the rooms. All this for under $200 a night, not bad. The room was not fancy, but comfortable. Quiet at night, though during the day/morning our room facing Vaughn got a little noisy on the weekdays with the window open.

All in all, a good base for exploring Portland that won't break the bank.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sketchy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Searched for a room in Portland after a Thorns soccer game and my daughter and I really liked this place. The neighborhood was not the norm for a hotel, but there were plently of restaurants within walking distance and we felt safe in the area. The hotel has cover parking; always a plus. Our room with two queen beds was large and had his and her sinks which was great for a teenager and an adult. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsCaliforniaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Great location just off highway but near Washington Park and shops/restaurants/coffee houses.
No road noise. Staff very helpful. Felt safe to walk in neighborhood. Room was very clean and bed comfortable
Hot/cold breakfast offered. Coffee was a bit weak and that is only complaint. Parking adjacent to hotel.
News Paper delivered to room door early am.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank crloganphila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Had another great stay at this hotel, it has a nice location that is not in the hustle and bustle of downtown but still allows you great access to everything Portland. They have added a second waffle maker and improved the breakfast somewhat since I last stayed there which was a real treat. Staff was friendly, check in was easy, hotel was full but didn't feel full and the rooms are a good size.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights and were delighted with the excellent service. It didn't feel like a chain. The desk staff was always friendly and informative. All their suggestions were accurate and useful - from getting around without a car to choosing excellent restaurants. We arrived on a Tuesday and were amazed at the wonderful "customer appreciation" treat - great food with beer and wine. Breakfasts were also impressive with all the essentials and several unexpected extras. Our room was large with king bed, sofa, refrigerator, microwave, dishes, etc. Laundry facilities were also available. Finally, we had a free shuttle to the train station.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKM-Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Silvercloud had large clean rooms, but I would have expected more for $189 night. Yes this did include a simple breakfast, but by and large this is a motor hotel. Oh and there was that issue of the lumpy bed...

Maybe I need to compare this to other hotels in the area, but I've stayed in nicer hotels in Seattle, New York and Washington for less money

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caljang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlManager, General Manager at Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
I'm sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet expectations.
In the last year we have added scrambled eggs and sausage to our Deluxe Continental Breakfast.
I was a little surprised to hear about the bed, as all of the mattresses are new in the last couple of years and are on a quarterly rotation program.
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#6 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland

Property: Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Address: 2426 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210-2314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Portland
#13 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#17 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#38 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a hotel with the convenience of Downtown Portland Oregon without the hassle and congestion. The Silver Cloud Inn Portland is located adjacent to the Nob Hill shopping district featuring a variety of Portland's finest boutiques, shops, nightlife and restaurants. Nearby Forest Park offers hiking and biking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Nw Portland Hotel Portland
Silver Cloud Hotel Portland Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing