We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to airport...helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Ranked #45 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel was close to the airport (five to ten minutes, depending on traffic) with quick pick up from the shuttle. The staff was especially friendly and helpful. The free breakfast buffet was good, with lots of choices. Even though the buffet didn't start until 7 on the weekend, when I checked out for my early flight, there was coffee, juice and pastries...bread, rolls and muffins available at 3:45 AM!! The room was large with not only the required bed, but a couch, computer desk, "kitchen" area with micro, refrigerator, coffee makes and small sink.... and the internet was free. Very clean. No restaurant on site, but a diner across the street and more options just a slightly farther walk.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyawayAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

flyawayAZ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Clarion with everyone. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!

Thank you,
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Clarion Hotel Portland Airport. I chose the hotel because I had to take an early flight to Chicago. I can fully recommend the hotel. There wasn't a spot I could point my finger at. My room was large and from the window I could overlook a nice pond. Clearly the hotel put a lot of effort into making the pond nice and it was beautiful to look at. The hotel is located near the airport, but you aren't able to hear the noise from the airport - mainly because the rooms all facing away from the planes' airway to the airport. The room is large and there is a small cozy living room and a small kitchen with microwave. It's almost like a small apartment. The bed is absolutely fantastic, and to tell the truth almost impossible to leave. It's the best beds I've slept in until now. The hotel staff at the front desk is friendly and efficient. The breakfast is good and varied.
Pros: Good rooms, beds and views. Quiet hotel. Good value for money. Near the airport. Free parking facilities.
Cons: Far away from Portland city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

ToCall,

Thank you for the glowing review! Everyone here at the hotel appreciates hearing your kind words.

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I chose this hotel, because all the city hotels were very expensive at this time. I had a large room with a kingsize bed, flat sceen TV, refrigerator, coffee maker etc. Room was very clean, staff pleasant. Breakfast acceptable, although Manager promise to do something about the powdered eggs! The airport shuttle was a bonus, and the Cascade Shopping Center is almost opposite.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfeetGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

itchyfeetGoldCoast,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at the Clarion. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always looking at way to improve our services and breakfast options.

Thank you,
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My husband and I were so impressed with the level of customer service I was compelled to write my first review! Most hotels drop the travel crib at the door, here they set it up complete with extra blankets! We called down as a courtesy to see if anyone was in the room below us as we have a busy 2 year old boy. The front desk assured us they would wait to rent the room below until last requested. We asked for a late checkout and they offered to let us stay until 2! We didn't but still.....how nice! We forgot to pack our iPhone charger and the woman working at night lent us her own personal charger for the night. I am saddened at how much customer service is lacking these days but The staff at the Clarion has renewed my faith. There is a lovely small lake view from some of the rooms as well. We will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaleetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Shaleetwo,

I will be honest, these are the reviews I love to read. Thank you. I will surely pass this along to the staff and Sarah who lent you the charger. Hopefully we will see you again the next time you are in town.

Thank you,
Don Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The Clarion Hotel Portland Airport is super close to the airport and a decent value. Generously-sized room. Average breakfast but the evening soiree (with singer, no less) was a waste of time. Accessible PC's in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suburban-countess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

suburban-countess,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at the Clarion. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the evening reception with John English "The Voice" of Frank Sinatra. Please join us again on your next trip to Portland.

Thank you,
Don Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed here one night to make getting to an early morning flight easier. Reserved a handicapped room on the first floor as my Mom was with me. Super convenient handicapped parking just steps from this room (from an exterior door by the elevators). Close to breakfast & the front desk too. Room was big & convenient. The TV wouldn't turn on & there was no luggage stand; mattress harder than I'm used to. Jet noise in the room was audible but not a problem. This hotel is a quick, straight shot to the airport terminal (a mile or so). Staff friendly & helpful. Has the usual hot Choice Hotels breakfast. Also used the pool & hot tub, they were clean & pleasant. Would definitely stay here again for an airport run.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FruitFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

FruitFan,

I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was convenient, clean, and pleasant. I am sorry that you had issues with your television. As for a luggage stand, ours are located in the closet and are fixed in place. We look forward to your next stay here with us.

Thank you,
Don Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This is a nice, newer looking hotel. NO parking fee. The staff were very helpful and nice. Our room had a very large desk that pulled out from the dresser and served as a table also. There was 1 desk type chair - very comfy, but only 1 could sit to eat. Shilo restaurant next door is very good & does carryout - another hotel guest told us about it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

cmchristensen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience here at the Clarion. We truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Portland.

Thank you,
Don Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#47 of 144 in Portland
265 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Portland Airport

Address: 11518 NE Glenn Widing Dr, Portland, OR 97220-9054
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#33 Business Hotel in Portland
#41 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £81 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Portland International Airport is a 101 room property where you will feel right at home. All of our rooms have lake views, we offer Tempur-pedic mattresses (ask for our Deluxe Rooms), a hot free breakfast and of course an airport shuttle. Perfect for a business traveler or a family getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing