We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a great value, I would stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Portland Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Ranked #45 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overall a great value, I would stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located near the airport and public transportation, getting downtown was very easy. The staff was very friendly and addressed the one issue I had,which was a malfunctioning TV. The rooms were large and well furnished with a very comfortable bed. Overall my only complaint was the breakfast, it left a lot to be desired

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Corey F
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again.

Thank you,
Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    212
    64
    26
    15
See reviews for
152
226
60
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel 3 times this year using the Park and Fly. 2 of those times my car was broken into and our belongings stolen. I am extremely disappointed in the lack of concern or care the hotel has shown and I do not feel adequate care or security is given to customer vehicles. 2 out of 3 times in a 4 month period is ridiculous. I will never stay at this hotel again. We have lost too much in valuables and car repairs.

In January 2014 we left our car while going to Hawaii. We has 2 changes of clothes, sleepwear, coats and shoes in the car trunk. We came back at midnight to find the window broken and our warm clothes missing. We complained to the hotel and and were told to call the police there was nothing they could do. We live 2 hours from Portland and had to drive home with no warm clothes, no closed-toe shoes and a missing window.This was a terrible way to end a vacation!

This month we decided to try the Park and Fly again. We left our car up front, by the door, in a handicap spot, under the security camera since the parking lot was being paved. We were going to Thailand so again we left a change of clothes and extra swimsuits and shoes. This time we stuffed the clothes under the seats to try and hide them. We got to the car and could see that it had been rummaged, glove box was open and papers were all over the seats and everything in the car was gone. The shuttle driver suggested talking to the manager but no one could find him. The front desk gave us a form to fill out and again would do nothing. No offer to call us, check the camera or anything. Someone spent some time going through the car and it was obvious by looking in the window that it had been broken into.

I really liked the hotel itself but there is no way I will ever stay again. Too expensive. Replacing a window, losing 4 pairs of jeans, 6 shirts, 2 coats, 4 pairs of shoes, 2 swimsuits, 2 nightgowns, 4 sets of undergarments and a tool set was not cheap.

I have been a Choice Hotel member for many years and this is the only hotel we have had this problem with. Thankfully there are other hotel options since this one has cost us way too much.

Room Tip: Don't leave valuables in vehicle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aellis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Aellis123,
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is unfortunate that your stay was unsatisfying. We make it a point to inform all guests to lock their vehicle and not leave anything of value behind. We should be able to leave our vehicle and feel secure about it no matter where we are, but that is not the world we live in. I am sorry that this happened to your vehicle.
Thank you,
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel was convenient for a commute to Portland Airport. The room was very nice and comfortable. The shuttle was very prompt to the airport. The staff goes out of their way to ensure their guests are happy with their stay. The rate was reasonable as well. I would return here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Mark B

Thank you for sharing your experience here at the Clarion. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and are looking forward to your next visit.

Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
684 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Recently I made a business trip to Portland and used the facilities (room and meeting room) at the Clarion Hotel Portland Airport. Upon arriving at the airport I made a quick call to be picked up by the shuttle and within 10 minutes was met by the van and driver. Very friendly and open. When we reached the hotel, the driver was quick to get my bags out of the van and help me to the front desk check-in area. At the front desk I was greeted with a broad smile and welcome. Check in was smooth.

My room was clean and tidy and the bed comfortable. I visited the meeting room that I would be using and it was nicely arranged and set up to the specifications requested. Overall I was there three days and the experiences was excellent. The location from the airport was great. No restaurant on the property for lunch or dinner but there is a restaurant within a short walking distance. Breakfast however is another story..wonderful selection, and busy workers keeping this clean and neat. Good hotel for business traveler and family passing through.

Room Tip: I always choose the top floor to keep from hearing street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMarc9491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
DrMarc9491

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Clarion. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again if your travels ever bring you to Portland again.

Don Gibson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Front desk- very helpful.....Room Service- Excellent.....entertainment on Tuesday evenings with music, food and beer/wine- all complimentary. Ice on every floor. Close to the bike trail along the Columbia River, close to I-205 with access to downtown Portland, easy access to PDX. Very impressed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEB5thMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
SEB5thMan,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at the Clarion. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Thank you,
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great Location!
Service was Fabulous..
Pool hot and jacuzzi too.
Large rooms with great amenities
Bath very large
Shuttle service went out of the way to be helpful and even dropped us at Alamo instead of making us go back to the airport
Highly Recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacque R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionPDXManagement, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
I am very pleased to hear that you had a great stay! I will let everyone know to keep up the good work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I spend a lot of time in Choice hotels... I'm a member of their "Elite Diamond" level, meaning I've spent over 40 room nights per year with Choice.

I've learned that the properties are hit and miss, and this one SHOULD be a solid hit, but alas:

I made my second reservation here and as usual reserved the whirlpool room. When we checked in, my partner noticed that there was black mold in the jets of the tub. I notified the staff right away. They offered to clean the jets on the spot because the property was fulling booked. My girl is extremely sensitive to chemical odors (I'm not a fan either), and so we respectfully declined. They then offered to return 2,000 of my 12,000 points I had redeemed for this particular night and a steeply discounted rate for our second evening.

We had just spent an awesome evening enjoying the art walk in the Pearl district and had REALLY been looking forward to a soak. I also almost ALWAYS book a tub suite; if I have to be on the road, I might as well enjoy it. So, I base which property I book at in a given area on tub availability. So, that being said, we declined their initial offer. We requested a full refund of the points for the evening. They agreed.

Furthermore, they agreed to move us in to a new unit the next morning. The first time I went to the desk, the agent told me that they were "deep cleaning" the tub and that she would call when we could move. She called about 30 minutes later, and I went and got keys for the new room. Well, another failure. This unit, despite "deep cleaning" the tub, was in the same condition: black mold up in the jets. NASTY!

So, per my understanding, the GM actually stepped in at this point and went over some cleaning procedures with the head of housekeeping. When we returned from our day of Portland shopping, etc, our new room was indeed clean and the tub appeared to have no mold in the jets.

Fast forward 3 weeks; my points refund finally posts, and it's short. First, I attempt to fill out a form online to seek remedy; the form is broken and I am unable to submit my feedback. I then call the reward center, and they are unable to assist me, after arguing with me, and that I need to contact the hotel directly. Next, I call Choice Hotels Guest Relations. After being on hold for about 10 minutes, the agent comes back to inform me that she was unable to reach the hotel and that she left a message and that she would follow up.

This hotel and chain are starting, like much of this industry, to falter in the VERY important area of customer service. I don't guess that I'll be an "Elite Diamond" member next year after renewal time. I'll most likely be trying another chain..

In closing, this property is fairly nice, the service on my first stay was awesome, but there are deficiencies. Everyone makes mistakes; it's how we address them that set us apart. This property did not do well to address this deficiency.

If you stay here and have no issues, it'll probably meet most travelers needs. If there is an issue, they might not be able to address it well. The property is nice, and some of the staff excellent. for this reason, I gave this property 2 stars although my experience rates 1.

Room Tip: If you book a tub room, make sure it's clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToeKnee_TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionPDXManagement, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
On behalf of my entire staff I would like to apologize again for the less than perfect stay that you experienced. I am sorry things were not up to your expectations and I hope that you will give us another chance to show you are good our property really is. I hope all of the resolutions that have been discussed help rectify the poor service you experienced. If you need anything else please feel free to call me directly at the hotel (503-252-222)

Heather Crandall
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#47 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Portland Airport

Property: Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Address: 11518 NE Glenn Widing Dr, Portland, OR 97220-9054
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#33 Business Hotel in Portland
#41 Family Hotel in Portland
#41 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Portland International Airport is a 101 room property where you will feel right at home. All of our rooms have lake views, we offer Tempur-pedic mattresses (ask for our Deluxe Rooms), a hot free breakfast and of course an airport shuttle. Perfect for a business traveler or a family getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Clarion Hotel Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing