We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This inn is everything a Victorian B and B should be.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
Ranked #1 of 34 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The hospitality provided by Steve and Dusty is outstanding. They were always on hand to offer advice on local sites and restaurants. The breakfasts were delicious; snacks and beverages were always available. The rooms were beautiful.

Room Tip: Check out the website which shows each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigihp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2011

I stayed in the Garden Room and every time I think about it now, I think about the great time I had there. The room was perfectly decorated, with a large old fashioned claw foot tub that was easy to relax in. The Innkeepers were very helpful with any questions I had, and maps were available.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Innkeeper053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We were treated so well by the friendly hosts and given great information about the area and the B&B. We enjoyed our stay in the immaculately clean and beautifully decorated room. We were early and able to see most of the rooms before they were occupied and they are all lovely. All your needs and desires will be met by this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Conveniently located near stores and restaurants in NE Portland, this charming B&B is well worth your consideration. The house is beautiful, well tended and well appointed. Rooms are clean, quiet and spacious, and all creature comforts (TV, wi-fi, iron & board, hair dryer) are provided. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast is good, varied and ample. Hosts Dustin, Steve and their crew are all about providing the traveler with resources to make the visit more enjoyable, and a friendly and welcoming atmosphere prevailed. We will return the next time we go to Portland.

Room Tip: Check website for accurate info.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cachry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Unfortunately we only stayed one night at The Lion & the Rose B & B. We had a large, comfortable room which had everything we needed. Although the bathroom was small, it was clean & functional. The location, although not downtown, was close to shops, restaurants & transport. Directions, maps etc made finding the B & B easy as were directions to get to the airport. Breakfast in the large dining room was excellent. At all times, one felt that Steve & Dusty were there to help whenever needed. The 1906 house is charmingly decorated and a pleasure st stay in.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lavonna Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

My wife and I chose to stay here for our 13th Wedding Anniversary and were not disappointed one bit. Amazing staff and the house is simply beautiful. This is a true benchmark that other B&B's should strive to emulate.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Despite this bed and breakfast being listed as number one on Trip Advisor, I wasn't too excited about the description so checked out all the other options before conceding that it was my best option given the price and location. However, by the end of my visit I decided that this place definitely deserves its ranking as the number one bed and breakfast.

The location absolutely could not be beat. Walking distance to Lloyd Mall, numerous restaurants and a great wine shop. Close to the I-5 and centrally located for everything else. Free public transit to the downtown although the station is a bit of a hike.

The rooms were spacious, clean and very attractively presented. It was a slight annoyance having a step up to the raised bed but I suppose added to the charm. There were notes about the old plumbing in the ensuite. The toilet and wash basin never presented a problem for me and as I had showers at the hot yoga studio I visited don't know how the showers worked. The first night I was bothered by street noise during the night as well as realized I could clearly hear everything that went on in the adjoining room. I didn't remember hearing any street noise the last three nights of my stay and the occupants of the adjoining room never made much noise. So I can't say now that either of these issues was a problem however I really couldn't see my room or the place in general being ideal for a romantic get away.

The optional continental breakfast was very convenient for me and I took advantage of this option every morning except the last when I had to leave early. The conversation with other hotel guests, fresh fruit selection and delicious coffee were worth more than the $5 charge. Other than that I had a bagel and on one morning a yogurt as well. Nothing else looked worth the calories.

The owners provide very efficient and friendly service. Everything went smoothly and 24 hour contact numbers were readily available. They are not the overly social and talkative hosts that I am accustomed to encountering at bed and breakfasts but in some ways that was a blessing!

All in all this place provided excellent value for me and I wouldn't hesitate to book again. For someone else looking for a quiet secluded romantic getaway or gourmet breakfasts (atleast during the winter months - can't comment on the full breakfasts offered the rest of the year), this place might not fit the bill.

Room Tip: Perhaps look for a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixtysix66_66_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,743 reviews
Hotel Eastlund
#13 of 144 in Portland
416 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,836 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House

Address: 1810 N.E. 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £172 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic 1906 Queen Anne mansion, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, transports you to another time. The eight guest rooms (all with private baths) are each unique and emanate Victorian charm. Historic yet up to date, the rooms are air conditioned and equipped with telephones, cable TV, and high-speed wireless internet access. The parlors and dining room are comfortable, spacious, and decorated in period furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing