We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
Ranked #1 of 34 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The Lion and the Rose was a comfortable inn with helpful and warm innkeepers. Although not right in the center of town, you are only a few blocks from free public transportation. We would stay here again...but be warned...lots of flowered wallpaper....but it is charming....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

A bit tacky overdone decor.
TV connect,disconnect on and off the entire stay, tiny little thing
Internet was for a time unconnected
Nice location near the center of Portland

Really not 5 stars.........................



Too much hype

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank cocomaxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Lion and the Rose and the hosts were as warm, welcoming and wonderful as we had remembered. Our little room, Avandel, with it's roomy private bath, was perfect for the two of us. The location of the inn is ideal for finishers of the Seattle to Portland bicycle event and allows easy access across the river to the train station and downtown. We will most certainly return for a 3rd, perhaps 4th, 5th... etc. visit in the years to come.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank storeyjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Lion and Rose was recommended to us by a friend who'd stayed many times while visiting Portland. The place is in an excellent location for almost anything you want to do in Portland, and it's within walking distance to the free downtown trolley. Add to this, the inn itself is comfortable and inviting, it includes much of the period furniture, wall hangings, etc., and, it stocked with all the historical information, including photos. The inn keepers, Dusty and Steve, are engaging and ready to share all kinds of interesting details about the inn, things to do in Portland, and so on. Finally, the rooms are clean, comfortable, and well stocked with all the necessary amenities; plus, the sheets are soooo nice.

We highly recommend this place and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Although lovely, the flowers in the Garden Room may be a little too much for most men :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We were on our way home and had found this charming victorian on the internet before we left. We were so happy with our choice. Our innkeepers were most helpful and the food was next level. We stayed in the Joseph Room and it was large with a private bath. The furnishings were top level and the large four poster bed made for a great sleep. The neighborhood was a treat to walk through and several blocks away we found restaurants of great quality, shops and a bar or too. We highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Try the Joseph Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redding-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We had not visited Portland before and so made a stop here for 2 nights on our way from BC to southern Oregon. Knowing nothing about the city, how lucky we were to have picked this gem to stay in. It is a beautifully restored large victorian mansion located on a quiet street in the historic district but just a stones throw from good eating places, shopping and the light rail into downtown Portland - the bonus being that it was the last stop in the 'free zone' so no fare to pay! Our room (Lavonna) was large and extremely comfortable and we loved the extra turret room with the all round seating which proved to be a great place to 'people watch' and read. Our hosts were absolutely charming and the information they provided on what to do in the area was extremely helpful. We opted for the breakfast package and it was delicious and beautifully presented in the formal dining room. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer - something we will remedy on our next visit to the Lion and the Rose.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed in the Avandale room, which is the smallest room in the house. The bed was big enough for my boyfriend and I and the furniture was Victorian in style, like the home. We were not offered any free breakfast, just beverages. You have to pay for breakfast, which is implied in the name bed and breakfast, so that was a downside. If you are going to buy breakfast you are better of going to the tin shed. The B&B owners were very nice, but somehow did not make my boyfriend and me feel very welcome. The upside And the downside to the Avandale room is the bathroom. The downside is the bath is not connected to the bedroom, so you have to leave your room to use the restroom or whatever. It's just across the hall, and private with a lock, and they provide fabulous robes so not the end of the world. On the upside the gigantic claw foot tub is great and we took baths both nights we were there. Cute play to stay, beautiful home, a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunibee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,744 reviews
Hotel Eastlund
#13 of 144 in Portland
416 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,837 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House

Address: 1810 N.E. 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £173 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic 1906 Queen Anne mansion, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, transports you to another time. The eight guest rooms (all with private baths) are each unique and emanate Victorian charm. Historic yet up to date, the rooms are air conditioned and equipped with telephones, cable TV, and high-speed wireless internet access. The parlors and dining room are comfortable, spacious, and decorated in period furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing