We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful introduction to Portland at the Lion and the Rose!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
Ranked #1 of 35 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful introduction to Portland at the Lion and the Rose!”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I took our first trip to Portland in October to visit our son who lives there. We were lucky enough to choose the Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B for our lodgings. Dusty and Steve and staff were gracious and informative regarding the area. The Inn is a historical home and the owners have kept to this theme and it is charming and interesting. They provide a great deal of information in the form of local maps and brochures as well as literature. We declined breakfast as it didn't fit in to our schedule but the kitchen is open and coffee, tea, drinks and snacks were always available. Dusty and Steve and staff were always willing to chat and share information with us when we needed it. Our room was lovely and comfortable and clean. We stayed in the Joseph room. We found the Inn and our room to be beautifully maintained. We will definitely return and look forward to it. I hated to come home!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    44
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
50
225
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, and although it was a little pricey, the hotel was very clean and the beds were very comfy. You can even buy the sheets you sleep on and they are very nice. Didn't have breakfast here, so can't comment on that. Bit awkward to park here as it's on a residential street, so you just have to park where you can. Very quiet though.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gonzocbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nites in mid Sept. We found Lion to be excellent in every way.

We had initially chosen Lion primarily for its location and its rather unique 'a la carte' pricing in which breakfast and even housekeeping can be optional and price adjusted accordingly. We omitted both yet were availed of morning coffee and replenished towels if necessary (therefore I can't comment on breakfasts there, but would be shocked if they weren't of the same high quality as other aspects of Lion). Location --as others have noted -- was convenient (10 min. walk max.) to Portland's excellent light rail , which will get you virtually anywhere you might want to go downtown and beyond.

The house seemed very well maintained and furnished fully faithful to Victorian decor. The adjacent Irvington residential neighborhood is delightful and good casual dining restaurants nearby. Our room had a wonderful 'Sleep Number' bed , w/ separately adjustable firmness for both of us.

The best bonus, however, was the helpfulness of the hosts. Most of our interaction was with Dusty. Having been established for quite some time he and his partners have developed a remarkably comprehensive set of printed sheets - for your taking -- that address virtually every logistical issue or place of interest in Portland of concern to a visitor. The city's Visitor Center might well be envious of the comprehensiveness of the material available at Lion. Add to that that Dusty will embellish upon the printed info. for as long as you care to listen.

All in all, we'd place Lion and the Rose in the top 5 % of all the B&B's that we've stayed in across America and in other countries, and I'm sure that's close to if not over 100.

Room Tip: Try to get the Lavonna room with its alcove in the corner turret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCMark45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladybugthepug
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This B&B is a great place if you're looking for a great value and location in Portland. Our hosts were very helpful and they've done an excellent job maintaining this historic site. Our room was perfect - beautifully decorated and adjacent to the 2nd floor back porch. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We recommend the Starina Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybugthepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed here in the Victorian Apartment on a college visit last spring. It was cozy and roomy at the same time. We really enjoyed it. You can walk to several good places to eat so we never got around to eating at the B&B. The MAX transport is a few blocks away and the host are very good at keeping their guest from feeling lost in Portland.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannah707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finger Lakes, New York
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

If you're a minimalist, or prefer contemporary accommodations, please stop reading and go about your life. But if you think staying in a Victorian B&B that's chock-full of nicknacks and decorated completely in the Victorian manner, read on.

Stayed here for two nights after arriving in OR for our first visit, and were not disappointed. Steve & Dusty are experienced and talented inkeepers, and maintain their home - which they share with us travelers - in fine style. The rooms are individually decorated; we stayed in the Joseph Room and found it fine for our needs. No television except for a tiny ~16" unit (maybe it was B&W, but we never turned it on), so if you need TV, be warned. Breakfasts were simply wonderful. Fresh fruit, biscuits or scones, eggs, meat, waffles/pancakes, juices and beverages; all very nicely prepared and presented.

The Lion & The Rose is all-Victorian, all the time. We knew that on the way in, and found it to be a pleasant alternative to other B&Bs we've stayed in. Victorian immersion!

If you want to be in the middle of the Irvington neighborhood, with easy access to downtown as well as to the Interstate, look here. Two caveats: (1) very limited street parking - hey, it's in the city, ya know?; and (2) steep stairs to the second floor rooms that would be difficult-to-impossible for anyone with mobility issues. There is one first-floor room, however, that has a great bath and would be an excellent choice.

Worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westlakeroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Definitely will be coming back. Lovely Victorian B&B, seems like your stepping back in time. Very helpful and welcoming hosts, I loved the Starina room I stayed in, very comfortable bed and sheets, lovely breakfasts. What more can I say?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 141 in Portland
379 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House

Property: Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
Address: 1810 N.E. 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic 1906 Queen Anne mansion, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, transports you to another time. The eight guest rooms (all with private baths) are each unique and emanate Victorian charm. Historic yet up to date, the rooms are air conditioned and equipped with telephones, cable TV, and high-speed wireless internet access. The parlors and dining room are comfortable, spacious, and decorated in period furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing