We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
Ranked #1 of 35 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Steve and Dusty are great host, they were most acomadating. Helped us with the lite rail and navogating downtown. Breakfast was yummy!!!!!! Loved our room, did not want to leave the turret sitting area. We'll be back!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    43
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
225
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Lion and the Rose offers a great convenient location for folks who have a car. Easy street parking, lots of food and coffee places to walk to, excellent service and good prices. We have stayed in 3 different rooms all very comfortable, clean, clean, clean and wonderful food.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari95116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

We were overnight guests and were very impressed. The location is really good - close to dining, shopping, and public transportation. The home is lovely and the decor and furnishings are really fantastic. The bed was comfortable and the linens were luxurious. Breakfast was very good and we enjoyed visiting with Steve. We will definitely return if we visit Portland again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

When in Portland, it helps to stay in a place that offers access to their Tri Met, rapid transit system as well as offering a quiet neighborhood to which to return. The Lion & the Rose is close to both I-5 and I-84 so it is easy to find. Only 4 blocks from the Lloyd Center, it is situated in the beautiful, old Irvington district, in northeast Portland. There a many wonderful restaurants to visit on foot, and a stroll around the neighborhood will fill your senses with fragrant floral scents from the many gorgeous trees and bushes. The B&B offers 6 rooms for guests and two parlors in which to chat, read or play cards. The owner, Steve, has great suggestions for dining and offers a sumptuous breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookworms2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed at the Lion and the Rose while stopping over in Portland for the night. The room was absolutely lovely; the house was immaculate, beautifully restored and furnished. The hosts were gracious and accommodating. The rate is a bit high, but despite that, we enjoyed our short stay very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atllpsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My son lives in this neighborhood so I have been going to Portland semi-regularly. After staying in 3 B and B's in the area in the past 6 months I enjoyed our stay here the most. It is in a convenient location. We stayed in the downstairs apartment. My husband was sick and they served him breakfast downstairs in our room. The breakfast was very good: orange juice, fresh fruit, bacon and an apple pancake with real maple syrup. Seconds was offered automatically. The Victorian house is in very, good condition as well as being in a nice part of town. Many shops and eating establishments nearby. Next time I go to Portland that will be my first choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the downstairs apartment not the main house. So we were able to enter from our own doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This is a very professionally run B&B. We did not have the breakfast service, however food,fruit, tea (many choices), coffee, cookies and snacks were available to us. Our apartment was 600 sq. ft. very clean, full size refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker.The bed was excellent, The location was very convenient and the staff could not have been more helpful.Usually I prefer a hotel to a B&B, but the Lion and Rose provided better service and amenities at a much better price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari95116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,689 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 141 in Portland
373 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House

Property: Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
Address: 1810 N.E. 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic 1906 Queen Anne mansion, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, transports you to another time. The eight guest rooms (all with private baths) are each unique and emanate Victorian charm. Historic yet up to date, the rooms are air conditioned and equipped with telephones, cable TV, and high-speed wireless internet access. The parlors and dining room are comfortable, spacious, and decorated in period furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing