We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 36 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Enjoyable and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We loved the Victorian home nicely restored. The decor, food and service were excellent. The hosts were friendly without being intrusive. Extremely helpful for those unfamiliar with Portland; lots of great maps, recommendations and ideas of things to do. We had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend for those who want a good launching point into the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    43
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
222
36
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pell Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight at the Lion & Rose. We really enjoyed walking around the neighborhood and having dinner at a local Cafe. Its in a wonderful neighborhood and it's really pleasant walking around and looking at all the other beautiful homes.
We stayed on the lower level because there were three in our party: me and my husband and our adult son. We had two separate bedrooms: both with queen beds. Also, we had a small kitchen with seating around the kitchen table for 6 which we couldn't take advantage of because of our short stay. There was a full size fridge and microwave too (I think).
Everything was clean clean clean. Wonderful lav with good shampoo. The beds have 3-inch memory foam-type mattress toppers. I thought this was heavenly. I have never had such a wonderful night sleep. For those that dont like memory foam, I would assume they can be removed at request.
Breakfast in the morning was wonderful- if a little small- but very tasty. We were offered second helpings but i wanted third helpings because the food was so good. I kept this to myself. Maybe it was my issue....
We were given a tour of the entire house and every room is beautiful. A few have ensuite baths. Honestly, you can't go wrong staying at the lion and the rose. Very nice place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mlesniak262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed a weekend in the Escapade Room... the room was ever-so-quaint and comfortable! Dusty and Steve are such wonderful hosts and the breakfast in the morning was superb!

We especially enjoyed the ambiance and Victorian themes throughout the house. We also got a brief history of the residence which we enjoyed. So many resources throughout of where to visit in Portland; not to mention the staff being helpful with our questions as well.

The rest of the staff were very friendly and we enjoyed chatting with other guests over breakfast. We certainly will stay here again the next time we visit the area!

Thanks again Dusty and Steve! Hope to see you guys again soon!

Larisa & Peter Kure
San Francisco, CA

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

My wife and I took a trip to Portland for a long weekend to get away from work for a few days and celebrate our respective birthdays and anniversary which all fall within a month of each other. We picked The Lion and the Rose because of the TripAdvisor ratings and the fact that they had a room with a king size bed open the time we were going to be in town.

The proprietors are very friendly and have a great understanding of the history of the house. We got a nice tour as we arrived. The furnishings are well done and the modern conveniences have been tastefully included without destroying the ambiance of this 107-year old Victorian house.

Breakfast was better than average, with an egg-based dish; a meat of some sort, fruit, and a muffin or crepe every morning. While neither of us have dietary restrictions, one of the other guests did and Dusty (who cooks the meals) was happy to make some gluten free muffins for that person's breakfast.

If I had to pick one shortcoming, it would be that noise from the street did make it into the room and I regularly found myself waking up when a truck drove by. We stayed in the Lavonna Room (which was easily the one that was closest to the street corner) and it may well be that other rooms don't have this problem. My wife didn't wake up at all, but I'm a lighter sleeper than she is. Otherwise we absolutely loved the place and would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife & I have stayed at the Lion & the Rose nine different times for a total of 46 nights. We obviously like this B & B. The inn keepers are friendly & professional; the staff is attentive; the service is good; it is always clean; the food is abundant & delicious. We will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Our 58th wedding anniversary trip to Oregon was delightful beginning with a superb stay at the Lion and the Rose in Portland. The building's beauty is matched only by the caring and competent staff who assisted us in our plans to visit the Japanese, Rose, and Chinese Gardens in the city. One of their excellent suggestions for dinner at nearby Milo's resulted in splendid food and service.

Dr. and Mrs. Mark C. Nagy
Deerfield,IL

Room Tip: The Rose Room is on the main floor off one of the two parlors. The electric fireplace adds to the dé...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markcnagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My daughter just had her wedding at the Lion and the Rose yesterday.
I would have to give them 10 stars. Everything went wonderful. Steve and Dusty were helpful all the way. They suggested Helen Bernhard Bakery on Broadway and it was the best. We had wedding and reception and if you are planing an intimate wedding this is the place.

We rented two additional rooms for changing and the entire cost, including reception was very reasonable and Dusty and Steve were very accommodating on time.

Everyone was amazed. Beautiful setting. The food was perfect and using their china and stem ware was such a plus over paper plates.

Friends at work who had or had been to weddings recently were amazed.

This is the place, if you have plans for a wedding or out of town quests. The parking is, of course limited but it is worth the trouble.

I'll post pictures soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn

Property: Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn
Address: 1810 N.E. 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic 1906 Queen Anne mansion, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, transports you to another time. The eight guest rooms (all with private baths) are each unique and emanate Victorian charm. Historic yet up to date, the rooms are air conditioned and equipped with telephones, cable TV, and high-speed wireless internet access. The parlors and dining room are comfortable, spacious, and decorated in period furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing