We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four star accommodations with very helpful staff conveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
Ranked #1 of 35 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Four star accommodations with very helpful staff conveniently located”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Victorian style accommodations adjacent to historic district of beautiful older homes. Morning walks were great. Very clean and neat. Staff very helpful as to what to see and do. Breakfast service was a little overkill.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeed9593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    43
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
225
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed one night at this great B & B wish it had been longer. Our hosts were wonderful and extremely organized. They had maps for just about everywhere you wanted to go. The room was great with a lovely bathroom. Nice to have body wash shampoo etc readily available. The kitchen was open with hot and cold beverages available 24/7 and even a fridge for your leftovers. Fruit and snacks were always available. Dusty prepared a wonderful breakfast with special attention to my and my friends dietary needs.Great place and I hope to stay again. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Spent one night in Portland here and fell in love! What a great B&B! Everything was perfect! Tea was available any time as well as cookies for a relaxing treat in the garden.they took care of my dietary restrictions without fail! Pleasant stay and cannot wait to plan another trip to Portland!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and i recently stayed here from May 14 - 23. We stayed in the Escapade and the Starina Rooms. We were in two different rooms because when making the reservation for so many nights, it was recommended that we stay in those rooms instead of a much smller room that was available for the entire time. While both were extremely comfortable, we preferred the Escapade. The breakfasts were so yummy and the easy availability of snacks was quite nice, although harmful to diets! Having Steve,one of the owners, to join us for breakfast each morning was delightful. The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated. Having light housekeeping was just fine and being able to opt out of breakfast (and the nominal cost) when schedules conficted was also nice. Being able to leave our luggage at the B&B on our last day until our flight was very helpful. I absolutely loved the neighborhood. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Sleep Quality was given 4 instead of 5 stars because the second bed was a double instead of a king a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cecilia056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Lion and the Rose B & B appears to be a labor of love. The decor is firmly Victorian, but not so fussy that one crashes into furniture on the way to breakfast, which is, by the way, very good. There is lots of information about house, which was built by a prosperous brewer, and maps and guidebooks for Portland freely available. One of the owners eats breakfast with the guests, which is a nice touch.

Parking is on the street, which could be a challenge, but we always found a space within one block. We stayed in the Rose Room, on the first floor, which had the advantage of not requiring stairs. However, one must climb a few steps to get to the front door and it wasn't clear whether a ramp was available to the great wraparound porch. There is nicely maintained rose garden, very appropriate to Portland, the Rose City.

This B&B has several ways to reduce costs. one option is to skip breakfast, which I don't recommend -- it's quite good. The other is to opt for "lite housekeeping"' which basically means that your bed is not made. I can live with that, since they check the TP and replace towels.

A in all, a nice intro to a very cool city.

Room Tip: if you need a first floor room, ask for the Rose Room. it also has a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent two nights in the Rose Room on the main floor, which had two appealing features over some of the other rooms. One is the bathtub, which is something I enjoy for a relaxing soak at the end of a busy day. The other is the quiet nights in this room. Our friends staying upstairs in a lovely bright front corner room complained of the noise during the very early hours of the morning.
The dining room was beautifully set for breakfast. We thought the breakfasts were fair value, but would have preferred larger servings rather than having the leftovers passed from a plate placed at one end of the table.
The home is in a lovely neighborhood and very close to shopping and restaurants and public transit. Very convenient location. Steve and Dusty provide maps and an excellent video tour.

Room Tip: The Rose room is quieter than some others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, WA.
Level Contributor
298 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

our room was front and center on the second floor. It was very noisy, as you are right close to the street with Broadway one block away. Garbage trucks started at 4 a.m. And many sirens and people leaving from the bars at 2 a.m. The rooms are lovely, but lighted from the outside lights on the house until 11 P.M., which makes your room like Christmas tree. The bed was very high and you needed steps to get into it. Not recommended for children or elderly folks. It was quite comfortable.
the bathrooms are all in what used to be closets, so very, very small. No place to really put much of anything. However, it is a quaint Victorian home built in 1905. it is on the historic list and the surrounding historic homes in the neighborhood are fun to view. Parking is on the street. restaurants, bars and Lloyds Center is close by.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back of the house because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandmaGoldwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Inn at Northrup Station
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 141 in Portland
372 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House

Property: Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
Address: 1810 N.E. 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic 1906 Queen Anne mansion, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, transports you to another time. The eight guest rooms (all with private baths) are each unique and emanate Victorian charm. Historic yet up to date, the rooms are air conditioned and equipped with telephones, cable TV, and high-speed wireless internet access. The parlors and dining room are comfortable, spacious, and decorated in period furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing