We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas at Lion & Rose was wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 36 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Christmas at Lion & Rose was wonderful”
Reviewed 29 December 2009

This was our FIFTH stay with Dusty and Steve at the Lion and Rose. It was our second Christmas with them (family in Portland with no extra beds). We had the first floor Rose Room for my 92 year old Mom - perfect. We again stayed in Starina - darker but with more space to move around without bumping into each other. In addition to the beautifully decorated public areas, our rooms had Christmas trees and holiday trimmings added. What a pleasure to come to breakfast each day to different arrangements of lovely china, crystal and silver. They must have 10 sets of beautiful dishes to always have such lovely, different arrangements. And the food!!!! Breakfast begins with warm muffins, mixed fruit, juice, coffee and (for me - they always remember my diet coke!). Then Steve comes out and announces the HOT BUFFET. Always a choice of three items - eggs cooked with spinach or peppers etc, banana pancakes or waffles and then a meat item - sausage, bacon etc.

The neighborhood is lovely and there are excellent dining possibilities within walking distance - we loved Milo's.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TANGERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    43
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
225
36
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, CT
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Maybe a little too Victorian for my tastes, but a wonderfully restored turn-of-century palatial house, well decorated, with friendly hosts and delicious, gourmet breakfasts

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creswell, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We booked two rooms at this B&B at the last minute, taking advantage of one of the online specials. I had walked by this and always admired the architecture of the building - what a treat to finally get to go inside and stay here.

We booked the Joseph and Lavonna rooms and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The innkeepers provide wonderful service- even after our flight was delayed and we did not get in until 1 am. Dustin was so nice that you would never know it was an odd hour or that he had waited up for us, giving us directions and making sure we knew where everything was. He gave us a tour of the place, and it was beautifully decorated for the holidays.

I only wish that we had been able to stay longer and really enjoy the neighborhood. The rooms were very private and quiet, and though the bathrooms were small (a necessity since the building is on the historic registry and cannot be substantially altered, and originally these buildings all had only one bathroom at the time of construction), they were very well appointed with marble and lovely fixtures, handmade soaps and wonderful shampoo, lotion, etc. What a treat after a trip in a third world country!

The building has wireless internet and it is located only steps away from a great shopping/restaurant district. Street parking is easy for rental cars, and you are centrally located in Portland.

I would definitely come back and wish we'd had time to sample the breakfast. I could smell it being cooked as we woke up in the morning and it smelled delicious.

Thank you so much, Steve and Dustin, for showing us so much thoughtfulness and consideration, from every little touch in the rooms (even the writing pads by the old-style phones are beautiful and ordered from a special stationery shop) to your patience in waiting up for us. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjonak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tacoma
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Amazing! Our stay was for our honeymoon, and we had the best time of our life! Located next to just about everything there is to do in Portland. The service was great! Dusty and Steve were amazing, and they provided a whole computer presentation and printed maps of the surrounding area with multiple locations marked for things to do. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was absolutely terrific in the mornings. Absolutely fantastic place to have our honeymoon.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uhliou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2009

We came here to the Lion and Rose from Santa Fe based on the recommendation of a friend who often stays here. We couldn't be more pleased with the place, location. warm victorian rooms and mansion, plus Steve and his wonderful staff. Ten stars in our book.

Tom & RoseMarie from Santa Fe, NM

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KE1R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2009

I stayed here when visiting Portland for a trade show. I can’t really recommend the Lion and Rose more highly, a good location with excellent breakfast great rooms and a generally exceptionally helpful. Even went out of their way to help with some shipping issues. This was a relaxed location during a potentially stressed week.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Lion and the Rose

There are no words on which to draw
to portray the peace found in this home.
It flows from every floorboard,
and is encased in every dome.

It wisps throughout each doorway.
and surrounds you by the fire.
It glances from the portraits
and offers rest when you retire.

There are stories told of days gone by
their words lingering in the air.
I truly love this stately home,
and the peace I enjoyed while there.

S. Mancor

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mssheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn

Property: Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn
Address: 1810 N.E. 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic 1906 Queen Anne mansion, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, transports you to another time. The eight guest rooms (all with private baths) are each unique and emanate Victorian charm. Historic yet up to date, the rooms are air conditioned and equipped with telephones, cable TV, and high-speed wireless internet access. The parlors and dining room are comfortable, spacious, and decorated in period furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing