We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We recommend the Lion and the Rose!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
Ranked #1 of 34 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2010

This is a beautiful Victorian Inn. The bedroom and bath were comfortable, clean, and beautifully decorated (and air conditioned, it was in the 90's the week we were in Portland). Hosts and Inn owners were friendly and cooperative. The gardens were in bloom and lovely. We walked to restaurants and stores. A free light rail line is four blocks away. We will return. Jack and Carol Carpenter

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackson1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2010

Beautiful restored victorian with outstanding amenities and guest services. Decor is magnificent and could be a movie set; yet it is warm and comfortable, including comfortable sofas in the common living areas. Even the patio and wrap-around porch furniture is comfortable. Each of the guest rooms is distinct and lovely. First class linens, china and gourmet breakfasts. Especially appreciated Inn developed local maps and tips on what to see and do in the Portland area and in the Irvington Historical neighborhood. Easy street parking. Proprietors and their staff are charming, gracious and exceedingly helpful. Especially appreciated access to guest laptop and internet, and open access to beverages throughout the day. A perfect base for exploring the greater Portland area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ResultsInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We just enjoyed our fourth stay at Steve, Dusty & Russ's extraordinary B&B and see no reason to even try another place. We've stayed other places in Portland and there is just no comparison. Our last four trips to Portland found us comfortably and extravagently ensconced in this charming, quiet, perfectly located home. And there's no way to describe the ambience at the breakfast table without experiencing it, and no way to describe the superior meals that Steve prepares. Can't recommend it highly enough.
Sharon & Dave Wright
The Alaskan Prospectors

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon99708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I was referred to The Lion and the Rose due to a scheduling glitch elsewhere, so our interactions were off to an awkward start. However, the innkeeper Dusty was very reassuring, and I appreciated that he acknowledged the frustration I was feeling from the glitch in my well-laid plans. While they could not accommodate breakfast before my early morning conference (I had to be there at 7AM on a Saturday!) he assured me they would set out self-serve breakfast foods for us to choose from. I also appreciated that they honored the price quoted from the other establishment, even though it was lower than their typical rate.
I am happy that we chose to stay at the Lion and the Rose, as it was truly a pleasant place to be on the east side of Portland! The room was very clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The bathroom was impeccable too. Nice touches with a hair dryer, bathrobes, and good bath products were unexpected and made it feel even more inviting - like my needs would be taken care of.
The only issue we encountered was noise from people on the street, as it is very close to restaurants and social establishments. When we finally closed the window (open for fresh air) it wasn't too noisy to sleep.
I wish we could have stayed a second night so we could linger on the porch, in the living room, or back yard a little - and to enjoy the breakfast that is served at a reasonable hour!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaintAnna80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Like a hidden treasure, the Lion and the Rose B & B sits in the most beautiful historical location in Portland - It offers every convenience for a weary traveler! Perfect location for stepping out on foot - wonderful food, shopping close by. The Innkeepers, Steve and Dusty run this majestic B & B like a well oiled machine - Chef extrordinare Steve sets an elegant, well-appointed table for your every breakfast desire. He's a terrific cook - food is wonderful with menu changing daily. Rooms are beautiful and super clean - your every need is taken care of with the greatest of ease. Our 16 year old daughter needed to spend the first night with us ~ a special bed was set up in the "Princess Suite" for her ~ we requested the Lavonne Room which has a lovely circle atrium room attached to our suite. She felt like a Princess and we loved having her with us :) I am a very light sleeper and although this suite was located on the front of the home ~ I slept like a baby!! No worries!
We loved breakfast to begin our days, relaxing in the big wicker porch swing on the wrap-around porch in the evenings, smelling the gorgeous roses in the garden as we pass by several times a day, the free well-stocked fridge with drinks of your choice, lots of fresh fruit and the little hershey kisses to grab as you sail out the door.
We felt like FAMILY ~ Thanks for a delightful visit!!
The Carmichael Clan
p.s. Don't worrry about the review from the lady who was "MAD" about this and that ~
some people can be very rude...YOU WILL LOVE YOUR VISIT ~

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Great location outside downtown...but easily accessible by free tram. Beautiful, meticulous B&B. We stayed in the Victorian apartments (formally the basement) with plenty of space and beautiful kitchen (no stove/burners) and bathroom. Easily sleeps a big family. Only downside was that Breakfast was not included for the Victorian apartments (but we did have a kitchen).

We would easily make this our first choice on any return trip to Portland.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Booked at the last minute - what a wonderful discovery. Beautiful room. Gracious hosts. Great neighborhood for walking and dining. Wish we could have lingered.


Merrill37212

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrill37212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel Eastlund
#12 of 144 in Portland
403 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House

Address: 1810 N.E. 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £172 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic 1906 Queen Anne mansion, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, transports you to another time. The eight guest rooms (all with private baths) are each unique and emanate Victorian charm. Historic yet up to date, the rooms are air conditioned and equipped with telephones, cable TV, and high-speed wireless internet access. The parlors and dining room are comfortable, spacious, and decorated in period furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing