We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
380
45
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
380
45
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bvictorian stylegracious hostsbed and breakfastporch swingbasement apartmentother gueststhought of everythingprivate bathne portlandeach morninggreat neighborhoodbreakfast was deliciousquiet neighborhoodpublic transportationsleep numberwithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2011

The Lion and the Rose offers travelers a piece of history. It's a picturesque Victorian home that has pictures of the original owners above the fireplace; inviting guests to be part of the family. Our stay could not have been better. Everything was period appropriate with care given to offer each guest a relaxing, friendly visit. The innkeepers are top-notch.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki34023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

The hubby and I went up to check out Portland for a few days the beginning of December, and we enjoyed every bit of our stay at the Lion and The Rose. Steve and Dusty were both sweethearts and fabulous hosts. We loved everything about the place. The home itself is amazing, and our room, the Starina was a perfect choice for us. Cozy, quiet (upstairs at the end of the hall), and the decor was rich and warm...no floral stuff going on in this room, and the breakfast (winter time) was adequate. But best of all, was the value. We did a price comparison with many of the decent hotels in Portland, and the Lion & the Rose was was less expensive than any of them...even the Holiday Inn! We'll be back....

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovemychickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My husband/coworker and I stayed at the Lion and Rose for a 5-day business trip. We were incredibly comfortable. I went to my meeting well-rested and refreshed every day. We were close to the public transportation, downtown and a number of good restaurants. Steve and Dusty were gracious hosts and a pleasure to know. Our room was beautiful and everything worked well - fantastic for a hundred year-old historic building.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eudemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Worth it for the breakfasts alone! But apart from that, Steve & Dusty have paid great attention to detail, from their welcoming tour to the little touches in the rooms. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Staying at the Lion and the Rose, we felt as though we were entering into a world of grace and charm that has been sadly forgotten in our fast food, harried, slick society. The room was delightful, the food also was impecable. Not to mention how happy we were to be lucky enough to catch this beautiful lady in her holiday dress. The Lion and the Rose is truly a special place and a special find. Thank you Steve and Dusty.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurencobalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews