We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Porland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #24 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I love the color theme of the room, interior decoration is modern and elegant. I had a spacious living room. The bed is very comfortable. Bathroom is spacious and nice but no bathtub. Service is prompt and friendly. My room is very quiet at night. Complementary water is provided. Breakfast is delicious. Concierge is quite helpful on direction. It is also at a great location. Macy and Nordstrom is right nextby. There are many good coffee shops nearby as well. A must stay hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room facing outside if you want some city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,093 - 2,099 of 3,004 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is our second time staying at the Nines, in Portland. We have stayed both times on the club level, which is well worth the extra cost. The service, the food, the drinks and the atmosphere in the club lounge are unparalleled. It offers guests an alternative place to relax and enjoy their time away. We especially enjoyed the small bites and cocktails prior to heading out for our dinner reservation.

Our room, this time, felt slightly upgraded from our last room (which was also beautiful). We had reserved a king bed, city view room and we were given a very large room on the quieter side of the hotel, which had some nice expansive views facing toward the river and the bridges. The room featured much more floor space, dark hardwood floors, a larger closet, and bigger bathroom. Needless to say, we were thrilled with this room. It was quiet, dark at night and had a very comfortable bed. We slept great, which isn't always a given on the first night in a hotel.

All of the service, from the front desk staff (Stevie, at check-in) to the concierge, attendants in the lounge, valet and the baggage handlers, where incredibly friendly and efficient. We never waited long for anything and everyone was glad to help.

As we left, the valet said "please come back and stay with us again!", and I quickly replied, "we most definitely will!". And, we will.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dollface-30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stays at the Nines! I am at your service if I can be of any future assistance and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Fred Kleisner, GM
fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

My wife and I recently stayed 3 nights in a one bedroom suite and were a bit dissappointed. We paid $489. nightly plus taxes for which we expected top notch lodging

The Good:

Room sizes.
The views.
Helpful service.


The not so good:

The bathroom layout,lighting, tub and over tub shower very poor.
Not as clean as expected. Trays and left over food left in hallways for two days.
We had club access. Food was marginal in the club.
Paid $10.00 for four hours of music on our TV.

To be considered a four star plus hotel, we believe it is the little things. There were too many of the little things missing in addition to my comments above.

Gordon G.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gordonG999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

I appreciate your comments and I apologize that you did not have a more pleasant experience. I have followed up with my team in regard to the issues you described and we will use this as an opportunity to improve for our future guests. I hope we are able to welcome you back and please feel free to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Fred Kleisner, GM
fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We fell in love with the historic building, the artistic decor, the restaurant and the knowledgeable staff. The attention to every detail made our experience at the Nines unique and memorable. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coffeesmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

My Wife and I live in Ashland, a 4 hour road trip to Portland is a great weekend getaway. We have stayed at several downtown hotels, and will certainly be returning to the Nines. We really enjoyed the nines weekend experience.

We used the valet for our car, and then proceeded to check in on the 8th floor, we were greeted and then checked in quickly. The attention to detail is excellent, the front desk person walked around the counter to hand us our keys and greeted us again and said welcome to the nines.

We had a corner room on the 9th floor that was very spacious and very clean. Bed was great, and the bathroom was huge. We had fresh cut flowers in our room as well.

Pros:

Location Location Location
Good Value
Excellant Restaurant & Bar (Check out the bloody mary bar on the weekends)
Great Staff and Concierge
No house keeping carts

Cons:

Nothing except for us non city people, parking is really expensive!

Enjoy a weekend at the Nines, you will enjoy it

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

After a long haul flight a smiling face and efficient staff were on stand by. The room was perfect, large and beautifully decorated. The interior ice blue colours were very relaxing. The house keeping kept it this way all week. Thank you.

You can pay extra for an up-grade to the 12th floor. This allows for breakfast and cocktails through out the day, enjoyed in cosy surroundings - similar to a private club. One day we accidentally found ourselves on the 12th floor. When we said we had not paid for this, the lovely Laurie invited us in and treated us to cocktails and breakfast making our trip to the 12th floor most enjoyable. It was a real treat for us. I explained it was my husband's Birthday the following day, both Laurie and Patrick at reception sent chocolates on a white plate with Happy Birthday written in chocolate and a card. The attention to detail made us feel very special. The gym was fantastic, with white towels, water, fresh fruit and newspaper. The gym is a must if you are eating out in Portland, Oregon for 8 days.

We had dinner and breakfast only once in the hotel and the attention to detail was fantastic. The portions were very large and nothing was a problem. The location is superb right next door to Macy's. The Tri Met (street car, bus, light rail) $26 for 5 days , great value and takes you to the four corners of Portland, even to and from the airport. We loved it and most of all loved the people, very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philomenap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Luxury never felt so comfortable. The Nines 5 Star hotel in the center of shopping district in downtown Portland, Oregon is a pleasurable experience from the friendly valet to the courteous check-out. Special attention is abound from familiar faces of visits from years past, including Judy from the Club Lounge, Mark in Valet and a new face but another outstanding employee is Lea at the front desk. This is our third annual visit to the Nines and we have already booked for next year. Aside from the outstanding hotel customer service the two restaurants at the Nines are polar opposites in ambience and dining yet equally as interesting and enjoyable. In the summer months, if you're lucky enough to get a seat (and sunshine), the rooftop deck is a unique, one of a kind experience in the center of Portland.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HHJ1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 146 in Portland
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#42 of 146 in Portland
81 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#4 of 146 in Portland
1,771 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 146 in Portland
2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £176 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing