We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful choice, great for a special occasion or business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #17 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A wonderful choice, great for a special occasion or business trip”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

If your travels bring you to Portland (and they should, even if you don't have any reason to be here, like us!) - you need to check out The Nines.

Yes, the design is interesting, and as others have commented, the lively atrium offers a good restaurant scene. But we were delighted with the asian-oriented cuisine in the rooftop restaurant/bar - Departures. Try the Shu-mai and the maki if you get a chance. Our waitress offered to round up the traditional 3 piece order to 4, so we didn't have to share. Unorthodox, but welcome! The outdoor patio on the 15th floor had a spectacular view, (supplemented in mid-February with a dozen heatlamps). Even if you don't stay here, it is worth the trip!

Rooms were comfortable, the beds were great... but what stands out is:

Surprise - the Service. From the first helpful staff member at the hotel entrance, to the front desk to the concierge to the restaurants, everyone had a wonderful, youthful attitude you don't often encounter. There was a palpable enthusiasm you don't often encounter in a downtown hotel...and it was universal.

It's built on top of what is now a Macy's, so the hotel meeting space starts on the 6th floor, with the lobby on 8. You can walk to everything in downtown Portland (or grab a streetcar going in any direction, including the airport, so you could have a carless weekend). The valet parking is a necessary because of the downtown center-city location, but the staff does work hard to keep things moving. (Note, there is economical self parking nearby if you don't mind a short walk - the City of Portland has really done a lot to keep this city moving!)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to recommend our property! We value your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon for another wonderful experience.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,622
    647
    242
    104
    60
See reviews for
419
975
127
736
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My stay at the Nines surpassed my expectations. The room created a relaxing experience with the spaciousness, decor and cleanliness. The staff were efficient, friendly and most professional. I had the opportuinty to lunch at the Urban Farmers restaurant located in the atrium. The food and service was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the property as a whole and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Extremely well situated. Very nicely appointed; beautiful, large atrium/lobby. SERVICE is paramount here, much more so than almost anywhere else. We equated the level of service to some of the nicer hotels in the metropolitan cities in Italy. Virtually everyone we encountered at The Nines, the receptionists, the concierges, even room maintenance personnel doing turndowns in the evenings, were extremely kind, considerate and very helpful. Some went to great lengths to ensure our complete satisfaction. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when we go back to Portland again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
It is a joy to read your recent review of the Nines. Our staff strives to provide exceptional service to all of our guests and I am pleased to learn that you experienced this first hand. I appreciate your compliments of our team and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Excellent hotel with great service. I have stayed at the nines on many occasions and I am never disappointed. Great beds and spacious rooms with nice bathrooms. Great central location in downtown Portland and most things are walking distance from the hotel. Only thing I would be cautious of is the urban farmers. It is a nice steakhouse but for the price of the meal you can find a lot of other steakhouses with much more of a fine dining ambiance. This is a nice restaurant but is in an atrium in the middle of a hotel with simple tables and lights etc. Not a fine dining location in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelT2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, however, I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations at the Urban Farmer. I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Went to Portland for the first time. I looked for a nice hotel Downtown and decided on The Nines. It could not have been in a better location, it was right in the center of town! The Hotel has History in Portland. It was a Department Store building at one time and as I understand it, the center of the building (from the 8th floor up) was hollowed out to make a Center Atrium for the Hotel. They did a great Job, as the Hotel is Beautiful.

We stayed 2 nights in a room that faced the Atrium. It was well decorated and exactly what we expected for such a nice hotel. On our 3rd night, we switched rooms to a corner outside room, which was Awesome... huge room, with a city view!

The Staff was polite and extremely helpful, including the front desk staff, and even the phone operators! We also used their Concierge service and booked a City tour which I highly recommend.... very informative and well worth the $50 per person (it was a 3 hour tour from 2p-5pm).

The hotel is a SPG (Sheraton) Luxury Collection which is the top of the line for SPG, and The Nines fits the bill, very upscale and trendy.

On our next visit to Portland, we will definitely be staying at The Nines!

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank computerkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased we were able to provide an exceptional experience in all of the outlets that our property has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Portland.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Family Thanksgiving brings us to Portland for many, many years. The Nines has become our hotel of choice. A wonderful place. The Urban Farmers restaurant has become another family tradition ... family dinner the day after Thanksgiving with my sister, brother, nieces, nephews, spouses and special friends. The wine, the foie gras, the steaks are incredibly good; the service top notch. Special mention to Ryan, who serviced us with knowledge and wit again this year.

Travel plans for 2014 ... The Nines, Portland again this year.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner, city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPG-Gold-Lifetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for making us your home away from and thank you for sharing your compliments. Our staff strives to provide personalized service to all guests and we are pleased to learn you and your family have experienced this consistently. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again next Thanksgiving!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

we stayed 3 nights at the nines, after a friend recommended it, and we loved it! The location is great (on top of Macy's and across the street from pioneer place mall). The room was beautiful, and quiet (we were on the 14th floor). The staff were all super friendly and helpful. There is a great restaurant (the Urban Farmer) which we ate breakfast in and had late night snacks and drinks, on the lobby floor. And, on the top floor is another great restaurant (Departure) where we went for dinner and happy hour, and has the best views of the city. There really isn't a reason the leave the hotel!

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jettsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your rave review! I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our property throughout and that our team provided an exceptional experience. It would be my pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,360 reviews
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#19 of 141 in Portland
896 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 141 in Portland
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Property: The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing