We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first choice for every trip to Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #24 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have stayed here twice now, and love this hotel, the staff and the ammenitites. We always opt for the upgrade to the Club Level. If you need to eat out while in Portland but dont have big dinner plans--seriously consider the Club Level. Large continental breakfast, snacks mid-day, afternoon appetizers and evening desserts--beer, wine and standard cocktails included!

Room Tip: We asked for a room facing Pioneer square. Loved it--and love the Club Level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing the Nines as your preferred hotel in Portland! We are pleased we are able to provide an exceptional experience time and time again and we look forward to welcoming you back for years to come. Cheers to the Club Level!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,666 - 1,672 of 2,881 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

One of the most impressive properties I’ve had the pleasure of staying is The Nines in Portland, Oregon. It is always kept in immaculate condition, its stylish, sophisticated and the service is nothing short of spectacular!

The staff is professional, accommodating, detail oriented, thoughtful, attentive, warm and gracious. A few of the employees who have always displayed exemplary service are Sean Meyer, Michael Brewer, Steve Schneider, Quincy Hickson, Kevin Wells and Judy Nudo. Apparently the General Manager Fred Kleisner along with the other management staff do a great job of bringing the best out of all their employees.

L.Harris - Miami, FL

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Mr. Harris,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the world of TripAdvisor! We appreciate your loyalty to the Nines and to SPG as one of our valued SPG Platinum Members.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again for years to come. I am at your service if there is anything at all I may assist with.

Regards,
Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Being from Portland, I don't usually stay in hotels here. However, a few friends and I decided to try something different and stay downtown to enjoy the festivities for New Years. We booked a deluxe king room so we could have a view of the outdoors, many rooms here look inward toward an atrium which can be neat as well if you don't mind looking out over an interior restaurant. Portland has got to be the only major city I know that doesn't do fireworks for New Years! So, I wasn't disappointed to see the room didn't have that much of a view through the single small skinny window. The room was functional, albeit a bit small, and there was a nice couch next to the window that double as another bed. The main King size bed was very heavenly.

From the female voice in the elevator to the friendly front desk staff, I couldn't have been more satisfied with my stay here. The mini bar even came stocked with a "family planning" kit! Overall the Nines met all of my expectations.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a room either on an SPG floor, or at the lobby level (8th floor?)so another elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kekai_Cone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to be our guest. I am pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations! Please visit again soon for another weekend staycation in the city.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I surprised my husband with two night at this hotel for his 30th birthday, it was our first time staying in Portland and we were very pleased with this hotel. The décor was very modern, tasteful, and inviting. The customer service (from the time I made the reservation until checkout) was excellent! We had a King bed, Corner view room, on the 14th floor. Bed was very comfortable, room location was great. One of the nights we could her some distant music from the restaurant above, but nothing loud enough to be disturbing. We ate dinner at Departures which was a great experience. The food was delicious, drinks were great, the prices are reasonable, but the portions are smaller so you do have to order more than one plate.
The location of the hotel was perfect. We walked everywhere downtown, but it is also close to the Max light rail for faster transportation. We will definitely stay here again next time we are visiting Portland!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaceyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review! I am pleased that you were able to enjoy the property throughout and that our team was able to provide an exceptional experience. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Absolutely beautifully furnished rooms made us feel like royalty. This is a dog-friendly hotel and they pampered "Spot" about as much as us humans. For this stay we were in 1456, a standard cateogry, our previous stay was a deluxe corner which was huge and worth the added cost. For being a "Luxury Collection" property within the Starwood family, you can't find a more reasonably priced comparable room within the same grade.

Room Tip: Spring for the larger, deluxe category if you have a few extra dollars to spend, but if not, a stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4dawgswoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for choosing the Nines for your return trip to Portland! I am pleased to learn that you (and “Spot”) enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you both again soon!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there for New Years. A lot of great things: Amazing location, beautiful facility, and overall the staff were good. I always consider the difference in facility from a 4 to 5 star hotel can be small and the service becomes the differentiator. We were not impressed with the "guest services" group.

One of the room "amenities" was a docking station to play music off your iphone in your room. We both have iphone 5 phones and the jack was for an iPhone 4. The 5 has been out for months so we figured they would have adapters. We first called and checked to see if they had an iPhone 4 to 5 adapter. They didn't and they seemed to act like it was strange we would ask. No biggie, whatever...

We then pop some champagne (New Years after all) and I call to see if they have a bottle stopper we could use; they provide glasses, openers, etc so a stopper wasn't out of reach. I called and ask and it was a very direct, curt "NO" like a "why the f are you asking" tone. A polite "I am sorry we don't but there is a Rite Aid around the corner that could..." would have been far more appropriate for a "5 star" hotel. The Ritz has a smoother approach to service for comparison.

Other staff were friendly and overall things like the location can't be beat in Portland. They did give us late check out which for the day after New Years was great! I would call this place a "4+" just not quite a "5" yet...



Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sbain76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for choosing the Nines and for sharing your recent experience. I apologize that we fell short of your expectations and please know that I have shared your feedback with the team as we hope to improve for you as well as our future guests. Please let me know if we may have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future to redeem your current expectations.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have stayed at the Nines twice. The first time was a few years ago for a girls weekend with my best friend, when we went to see Katy Perry at the Rose Garden. The 2nd time was with my husband for a one night stay to see family in Portland. I have stayed in several of the 4 and 5 star properties downtown and the Nines is my favorite. Reasons why:

1) Location- it's located right by Pioneer Square above the Macy's. If you like to shop, just take the elevator downstairs! Walking distance to everything. It was also easy to take the streetcar to the concert.
2) Great rooms- the rooms are stylish and fun and very clean. The beds are comfortable, rooms are quiet.
3) Restaurant- We love Urban Farmer on the main lobby floor. The food is excellent- raw oysters, sliders, deviled eggs. It's so nice to have a local farm to table concept restaurant in the building. They also have a great common lounge area with couches and comfy chairs. My husband's parents came by and got cocktails and food and just hung out.
4) Fitness center- they have a very nice fitness center if you are a business traveler or just someone that likes to exercise daily. It's not your typical hotel gym with one elliptical, one treadmill and one bike. It has several of each, plus free weights, a stretching area and Nautilus type machines. Also, if you like to run, just go down to the River walk for a great route to run along the river.

The only issue we experienced when we were there was that the valet parking took a long time to retrieve our car, but it was around Xmas and I think the restaurant and downtown in general were extremely busy. In the future, I would call the valet from the room before you come down to get the process started.

In the future, the Nines will always be my first choice. It's a fun place to stay with great amenities.

Room Tip: I like the rooms with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetheLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

We appreciate you sharing your compliments of the Nines and it will be our pleasure to welcome you again for your next escape in the city.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,744 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 144 in Portland
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £173 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing