We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a grand "Boutique" hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #24 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 January 2014

the experience at the Nines was amazing...great location in the heart of Portland...this is the hotel for anyone who appreciates the finer hotels...the staff was to perfection as well as the attention to service...
the rooms: are all very well decorated giving a boutique hotel experience on a grand scale...of course all have the heavenly beds and showers...the room service for breakfast was great...the pancakes are a must try...
the location: is situated in the heart of downtown giving you access to great high end shopping and very close to the boardwalk for walking or running..
the lobby bar: must try as they pride themselves on cocktails made in house...they also have a huge selection on all liquors...a must stop before heading out on the town

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dflores1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your rave review! We appreciate your kind words in regards to our service and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the historic aspects of the Meier & Frank building, fashion, cocktails and all. We hope to welcome you again in the future for another grand “Boutique” experience.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,669 - 1,675 of 2,890 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

I have been staying at The Nines weekly for business for over a year. While I can assure you that the location and amenities are every bit as good as the other reviewers have stated, the staff at The Nines really make it feel like a home away from home. Nina, Matt, and the rest of the valets greet every morning with a smile. Judy in the lounge and Kyan at concierge always go the extra mile to fix a problem or help me relax after a long day. James in Departure regularly mixes up great drinks. The manager's office even babysat my dog once, when she had been barking and disturbing other guests. Across the board, The Nines staff truly has a passion for making their guests' stays as enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: Exterior room on the east side to catch a glimpse of Mt Hood
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased we are able to provide an exceptional experience time and time again and we look forward to welcoming you back for years to come.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I brought my family to The Nines for a few days over New Years. It's a really nice hotel and a great base from which to enjoy Portland. The staff was excellent. All were helpful. Josie was awesome in helping us with things to do in Portland - researching and calling us with restaurant recommendations when we were out and about. I will definitely stay at The Nines whenever I'm in Portland.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to be our guest during this recent holiday. I am pleased to learn that our team provided you and your family with an exceptional experience throughout and we look forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Portland!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I booked at The Nines as part of a getaway weekend for my mom's 65th birthday. We did one night in the city and one night in the country so she could see both sides of the Portland area. This was her first trip to Portland and I wanted it to be very special. What I did not expect was the incredible VIP treatment that we received thanks to Charissa. She heard our story and immediately upgraded our room. After we'd been out sightseeing, we came back to a bottle of wine, handmade chocolates and a sweet card from Charissa for my mom's birthday. Later, there was turndown service, and the next day, Charissa offered late checkout. I cannot express how much all of this meant to my mom on her first visit to Portland - she was so impressed and can't wait to return with my stepdad. Our room was beautiful, spacious and very comfortable. I had stayed once before at The Nines for business and really enjoyed the proximity to so many things downtown. Now, I'll keep returning for leisure travel as well. Kudos to the rest of the staff including bellmen, valets and waiters who were very kind and gave us great recommendations for things to see and specific driving directions that helped a lot. Such a nice visit and a great hotel experience,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to commend our team! Charissa is a valuable asset to our team and it will be my pleasure to share your kind words with her so that I may thank her for her dedication. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you and your family back again soon for another VIP experience!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Nines is a unique Starwood property located directly on Pioneer Square. It has an elegant, sophisticated Hipster vibe which is similar to the 'W's but so much more enjoyable. The service at this hotel is impeccable - from the Valet to the Front Desk to the Restaurant - each staff member gives the feeling that they are happy you are here and that they want to make your stay the best.

The rooms are decorated in a lovely champagne beige with bright blue accents, The beds are very comfortable and have crisp white duvets. There is turndown service as well, with a great bottle of water and piece of dark chocolate.

The restaurant, Urban Farmer, is a destination unto itself. They specialize in locally sourced ingredients, and the beef is incredible. They don't just offer New York Strip - they offer 5 different types of NY Strip, each one from a different kind of cow - they can even tell you that cow's diet. I had the tuna steak, which was one of the most perfectly balanced and delicious meals I have ever had.

This restaurant and hotel are my home away from home whenever I am in Portland!

Room Tip: This hotel has both interior and exterior rooms. The road noise can be quite load due to being on P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Diva_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

You are always welcome to join us! Looking forward to seeing you again.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

After staying a couple of nights at the Hotel Rose we decided to spend our last night in Portland at The Nines. What a great hotel! The lobby and registration desk are located on the 8th floor as the hotel is built over Macy's department store. It is perfectly located in the heart of downtown Portland and walking distance to restaurants, shopping, movies and other attractions.

The room, although not huge, was beautifully done. The staff was extremely helpful and truly seemed to enjoy their jobs. Customer service was fantastic. The Nines has a wonderful and spacious lobby with several areas to relax. In fact, the lobby was more like a lounge. We went to the Blazers/Heat game and upon arrival back at the hotel we had a couple of cocktails and food in the lobby to celebrate our engagement. There is a nice restaurant in the lobby called the Urban Farmer. We enjoyed a nice lunch after checking in. The next day we had brunch and the food was excellent. By the way, if you like burgers, make sure you go to Killer Burger. Also, you have to check out Voodoo doughnuts!

The next time we are in Portland we will definitely stay at the Nines for our entire stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your grand slam review! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the property as a whole and we hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Portland.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have stayed here twice now, and love this hotel, the staff and the ammenitites. We always opt for the upgrade to the Club Level. If you need to eat out while in Portland but dont have big dinner plans--seriously consider the Club Level. Large continental breakfast, snacks mid-day, afternoon appetizers and evening desserts--beer, wine and standard cocktails included!

Room Tip: We asked for a room facing Pioneer square. Loved it--and love the Club Level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing the Nines as your preferred hotel in Portland! We are pleased we are able to provide an exceptional experience time and time again and we look forward to welcoming you back for years to come. Cheers to the Club Level!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,746 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 144 in Portland
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £171 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing