We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dossier(Portland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Lucia(Portland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,048)
Filter reviews
3,048 results
Traveller rating
1,845
716
277
123
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,845
716
277
123
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsurban farmerthe club loungerooftop bardeparture loungedeparture restaurantpioneer squaredepartment storeturn down serviceconcierge desktop floorcity viewbeautiful hotelheart of downtowncorner roomvalet parkingvalet servicefitness center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,775 - 1,780 of 3,048 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for a girls weekend and it was amazing! Beautiful view and great restaurants! They pay attention to detail at this hotel! From the time you arrive at the doors the staff is there to make sure all of your needs are accommodated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benddimples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

You and your girls are always welcome to join us! Looking forward to seeing you again.

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Nines is like a fine jewel with perfect facets. Loved our suite. The color scheme of turquoise and grey is elegant and fun. Loved the shower and was pleased with the bathroom amenities. Always wonder why hotels use small throw away bottles, BUT this property is smart and has wall mounted dispensers. Shampoo and conditioner is from London and has honey in it. Awesome staff. Michael and everyone are A+. Comfy bed. My husband loves fresh air, and he jumped for joy when he found he could open the window. Great gym. Had dinner at Urban Farmer. It was delicious, and packed with people. Felt guilty,but ordered the mac 'n cheese, and it was worth the splurge....yummy! Great location, too as it is near river, and downtown so we were able to walk everywhere. Be careful when you drive up to valet park because if it is jammed with guests waiting to park, drive around the block again because the Portland parking "police" have targeted the property to give out parking tickets. Be sure to pull in front of the hotel at the curb. Great Club Room for Starwood guests.

Room Tip: Don't face the street.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beeperVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Many thanks on your red carpet comments and for acknowledging the exceptional service that our team has provided. I truly appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience and for recommending our property. We are pleased to be your preferred hotel in Portland and we look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Beautiful hotel, very centrally located in downtown Portland. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Concierge helped with reservations and directions to various places. Food was delicious at Urban Farmer. Bed was fluffy luxury. We also had various amenities that came with our reservation which really made our stay affordable and special - check out whatever offers might be available when you are visiting!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonkaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the property as a whole. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Nines for a couple nights on our first-ever trip to Portland. We had a wonderful experience there. Its location is right in the heart of Downtown, the room was absolutely fabulous with views of the skyline, and the Club Lounge offerings were hugely generous. In particular, Judi went out of her way to make our stay a memorable one. She was excited to hear that it was our first trip to Portland and The Nines and provided us a list of local must-sees/dos. She catered to us in such a thoughtful manner that made us feel welcome and right at home. Judi and the rest of the team at The Nines set the tone for our Portland trip and it was just perfect! Highly recommend this spot. Don't miss the rooftop bar/restaurant.

Room Tip: Request view of skyline.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Many thanks on your comments and for acknowledging the exceptional service that Judi has provided. I truly appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience and for recommending our property. Please know that I have shared your comments with Judi and the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back for any future trips to Portland.

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

After all we'd heard about The Nines we were really looking forward to spending two nights there. Our mistake that we didn't ask about room choices so we take responsibility for this first comment: our room faced the courtyard/lobby so there was no outside window making the room very dark. I am one who sleeps with the drapes open as I love the first of day. The small refrigerator bleeped all night long, like a smoke alarm does when the battery is low. When we checked in they didn't say anything about serving coffee in the lobby - we just noticed there was no way to make coffee in our room so went out for coffee in the morning. No big deal but it also would have been good to know they provide this. Before checking out I asked the front desk where I could get a newspaper (NYT or the local one) and she said they keep them behind the counter where you check in. Thus, when one looks around and you don't see any papers it's easy to assume, like the coffee that they don't provide papers..There were two of us and one bathrobe and when they turned down the bed at night there was one chocolate on one pillow. Hello - we are two people. There was no clock in the room - maybe they just assume everyone uses their cell phones for everything. I requested an early wake-up call because I had to walk several blocks to catch a street car and then get the tram to OHSU (Oregon Health Science University) where I had a medical appointment at 7:00am and this call was 5 minutes late. Again, not usually a big deal but this meant it definitely made my morning rushed. The room was hot and we could turn the thermostat down to 60 with the fan on high BUT the room never got this cool. We only had a down comforter on the bed and given that it was 73 in Portland while we were there, it was a hot sleep both nights. The linens are of high quality as were the pillows and even the down comforter but it's too bad there wasn't another blanket option. Given that this room is $329/night I would have expected much more! We will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view and any other things you might expect to have at what is supposedly a high quality hotel - newspaper, coffee, map of the city
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank retiredfeb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. I am sincerely apologetic for the experience in which you received and as disappointing as it is to hear, we view this as an opportunity to improve the operations of our property. We hope to welcome you again in the future to redeem your current expectations.

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews