We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Nearby Hotels
Sentinel(Portland)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel deLuxe(Portland)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Paramount Hotel(Portland)
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (3,088)
Filter reviews
3,088 results
Traveller rating
1,872
724
279
125
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,872
724
279
125
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsurban farmerthe club loungerooftop bardeparture loungedeparture restaurantpioneer squaredepartment storeturn down serviceconcierge desktop floorcity viewbeautiful hotelheart of downtowncorner roomvalet parkingvalet servicefitness center
Filter
Updating list...
1,747 - 1,752 of 3,088 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I love this hotel. They have done a fantastic job at converting this from a department store, with some nice design nods to the original purpose.

Our room was a good size, with a huge entrance hall, making it feel spacious. The lamps and other furnishings give a modern but luxurious feel, super comfy bed. Good size bathroom, the only thing that let it down for me was that they had a shower curtain rather than a screen.

Staff were super friendly, they accommodated a late checkout with no problem. You must visit the restaurant on the roof, great sushi and brilliant views over Portland.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Markyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Markyrn,

We love our guests! And we are so pleased to read when they have enjoyed their experiences here at the Nines. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience for recommending our property. It will be my pleasure to share your experience with the team and we will wish to welcome you again in the future. Please let me know if I may assist in any future travel plans to Portland. Always a pleasure to assist.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

... lets be short a sweet, this was not my first stay here, nor will it be my last. Marc Adrar and the staff at The Nines truly know the meaning of hospitality. Anyone planning a trip to Portland should absolutely stay or really consider staying at The Nines. The rooming, including the turndown service are beautiful and extremely well maintained.

The Urban Farmer and the Departure Lounge are both world class amenities, well suiting this property.

Conveniently located within a couple of blocks of almost everything you'll want to do in this city.

My hats off to Marc and the staff of The Nines for making a very memorable stay again, we hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Ean B,

Short and sweet… nothing better! Thank you for providing us with your recommendation and for the personal mention. What a pleasure it is. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

For the most part, we’ve had great experiences at The Nines, but after a somewhat disappointing stay last year, we were a bit hesitant to return as there are so many great places to stay in Portland. We decided to spend another couple of nights at The Nines this past weekend.

Before arrival we were personally contacted to see if there was anything special that we required. Since it was my wife’s birthday, reservations were arranged for us on the outside patio at Departures at our desired time – more on that in a moment.

Parking via the Valet attendants was fast and friendly. Check-in was smooth and easy and the Assistant GM was by the front desk when we arrived and took the time to personally welcome us back. The room was stylish and well appointed (as usual at The Nines), and turn down service was done discretely both nights.

The Club Lounge is one of the best amenities that you can take advantage of at this hotel and is well worth the effort and upgrade. Continental breakfast, snacks all day, sumptuous appetizers and drinks in the late afternoon/early evening.

Dinner on the outdoor patio at Departures was superb – a tasty blend of “Asian Fusion”, excellent wine selection and with probably the best and most sought after rooftop view in Portland. After a lovely birthday dinner, we adjourned back to the Club Lounge for dessert and a nightcap, which was the perfect way to end a great day. Unfortunately, my wife left her purse in the lounge that evening and didn’t notice it missing until the next morning. We backtracked and realized where it had been left, called the front desk and within minutes a security person retrieved it and brought it back to our room.

Marc Adrar, the Assistant General Manager has done a great job over the last year at the property and I highly recommend that if you have opportunity to visit Portland that you stay here. And yes, by the way, the city itself fully lives up to all of the expectations year-after-year, and only seems to get better.

Finally, as a Lifetime Platinum SPG Member, I have a pretty good perspective of what a well-run hotel is like and The Nines is right up there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scratchcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear scratchcat,

Thank you kindly for allowing us the opportunity to redeem your expectations. What a pleasure it was to partake in your experience firsthand. I am delighted to learn that you continued to enjoy your stay from beginning to end and we will hope to welcome you again soon. Perhaps another birthday celebration next year? What a wonderful tradition it could be. I am at your service if I may assist in the future.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at The Nines with our family - we had 3 rooms, and in two of the rooms, we had a baby. We got corner rooms, which was nice because they were slightly bigger than regular rooms. The hotel is very modern and our rooms were all clean, nicely decorated, and comfortable.

The hotel is very easy to access with Portland's wonderful public transportation!! If you take the red line from the hotel, it drops you off right across the street from the hotel - or if you take the Amtrack train, the yellow or green line gets you there very quickly (less than 5 minutes). Pioneer Square is across the street, The Pearl District is within walking distance, and the concierge Josie, is full of great tips & places to go. She recommended we go to a few places and she was SPOT ON. Make sure you talk to her if you are going to explore. She was great!!

The only reason I am not giving this place 5 stars is because it was quite loud. I didn't realize it was a "party" hotel with a night club style lounge on the top floor. Of course, we were there with our family - so it made it a little tricky when we were trying to go up the elevator to our room with tons of other people going to Departure (the lounge on top). There were bachelorette parties, and tons of people going up and down. I think the hotel should mark off an elevator that is specifically for Departure, rather than having all the elevators open to guests and partiers. Even though they make you swipe your key, there were still non guests wandering around and at 2:30am we had some very loud people in the hallway for a little while that woke us up. If you're going mid week, it probably isn't as big of an issue - we were there from a Friday to a Monday, so we had to deal with that for two nights. Is it an ideal family hotel? No. But it wouldn't stop us from going back.

Room Tip: If you can, get a corner room - they are large and have good views!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeshTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear LeshTravels,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience for commending Josie for a job well done. Josie truly is one of the Nines gems and we are very lucky to have her. In addition, we do have two of the most popular restaurants in the city which has created a very vibrant energy throughout the property and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused to you and your family. We appreciate your understanding of this hardship and we are pleased that it will not stop you from returning to the Nines in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future if I may be of assistance in confirming reservations. I assure you that we will do our best to locate accomodations for you that are most quiet and appropriate to your family needs.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Recently stayed at The Nines and loved the hotel! The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Had a light dinner in their Lobby restaurant - Urban Farmer and even had a celebrity sighting :) Unfortunately I did not have an opportunity to visit their roof top lounge but everyone that I spoke with said it was well worth going to. I will definitely stay there on my next trip to Portland.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaAnahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear LindaAnahi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for recommending our property with 5 stars. Please visit us again soon. You won’t want to miss the Departure Restaurant and Lounge on our rooftop level. Who knows- maybe you will encounter another celebrity sighting? Departure is always full of suprises from fun food to fun people.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews