We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous. Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #16 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
201 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fabulous. Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed with family for 4 nights. Everything was very good including location, rooms, service, food, and layout. Great hotel to stay in if visiting Portland. Highly recommended. Very close to all shopping and easy walking to variety of downtown amenities

Green Features: Had strong green program where they give meaningful number of points each day you don't have room made up
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Peter S,

You and your family are always welcome to join us! Looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,554
    625
    228
    98
    56
See reviews for
392
933
125
707
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Hmmm so far not impressed. The Starwood chain should stay at a Fairmont hotel for the true and awesome club floor concept. I had to ask someone to get me bottled water out of a back room ?! Really? Wines are sub par (probably why they are included). Rooms are okay, very New York sized but clean. Will see if my opinion changes in the next few days ....

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Care70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Care70,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent experience with us and I apologize that our property fell short of your expectations during this visit. We hope to learn and improve for you as well as our future guests and I am open to your feedback if you would like to discuss further.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Expected to have a fantastic experience at the Nines but it was lackluster. Had a view of the interior courtyard of the hotel. Location is excellent. Service is good. Rooms are just blah.
Only other hotel i stayed at in Portland was the Marriot which was blah but I had a veiw of Mt Hood which was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear BellaField,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent experience with us and I apologize that our property fell short of your expectations during this visit. Please feel free to contact me directly should you like to discuss this further. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you in the future to redeem your current expectation.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at The Nines while attending a business conference in PDX. The entire hotel staff was extremely courteous and friendly. Always going out of their way to say hello and ask if there was anything they could do to make the stay better. I went for a long run and returned to the hotel sweaty and tired. Upon entering the lobby, one of the valet's ran into a backroom and fetched me a bottle of water without even asking if I wanted one. The hotel room was great. Very comfortable beds, spacious and quiet rooms, etc. Hotel is located in the heart of downtown PDX - easy walking distance to the waterfront, food, etc. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear John C,

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the Nines location and service. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Nines as a work reward trip. Overall it was an amazing experience mainly due to the top-notch service across the board. Peter, the concierge, provided awesome restaurant recommendations, secured all reservations and then provided us both a written itinerary and text confirmations. To some extent that is expected at a nice hotel. However, when we arrived at our first dinner that night, we realized that Peter was able to get us into one of the most popular restaurants in the city and at the last minute. He also arranged to send us cordials and a small treat at the end of the meal. It certainly made an impression. The great part is that the restaurant (Andina) was super fun, tasty, and not overly stuffy and pricey. Exactly what we were looking for. In fact, all of his restaurant recommendations were spot on without a miss. Laurie in the club lounge was another great example of service. She offered excellent counsel on a few popular city attractions and even provided a few free tickets to the Japanese Garden. Perhaps I am just not used to this level of hospitality (although well-traveled) but the Nines has amazing service from the front desk to the concierge to the valet. All were relatable and downright helpful. Great find.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Katie W,

Many thanks on your comments and for acknowledging the exceptional service that Peter, Laurie and the team have provided. We truly appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience and for recommending our property. Please know that I have shared your comments with the whole of the team and we look forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Portland.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, Ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We were on the 7th floor facing the courthouse. It was a lovely view and the room was charming, but small.

We had to ask for a new duvet the second we arrived because of a nasty yellow stain right in the middle of the bed (that smelled and looked as though they tried to scrub at it instead of change the duvet from previous occupant)- even our bell hop bringing in our luggage made a face at.

The street noise didn't bother us, but we could hear every time someone entered or left three room down the hall. Little things like only having one robe despite us being booked as 2 in the room made it a but less special.

Nice but not amazing for the price.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Tara K,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent experience. We regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay at the Nines. We do have a variety of room types and sizes and I would like to extend my services to you if you would like to return in the future. It would be my pleasure to assist in confirming a room best suited to your preferences. Additionally, I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the duvet cover in the room and I assure you this is not standard at the Nines. Please feel free to reach out to myself directly if I may assist in the future.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed at The Nines on a recent business trip. It is in a very nice location convenient to many downtown Portland attractions and restaurants. The room, facing the atrium, was very quiet. The service in the Club Lounge was outstanding, especially Joshua. Two negatives kept me from giving the top rating. One was my room was not ready when I arrived on a Sunday at 4:30 pm. I had to wait approx an hour until the room was ready. Second was their in-house restaurant was a bit too costly for the meal. I would not eat there again....much better value at a number of restaurants just a few steps away.

Room Tip: My room, facing the atrium, was very quiet. I cannot comment on the rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear clarkjh,

I appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience and for recommending our property. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you encountered with room readiness and the prices set in our Urban Farmer restaurant. We will consider your comments and do our best to improve for you as well as our future guests. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you choose to return in the future as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for an opportunity to redeem your current expectations.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#17 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Property: The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Address: 525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing