We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2009

The hotel was very new and clean. Our room had a view of Mt. Hood. The service was attentive. The concierge staff were always able to help. If you needed a place to eat or places to visit, they would give you suggestions, directions and maps.
I would not recommend this hotel to families traveling with children. There is no pool and not much that would interest youngsters.

The only thing we weren't happy with was that there were too many young pan handlers in the neighborhood. They were around the hotel and across the street. They (panhandlers) were out mainly in the evening, so we were not comfortable to walk outside in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrGrummpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,623
    648
    242
    106
    60
See reviews for
421
977
127
736
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We stayed at their club level room for 3 nights and enjoyed every single moment. The room was beautiful & clean with nice view overlooking the bridge. The club lounge is good with some snacks and drinks available. However, it seems getting busier on weekends and you may not find any seats during breakfast hours. No additional charge for DVD movies so we watched "Twilight".

The location is excellent & right on the MAX lines. The MAX train ride to the Oregon Zoo is within 20 mins on either RED and BLUE lines.

We got a complimentary dessert from the concierge at the restaurant he recommended for my friend's graduation celebration. What a nice surprise!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willow1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We got a great deal on this hotel and the entire facility and rooms exceeded our expectations. The style is different (in a good way) from many Portland hotels, but everything is clean and new and it is very nice to be able to check out the several different bars in the hotel or to be able to walk to many other less expensive restaurants in the area. The bar that is now open on top of the hotel offers a great view of Portland on a clear day. If you can get a decent rate, stay here!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdxtravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We stayed for 7 days in late June through July 4. We requested a double queen room with a view of the city. The room was large clean and bathroom was beautiful. They have plenty of storage space and large flat screen TV. They changed a light blub and cleaned out our tub as soon as we asked without delay.

We took the parking tip of others and parked in a near by parking garage to avoid the expensive hotel parking fee. This worked out great. I went to college in Portland and people should know that ALL of Portland has expensive parking not just The Nines. It's a green city and they want you to take public transportation, so if you want to drive, you will pay.

We ate at Urban Farmer and the food was wonderflu! Expensive but wonderful. We went up to Departure to look around and it's a happening scene for Portland. And we never had to wait long for an elevator. There's 4 of them. We also saw a professional basketball player staying at The Nines during our stay.

It's a fun place to stay, in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubygirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

The Nines is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. Central location, excellent food, attentive service, and extremely comfortable. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ultigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton, NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

My husband & I stayed in Portland at The Nines for 2 nights & booked the room via Priceline (each night under $100). Location was good - right downtown & easy access to the Portland transit (Tri-Met) system. Staff was pleasant & room clean & comfy.

We opted to go elsewhere for breakfast (check out Mother's Bistro) both mornings & grabbed ice cream & Starbucks for treats while we were out & about so cannot speak on behalf of the on-site ammenities.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaafha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

My wife and I, plus our dog, stayed at the Nines in Portalnd for one night. We made the trip from Seattle to Portland for some tax-free shopping.

The property is in downtown Portland, so parking is at a minimum. We stashed the car in front while we checked in. The valets weren't that friendly, but took the keys and agreed to keep the car on the street for 10 minutes max. We arrived on a Saturday night -- the hotel was crazy with people out for the evening ($39 for valet parking -- are we in Boston?). The lobby of the hotel is on the 8th floor, so we had a bit of a production to get an elevator. Lots of people, in and out, not sure where to go, etc.

We had reserved a "junior suite." The room was awesome -- on the 9th floor, overlooking the inner atrium of the hotel. Upon entering the room, we noticed a water leak and persistent drip in the bedroom. We went back to check-in. Although we didn't want to give up the room, they offered us a corner suite on the "club level." That room was very nice. It offered views of the river and downtown. The room was shaped like a "U" with a living room, then small hall with minibar, closet, and bathroom, and then bedroom. The bedroom was huge with a king bed, a chaise lounge, and desk. The bathroom was all carrera marble. It was huge, but didn't have much in it. There was only one bathrobe (weird for such a large room). The living room was furnished with a couch, flat-screen television, some additional lounge chairs, etc.

The 'club level" offers cocktails, appetizers, dessert, etc. It's a significant step up from other hotels' club lounges, which typically offer an "honor bar." In this lounge, they would actually mix a cocktail. It was, however, very busy and we couldn't find seats. So we took some food and departed.

We ordered room service. $85 for the cheese plate, meat plate, a salad, and a sparkling water. The room service menu is consistent with other hotels (nothing surprising).

Since we stayed only one night, we didn't take advantage of the hotel's amenities. The location is very convenient to downtown activities and shopping. The bed was awesome.

We're already talking about staying at The Nines again. We'll check-in on thursday or mid-week to avoid the craziness of the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Reston10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#19 of 141 in Portland
898 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 141 in Portland
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Property: The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing