We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than France”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Petite Provence

Petite Provence
Ranked #39 of 4,250 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better than France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

On a rainy morning in Portland this is a great place to nestle into. Lived in France and loved the food so was pleased to find this place. Don't know how French my breakfast was, but it was awesome!!...poached eggs on polenta cakes with a roasted tomato sauce. There were lots of great choices and had a hard time making up my mind. All four of us were very pleased with our meals and the pastries were wonderful and again impossible to decide on just one!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    54
    18
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Even the perfect can goof”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

On a rainy afternoon, nothing sounds better than a late lunch with a bowl of exceptional Onion Soup with French bread for dipping. The tuna sandwich was great with fresh fruit. We followed our pleasant lunch with two sweet treats, one was a chocolate with delicate lemon flavor and I chose an old favorite, a cream puff swan. Oops, I quickly found the swan pastry puff was not as fresh as I expected. It might have been a cream puff thawed with great whipped cream added before it was put in the pastry case, but it was more like a bread than a puff when I ate it.. If you have one, and you will love it, ask if it has been made that day, and avoid getting one that has been thawed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanieandWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
“Always good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have eaten at Petite Provence a few times when we visit our daughter in Portland and the food has always been good and the service excellent. Their pastries are superb and worth bringing home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LKD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We ate lunch here on a Saturday, which was our first experience at this bistro. We had a very short wait of 10-15 min and got a table outside. It was a lovely summer day, so we enjoyed watching the pedestrian traffic of this artsy area. This is a very popular section of town (especially on the weekend), so parking can be a challenge. Once seated, we placed our drink and lunch orders. We were served promptly considering how busy they were. I ordered the Chipotle Chicken Sandwich (caramelized onions, tomato, lettuce, pepperjack cheese and chipotle aioli on grilled French bread), and it was delicious. It came with a side, and I selected the potato salad. My husband ordered the Monte Carlo sandwich with a green salad side. The sandwiches were very large and neither of us could eat the second half. We were impressed with the service and the quality of food. We hope to visit again for breakfast since that is our favorite meal when eating out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ewalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Only Wish The Risotto Cakes Were Hotter. But So Good I Dont Want To Ding them”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Really Exceptional In Almost Every way. Came Back For Dessert This afternoon. I Have Never Had A Dessert With Such Complexity Of Flavors... Lemon Graffiti. Amazing And Beautiful...I Am On Vacation After All!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toonchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petite Provence also viewed

 

Been to Petite Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing