We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous old hotel with great service”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous old hotel with great service”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

What a feast for the eyes! The lobby of the Benson Hotel is everything everyone says it is and more. I spent a good deal of time just taking in the incredible light fixtures and the old world charm exuded.
I was greeted immediately at the desk and quickly checked in and on my way up to my room. The halls are this well-cared for dark wood, making you feel like you've stepped into the past. My room was very clean and well-appointed. The wooden doors and touches of the past were comforting and special. The tempurapedic bed was an added benefit!
I highly recommend the Benson Hotel, unless you're a glass and chrome sort of traveler.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibraryLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review of The Benson Hotel. We’re glad you enjoyed our historic property and our TempurPedic beds! We look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,064
    634
    223
    91
    51
See reviews for
333
777
108
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

One-night stay on first trip to Portland. LaBoyce at check-in was very welcoming and helpful. Tom at the concierge desk was likewise very knowledgeable and friendly, highlighting a great range of sights. Inside, the lobby is the architectural highlight, drawing you out of your room to read the newspaper or have a drink. The central location is very convenient to many points of interest in the city centre.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kauffmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide a review. We’re pleased you found our staff friendly and helpful. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

No complaints, the staff is great, the rooms are clean, location is great (near stores, restaurants, food carts, everything is within walking distance). I would stay here again next time I visit Portland!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_housewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Great hotel! No complaints... I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtakenvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review of The Benson Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I love this place, always consistently great. The rooms are small but the hotel itself makes up for it :) It is beautiful!! The only negative I would say, is the street noise isn't ideal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann4you75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Benson Hotel during your trip to Portland. We’re pleased you found our staff helpful and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Benson hotel was built in 1912 and retains the beauty and splendor of last century. The rooms are somewhat older, but the plumbing fixtures and electrical are all the latest and greatest. The beds are super comfortable and they put 6 down pillows on each bed with down comforters - dreamy! Free wifi made my day (I hate when hotels want you to pony up another $15).

The staff were warm, funny and outgoing. If you haven't lived in the Pacific NW, you should know that the mgt must have had to dig for the right applicants - these aren't qualities in abundance up there. Each member joked with us and went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. After seeing our GPS in hand, the bellman gave us three-turn directions just in case to make it easier. The location put us right close to everything downtown and we walked to most of our destinations.

One night I didn't want to walk outside for dinner, so I checked the in-room binder and saw that they serve light food in the bar. The bar in the lobby is quaint and the staff was amazing. Not only did they recommend a cocktail that wasn't on the menu that was exactly what I wanted, our waitress helped us wrap up leftover dinner (which was cooked to perfection and reasonably priced) to take upstairs to other family members and graciously offered to make up a great virgin cocktail for my kid!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delasur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your review of The Benson Hotel! We’re pleased you were comfortable in your room and enjoyed the free WiFi, our staff and the lobby bar! We appreciate your compliments and look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Puget Sound
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We enjoyed our two nights at the Benson and plan to stay there again on future trips to Portland. It's an older hotel with character and a great downtown location. The rooms are not huge but are well-appointed and up-to-date. The staff we came in contact with were uniformly pleasant and helpful. We didn't eat in any of the restaurants but they all looked good and we plan to try El Gaucho next trip.

Room Tip: Upper floors on the NE corner should have a bit of a view of Mt Hood. Room 1021 does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your patronage of The Benson Hotel. We appreciate your compliments about our property, location and staff! We look forward to seeing you again in the future and hope you get a chance to enjoy a meal at El Gaucho during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 141 in Portland
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#10 of 141 in Portland
1,381 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 141 in Portland
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing