We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Notable Benson” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Notable Benson”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

At arrival a young woman behind the check in desk greeted us. She was very friendly and we chatted as we checked in. We knew upon arrival that the Benson was a historic hotel and the décor definitely exhibited that. I even believe the hotel is a national registered place and that U.S. Presidents have stayed here. When we got off the elevator that our room was on, it was like walking back in time. From the carpet to the doors, it felt like a very historical place. Our room was gigantic! We had a king bed, a couch, two chairs, a desk, a drawer that hosted a refrigerator and two side tables. The bathroom was very large as well. The décor had a very older traditional/ classy feel to it. The only small issue with the room was that the AC wasn’t cold enough for us. Other than that, we were very content with it. In addition, the lobby hosts free Internet, which we took advantage of. The location of the hotel is key! You can walk to everything and anything from this hotel. We wouldn’t hesitate to stay at this hotel again. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your kind and notable remarks about our property, including our history of hosting U.S. Presidents! We are delighted your enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again during future trips to Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    611
    213
    89
    49
See reviews for
320
742
102
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest Park, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Benson and enjoyed it very much. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and worked very hard. The room was fine and the bed was very comfortable. Location is close to Powells Bookstore (husband's favorite) and to shopping (my favorite). Concierge recommended an excellent restaurant in the Pearl District (walkable) which proved to be excellent in every way. One felt the staff was trained well and was knowledgeable. We left feeling that they appreciated us and all their guests. This last comment isn't seen in many hotels these days so thanks Benson staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our staff. It was our pleasure to provide exceptional service during your stay. We’re looking forward to giving you a similar experience in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

A single night stay on the hottest day of the year isn't the best way to judge a hotel, but the Benson was still notable.

There are two things the Benson has going for it:
1) It's location smack in the heart of Downtown.
2) A deal with Hotwire, where it's possible that one can get the room for under $160.

It's billed as a four-star hotel, and I can understand why it's label as such, but there are other four-star hotels in the same area, and if you've stayed at them, the flaws of the Benson start to shine through. They are as follows:

1) The rooms are small.
2) The hallways are dark.
3) Room service is passable, but not up to the quality that you get at the other four-star hotels in the area.

What does the Benson have? Service. Not just with a smile, but with the idea of going beyond the customers expectations. I witnessed this from everyone from the car valet service, to the front desk, to the servers who brought up a bucket of ice to my room based solely off of an off-handed comment to room service.

I've stayed at every four-star hotel in Downtown Portland, and no one has better service than the Benson. This is what sets them apart.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Accidental_Hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I jusy stayed at The Benson for three nights. I really enjoyed the super comfortable beds and linens, the friendly atmosphere and the great central location. The staff were eager to please. We walked the city from The Benson and visited the Chinese Garden, Nordstrom's, Macy's took the shuttle to 23rd Street and walked to the Nines for a nightcap at the top of the hotel. The Benson Is a great base for walking Portland.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for visiting The Benson Hotel during your time in Portland. We’re pleased our location was convenient for local shopping and attractions. We appreciated your compliments about our property and staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Great location, great customer service, clean and comfy rooms, decent room size (2 queen size beds), everyone was very friendly. It happened to be 106 one of the days we were there and the A/C had a little trouble keeping up, but other than that, loved eveything.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room on a higher floor, away from the elevators, and with a view. They met all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newp0rtBeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at The Benson Hotel! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Booked our room using Hotwire and were pleasantly surprised with the Benson Hotel. Staff is very friendly, professional and accommodating. Lobby is beautiful and the room was clean, comfortable and nice. Location is very convenient- just a few blocks from Powell's Bookstore and in the middle of downtown shopping and restaurants. They host an evening wine hour (we didn't go but they offered it) and what looked like a lovely breakfast buffet in the morning (I believe $15 per hotel guest). Also enjoyed the complimentary HBO channel in the room. A very nice visit to the Benson Hotel and Portland.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veganlifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

hotel is as fabulous as it looks in the photos
All the staff was so very helpful and nice
rooms-great value and quiet and clean
I will definitely stay here again
(we could bring our bikes into our rooms too)
The location was great to ride out to other neighborhoods.
Bike Gallery just a few blocks away if you need bike service

Room Tip: corner rooms are large and sunny if you can step up to junior executive room 1234 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank checkers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Benson Hotel and taking the time to provide such a kind review of your stay. We’re thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to downtown Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing