We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Benson- a grand experience”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #17 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2013

From the moment you enter the lobby, you know The Benson knows how to be a grand hotel. The wood, chandeliers, furniture and stained glass windows are only exceeded by the quality and friendliness of service. It's a place you can't wait to spend time in the lobby, reading a book or newspaper, or just people watching as I do.
Going upstairs, the rooms don't disappoint you. They are classy and functional. There is charm and cleanliness. I enjoy just being there and the beds are fabulous. I don't want everyone to rush to stay there because my wife and I feel The Benson is our little secret. Go ahead and try it out!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1RetiredSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,685 - 1,691 of 2,324 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed in a King room on the 4th floor. The room faced Broadway, but street noise was not an issue (talking in the hall was louder than the street noise). Bed is VERY comfortable and the hotel was clean. Nice touches-- like bathrobes and conditioner in addition to shampoo make this a step up. The lobby is beautiful. We were easily able to find street (metered) parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleReebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Great friendly staff...across the board from parking valet to front desk to wait staff. High quality amenities in the room. Terrific food and awesome cocktails. We were on the honeymoon package celebrating our 30th anniversary (at the Benson in 1983!) and enjoyed it immensely. In fact, we're already planning on returning for our 31st!

Room Tip: Get a North west corner for nice views...if you don't mind some Broadway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bern D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us! We’re celebrating our 100th anniversary this March and hope you will be able to join us! We are looking forward to seeing you again and appreciated your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The Benson is a charming hotel located in the heart of downtown Portland. The staff, the room, and the location met our expectations. We would visit again, but probably request a room away from the street. Our room was nice, but it was warm and we couldn't get the a/c to work properly and it was too loud outside to keep our window open.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busy street, or make sure the a/c works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheers90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

If you ever wonder what it feels like to live like a "Royal" seriously consider booking a room at The Benson Hotel in downtown Portland, Oregon. My husband and I spent Valentines Day in The Benson's wonderful care. With a jaw-dropping front lobby, lovely staff and superb service at every turn, great food in The Palm Court Restaurant, a gorgeous, clean and comfy, opulant room and high-end shopping right out of their front door. General Manager, Ron Gladney, absolutely out did himself at every turn making sure that our evening was a "night to remember". I tip my hat to him. Will we be returning to The Benson? Absolutely, I can't wait!! The Benson is your destination when you want to live like a movie star! Bring your dark sunglasses- the ones studded with diamonds!
Thank you, Ron and staff,.
Sparkling Illusions
Stephanie Floth

Room Tip: Enjoy the beautiful view at night overlooking the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieF918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to read you and your husband enjoyed your stay during Valentine’s Day. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Business or pleasure, our stays in Portland always take us to the Benson. We feel like we're in some film noir episode secretly meeting in the lobby, or having a drink in the Palm Court. El Gaucho adjoining the hotel just makes it complete. Rooms are always great, staff is great, hey, it's great!
Stay there and step back in time to luxury and a time when life wan't so hurried. And yes you can still wear your jeans. It's Portland for heaven's sake. Make sure and give yourself plenty of time to spend at Powell's Books just a couple blocks away.

Room Tip: ask the front desk staff...they've always been very helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We've stayed at the Benson a number of times and enjoy it very much.

The location can't be beat. Right in the middle of downtown a few blocks from Pioneer Square (and Nordy's) and a few more to the "Park Blocks."

On this trip, we stayed a Friday night. Booked through an "opaque" website. Then upgraded at check-in to Room 1134, a junior suite in the SE corner of 11th floor. These corner suites are beautiful. King bed, seating area with sofa and two chairs. Two huge windows on east side and one huge window on south side. High ceilings, nicely appointed. Excellent bathroom. They really are nice to come back to an relax. Quality linens, lots of towels, etc.

Desk service was warm and helpful, as usual.

The lobby is a nice place to hang out, with "old school", tasteful setting.

There is 24-hour, in-and-out parking across the street for a little less than the hotel's valet service.

Room Tip: There are several kinds of corner rooms, including "large corner" rooms and "juior su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raoul_Picante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,875 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 146 in Portland
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 146 in Portland
1,449 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £113 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing