We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to stay for our Honeymoon”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My brand new Husband and I stayed The Benson this week to celebrate our honeymoon, and we are both so pleased with our choice! We are not typically big spenders, and we rarely get the opportunity to stay in nice hotels; in the past we have spent quite a bit and been left feeling a little looked down upon or forgotten in a nice hotel. However, we were blown away by the level of attention and all around friendly service we received for the cost of our room at The Benson! From the moment we arrived we were greeted with smiles, and the eagerness to help. Everyone from the doormen, to the house keeping staff were polite and friendly. Our room was wonderful, clean and inviting. We got lucky and wound up in a corner room over looking the city. The king bed was so comfortable and wonderful to sleep in after walking around Portland all day. On our first night we consulted the concierge for a dining suggestion within walking distance, not only did we receive the perfect suggestion but, they also reserved a table for us and called ahead to let the restaurant know we were celebrating our marriage. All in all, our stay at The Benson was exemplary and I would absolutely recommend them to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Portland!

Room Tip: Excellent view of the city from rooms on the corner of Stark and Broadway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Congratulations and we are delighted that you chose to celebrate your honeymoon at The Benson. As we strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff. We hope to become a tradition and welcome you back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,486 - 1,492 of 2,349 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with friendly, patient and personable staff. Very accommodating to special requests. Afternoon wine tasting added to ambiance. Meeting facilities were also top notch. Convenient to shopping and scenic walks along the river. Great food- including room service. Highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Dot478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed our complimentary wine tasting and room service. We appreciate your recognition of our accommodations and hope your travels bring you back our way again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Benson is one of the oldest in Portland and could be showing signs of its age. It is centrally placed with very friendly staff, if perhaps not too attentive. The rooms are basic, but comfortable and in need of a lick of paint. Loved the marquetry on the door which added a bit of style. Free use of the umbrellas, which proved to be invaluable in the stormy North West.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you had the opportunity to stay at our historic hotel. Thank you for your input and we hope your travels bring you back our way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This old downtown hotel lobby is beautifully refurbished and amid the downtown area with lots of attractions nearby. The staff was terrific-concierge in particular. But the room was quite small with an unattractive view of neighboring wall and utilities. We expected more for the price. All in all, would like to rate it a little above average, but not quite to the "very good" threshold.

Room Tip: Insist on a room on the street side of the hotel-not the backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for providing feedback. We are glad that you were able to utilize our Les Clefs d’Or Concierge during your stay and that you appreciate the nuances that make us a Historic Landmark. We apologize that the guestroom you stayed in did not fully meet your expectations and hope that on a return visit you will be able to experience another of our guest room selections. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I and our close friends stayed for 3 nights over a weekend. We had stayed in Portland before and were not familiar with this hotel. First and foremost if you are looking for modern, trendy hotel with chill music, white walls, minimalist aesthetic this is not the hotel for you. The Benson has character, with gorgeous wood panelling, chandeliers and an impressive lobby. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. Walking distance to everything including Pearl district, voodoo donuts and the shopping..the beds are very comfortable with great linens and although the bathroom may be considered small it has everything you need. We hit happy hours every night the first night being PORTLAND CITY GRILL. Get there when happy hour starts so you can get a table with the views. It is a trendy, loungy place with great food/drinks and a fantastic way to see the city with a birds eye view..we also went Clyde Common Tasty and Alder. We were disappointed with Mothers for breakfast but loved the bygone cafe in the Pearl for breakfast. The Benson Hotel has a fantastic location, safe area to walk around and all the amenities you need. Free coffee in the lobby was a nice touch especially after a night of martinis (:
Used the gym once and had elliptical, treadmill, weights.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor so no noise from traffic..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dutchtreat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

It was our pleasure to provide you with complimentary coffee in our lobby during your stay at The Benson. We are delighted that you enjoyed the historic nuances of our hotel and appreciate your feedback about Portland’s local hot spots. We hope you stay in touch with us on Facebook and Twitter until your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Upon arrival you feel like you have been transported back in time to the early 1900's when the hotel was built. From the decor with the elegance of the lobby, one can be taken aback by the beauty.
The service was remarkable from check in to check out, the staff was polite and courteous. My room was beautiful and I was quite impressed with several of the amenities. For instance, my windows opened , which helped to make up the lack of an outdoor balcony. Also, my bed was quite comfortable and there was plenty of storage space. You can rest assure your room will be comfortable because you can adjust the thermostat to suit your needs. I was there for a conference and the meeting rooms, food, and access to needed technology was more than acceptable!
Overall, I would recommend staying at The Benson for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement. We are so pleased you found your stay suitable for both pleasure and business. We appreciate your support and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Service was good. Room was small with very little closet space. The closet was a small cabinet near the foot of the bed. Thankfully, my daughter provide tours and events that kept us out of the room except to sleep. The lead doorman was very rude while we were leaving for the airport. Did not return on next visit to city

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theodore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We strive to provide legendary service and on this occasion it is clear that we fell short. We extend our sincerest apologies and would be happy to discuss this with you further offline. Thank you for providing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 146 in Portland
2,251 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 146 in Portland
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 146 in Portland
1,460 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £125 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing