We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful historic hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #19 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our way back from a wedding. We had a standard room with a queen bed. The room was clean and fairly well appointed. We love our Tempurpedic mattress at home and were pleased to discover one awaiting us on the bed at this hotel as well. (Some folks may be pt of by the rooms' original single pane wooden frame windows. They didn't bother us-w thought they were interesting and added to the historic ambience.)

As many other reviewers have stated the hotel is a historic structure and retains a great deal of classic early 20th century elegance and style. Even the hotel bartenders! You don't often come across classically trained bartenders with both the mixology and demeanor skill set. It was very cool.

Overall we were quite pleased with our stay and wouldn't hesitate to come back again or recommend it to folks looking for a nice place to stay in PDX without having to spend $200+/night.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank samrals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
A good night’s sleep is a very important while traveling, so I am so pleased to see you found our beds to be comfortable. I will share your compliments with our bartenders in The Palm Court. Thank you for noting you would stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    620
    219
    90
    51
See reviews for
323
750
105
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in July before returning home from our trip up the coast. We were able to get a good rate from Hotels Tonight. The hotel is beautifully decorated with rich colors and beautiful chandeliers. Everything about the hotel is just beautiful!! But since the hotel is old, the rooms are very small. The bathrooms are even smaller. The room would be fine for 2 adults but with 2 children, there just isn't enough walking space. While we were visiting, the hotel was working on the hot water heater and so we didn't have hot water for showers. The hotel was very generous and upon checkout they allowed us to eat at no charge in their restaurant. The parking is expensive (30.00) but I guess that's how downtown hotels are. The downtown area was very clean and we enjoyed the area.

Room Tip: High floor away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samelimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay. We apologize that our water heater was undergoing maintenance during your visit, but we are very pleased you enjoyed dining with us in the Palm Court. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

As you walk into the Benson, from the polite valet service to the wonderfully efficient front desk staff, you are surrounded by warm light. The front lobby is decorated in beautiful chandeliers and rich wood. My room was tastefully decorated, with great high speed internet and a very comfortable bed. The Benson is not the usual place I’d pick for a business stay, but I was glad I had the chance to enjoy a wonderful Portland landmark.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate all of your feedback. We are happy you were pleased with our accommodations and found our staff friendly and helpful! Thank you again for the kind words. We hope to see you the next time you visit Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We rented two rooms after Christmas 2013 for a 3 day weekend. The Junior Suite had a spacious salon area with couch and seats. There was plenty of storage. The bathroom was near the door on the salon side of the suite, the plus being more usable by guests in suite, the down side being slightly further from the bed. Bathroom was a bit older but functioned well, minimal area above sink for storage but there was some behind near door. Combination tub-shower. Down side was no fridge, we stored perishable things on ledge which was not a problem in winter.
The king size room seemed large enough, I did not inspect it much.
The hotel breakfast was mediocre, slow service with haphazard attention, the staff seemed diffident and inattentive. Coffee was available in lobby 630-800, but only with half and half. Fortunately one of the days we had a great breakfast at Mother's, and a good one at Bijou's.
The evening bar area was quite pleasant for drinks and live music in evening, there was also drinks tasting in late afternoon on weekend day.
Room service was good, and followed through with requests.
The lobby was very decorated for Christmas, big Christmas tree.
All in all we had a very pleasant stay, the hotel is centrally located, wonderfully so, and we would stay there again, for what I thought was an excellent price.

Room Tip: Junior suite high up was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke8842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
I am so pleased you had the opportunity to visit The Benson while we were all decked out in our Christmas finery. It was a pleasure to serve you during your stay, and I look forward to sharing your compliments about our bar and complimentary wine tasting with the rest of our team. Thank you for providing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I stayed the night here for a company meeting/party. The building was quite charming and our room was so nice and comfy, I slept like a baby. Everyone was super nice and helpful. I don't know that I would have thought to stay here, but if I'm going downtown again I'll come back for sure.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank psychedup74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your meeting. I am so pleased you found our accommodations comfortable and appreciate your kind words regarding our service. Our entire team looks forward to your return stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Although Portland residents, my husband and I booked a night at the Benson following a company party at the hotel, and while the place was convenient we were very disappointed at the condition of the place. This once grand hotel shows serious signs of age and neglect as the woodwork is banged up and either needs refinishing or repainting. The bathroom tub/shower also showed signs of mold or mildew. For convenience the place was adequate, but I have stayed at other Portland hotels that are much nicer and run about the same cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDXonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that your stay was less than satisfactory. We always strive to exceed our guests' expectations, and apologize for missing the mark on this occasion. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to serve you again and renew your feelings regarding our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Benson is just gorgeous - classic architecture, warm and friendly staff, and everything you need. If you're going to Portland to spend your time on the eastside, then maybe reconsider staying here, but if you're happy to be based downtown then you must stay here! I got a great deal during the post-Thanksgiving sale and couldn't have been happier with my time here. The rooms are gorgeous and I love that it was a pet-friendly hotel. Near everything, great gym, good room service.

Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate all of your feedback. We are happy you were pleased with our pet friendly accommodations and found our staff friendly and helpful! Thank you again for the kind words. We hope to see you and your Benson Buddy the next time you visit Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing