We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was poor planning on our part, not the hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was poor planning on our part, not the hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

First, please let me say that the Benson Hotel is magnificent. Their staff were all very helpful and courteous as well as professional. If my review were based on their service and quality alone, they would have all five...circles?...filled in. My partner and I planned our visit during what was, we came to find out, a VERY noisy weekend of city events. It was the weekend just prior to St. Patty's day 2014 and lots of noise both in the hotel and on the street were heard in our room. We both slept pretty badly and woke up tired. On the plus side, our bed was super comfortable, but were were still unable to get a good night's rest. I really loved the Hotel's ambiance but I don't think we'll be staying there again.

Room Tip: Our room was 7 floors up but facing a major traffic street. I'd recommend getting a room away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Chellita78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
I appreciate your kind comments regarding our helpful staff and comfortable beds, but am disappointed your visit did not meet the standards of hospitality we set for ourselves. I apologize that the City-wide St. Patrick’s Day festivities in Downtown Portland spoiled your evening. I do hope you will consider us for a future return stay and that we might regain your confidence in our property. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    611
    212
    89
    49
See reviews for
319
742
102
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel was just okay. The staff is friendly, and atmosphere is pleasant. The hotel has a historic feel, which was pretty cool. Hotel location is terrific! Delicious food trucks are three blocks away (5 minute walk). Shopping area is a 10 minute walk. Despite some of these positives, I don't think I will stay here again for several reasons. Hotel room is incredibly small. My partner and I stayed in a room with one queen size bed. There was barely any room for us to walk after we placed our suitcases flat on the floor (We both kept most of our belongings in the suitcase and lived out of the suitcase). Wifi connection was horrible. Both of us had laptops, and we got disconnected from wifi every few minutes. It was so incredibly frustrating! We didn't realize there was coffee available in the drawers until our third day there. It would've been nice if the hotel had placed a note about the hidden location of the coffee at a place that was more visible. I also didn't like the shower head. There were a few options for how the water came out of the shower head. None of the options were favorable to me. The water either came out spread with weak pressure or came out in a tiny strong cluster. I just didn't like it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank yjk311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I apologize for the issues you experienced. I am pleased to report we are undergoing a fiber upgrade to provide our guests with faster internet service. I will share your suggestions with the rest of our team so we can make improvements where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had an amazing time here at this beautiful hotel. Executive suite was super comfy especially the complimentary warm robes. Gym on the second floor is perfect way to start the day of with. Bell man was very nice as well.

Room Tip: Executive suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
It was our pleasure to serve you during your first trip to Portland. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff and accommodations. I am glad the Executive Suite suited you. We hope to become a tradition and welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

It was our first time in Portland and we were met with such friendly staff the moment we stepped out of our car. The hotel had such classic elegance. Rooms were clean. Slept very well. Really loved how centrally located the hotel is. Had a wonderful family weekend! Thank you Benson Hotel staff for making us feel welcome in your city!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank WGJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Your kind remarks about your experience at The Benson are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killara
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at the Benson for 3 night and found it to be a charming hotel centrally located. Whilst bathroom was small it was adequate, although lighting could be brighter. Room itself was comfortable and adequate. We would recommend the Benson to anyone visiting Portland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank MichaelPPrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for recommending The Benson Hotel. I appreciate your review and am glad our location was convenient for your PDX adventures. I look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel is classic and beautiful. Although the front desk ladies weren't the friendliest at check-in, the doormen and concierge more than made up for it, giving us detailed directions and suggestions of where to go. Great location, easy to get to different areas of Portland. Bathroom was a bit small with weak water pressure, but at least there are a lot of shelves to for storage. A 100 year old hotel, don't expect it to be hip and modern. However, if you like the classy type with chandeliers and fireplaces, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I hope we have the pleasure of serving you again on a return visit to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We gambled on Hotwire and ended up at the Benson. Because this was our first trip to Portland, we had no clue where the Benson was and what it would be like. To our pleasant surprise, the Benson was exactly where we had hoped to be. A 15 minute walk to almost everything we wanted to see and centrally located enough to access the city if we decided to travel a little further. We parked our car in at the Union Bank and left it there for the duration of the trip because we could just walk everywhere. The hotel itself was Art Deco in design, the room was a bit small but suited our needs as a couple. The staff was very friendly and offered great advice about the city. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to use any of the services and missed on the wine tasting on the weekend. That said, we're just going to have to find a reason to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see our location suited you and you enjoyed the ambiance of our historic hotel. I appreciate your feedback and look forward to sharing your comments with the rest of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing