We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical historic hotel”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

good location, great staff. Comfortable bed.
Street noise can be heard on the 10 th floor as well as screaming children down the hall.
Mold in shower grout and many surfaces in the room were grease-oliy.
Temp control device did not work, set to 60 degrees, however stayed at 72.
Bar and cafe prices were a big turn off, $ 11 for 2 eggs.
Better take out a loan for parking!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eastsidegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

I appreciate the feedback. I apologize that some of our features did not meet your standards. We will use your comments to continue improving the experience we provide our guests. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,197)
There are newer reviews for Benson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,230 - 1,236 of 2,197 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay and we were quite pleased. The decor is amazing. The staff was pleasant and friendly. Cordell (the bell hop) is super informative and helpful. We were upgraded to a junior ex suite. The room was roomy to say the least. The downsides: the furniture in our room was not super comfy to sit in; our door would not automatically close-you had to give it a hard tug; you could hear the noise outside on the streets-even with windows closed; and no room darkening curtains-there are pull down shades but those still allowed light in the morning.

Overall we enjoyed and would go again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mom2my4boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for the kind words! We are constantly trying to improve all aspects of the experience we provide, so we will take your feedback about our rooms to heart. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I just checked in here and was very disappointed at the dingy, old, worn out room they called a junior suite. At over $300 per night one would expect cleanliness, but my girlfriend and I are pretty grossed out. Layers of grime and oil from other people on the thirty year old phone made me hesitate to call and ask for a room change, but I called anyway and Linda, the manager, was unhelpful; basically dismissive. I called back and spoke with someone else who at least agreed, somewhat rudely, that she could put us in another room tomorrow night. We did have a choice of another suite on this floor and looked at it, but it was equally unattractive. Our view, btw, is of an old parking lot and the side of a building. Seriously, this place is a two star hotel with some dirty old grandma stuff draped on it. Very unclean. Stay away.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank peneloperose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that our service did not exceed your expectations. We are always working to improve our service and I will forward your comments to the appropriate staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We snagged a Hotwire deal at this gem of a place in Downtown Portland. The rooms were small but nicely appointed. The bed was comfortable. Our view was the white wall of the building next door (hardly something they had control over). The amenities were lovely and the room had robes!
This is a historic hotel that has had renovations. We attended a wedding here in 2000 and were unable to afford it. It was definitely worth the Hotwire price we paid. Be prepared to pay a hefty parking fee. It is $33 for valet parking or you can visit the parking garage across the street for $23 overnight. The thing I love about the area is you can walk or ride the Max so many places.
There was no guidebook in our room and it took a few tries to get a room service menu sent to us. I'll admit, I was hangry by the time we gave up and went downstairs to the restaurant.
When we arrived there was a wedding and a prom happening in the ballrooms. The lobby was bustling with activity but you couldn't hear any of it from the room.
The front desk service was fantastic. In the morning the bellman was incredibly engaging and cordial. We would like to come back and try it again sometime when we can stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the front side of the hotel if you want a decent view. It still may be the garage acr...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for the kind words! I am happy to hear you enjoyed our amenities and services. We hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Benson is in a good location, friendly staff, nice decor and room, good breakfasts and friendly staff. Would recommend staying here. Only criticism was you could hear the elevator all night in our room.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator if possible - you can hear it through the night
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne_WM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at The Benson Hotel. Our staff looks forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a beautiful old hotel with great public spaces. Tho not overly large, they make the most of what they have. The rooms are a bit tired - ready for some refreshing for sure. The tone on tone color scheme in the rooms just make them look bland and uninspired. The art on the walls is dull and too small for the space. The bathrooms are TINY and not even a towel bar to hang your bath towel to reuse it. But the staff makes me want to return - from the front desk to the valets to the bartenders, etc. We mentioned something to a staff member in passing in the elevator and he took it upon himself to follow through immediately even though it had nothing to do with his job. The location is great as there are many things you can walk to. That being said, you are in the middle of things and sometimes the street noise can be annoying if you are a light sleeper. Beds are comfy tho!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor if you are a light sleeper - there is street noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddipet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your feedback and will be forwarding your comments to the appropriate personnel. We strive to provide the best experience for our guests and apologize that our rooms were not to your liking. We do appreciate the kind comments about our staff and hope that you will give us another opportunity should your travels bring you to Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here while in town for a Trailblazers game, and wow...what a hotel!

We booked the junior suite and it was everything it was made out to be. When we pulled up, the valet staff was super helpful as my GF was on crutches so she had a tough time, but they got an A+ all the way.

Check in process was smooth and quick. Got up to the room and were blown away. Sad we could only stay for one night. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sosinsurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you very much for the feedback. I am glad our staff could provide you and your girlfriend with top-notch service. We are looking forward to your next visit. Go Blazers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 144 in Portland
2,108 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 144 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £140 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing