We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Spent two nights here, very traditional with valet parking and complimentary tea and coffee in the room (it's the only place that had it since we've been here). Impeccable service and they do a great burger in the Palm Court restaurant in the lobby. The happy hour there is great from 3-6 then 9-midnight , with beer and cider only $3 and $6 for a burger. A whole evening cost $60 so well worth it and gave a $10 tip. If you go you'll have to try the Spanish coffee, even if just for the theatre of the barman making it. The Lobby is beautiful and so pleasant to sit in with table service all evening. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelleandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I appreciate the kind words. I am happy that you enjoyed the burgers at the Palm Court. We pride ourselves on excellent cuisine and it is great to read you were pleased with our offering. I will forward your comments to our staff and I hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    611
    213
    89
    49
See reviews for
320
742
102
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Squamish, BC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a beautiful place. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location - close to everything within walking distance in downtown or even the TriMet to get to other places.
Parking was a bit pricey at $33 per day, but worth it. There are some sketchy places in downtown Portland that I wouldn't like to leave my car unattended.
My only complaint would be the screeching bat that kept me awake all night. (No, not in the room!) I think he had made a nest outside our window.
Overall, a lovely place that I would certainly return to.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bats in the belfry.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for writing a review. I apologize about the noisy situation! I will forward your comments to the proper personnel and we will work on improving our guest experience. I hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We usually stay at mid priced hotels, but we used credit card points to stay here last weekend. We had a very nice 3 night stay with a room overlooking Broadway- great view. The lobby is beautiful, as it is on the National Historic Registry. All service was excellent. Many different members of the staff helped with directions and information about the area. We didn't spend much time in our room because Portland has so much to see, but the bed was comfortable and everything was clean, which is all we really ask for in a hotel. It is extremely well situated. We always felt safe (in Portland everywhere, actually.) Mostly we walked, but the public transportation is great and within a few blocks. After checkout, they kept our bags until 6:00 pm and we walked just 5 minutes to the MAX station at Pioneer Square to go to the airport.

Room Tip: East side has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I appreciate the feedback! I am glad you found all aspects of our hotel satisfying, from our central location to our amazing staff. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

A beautiful hotel in a great location. The staff did their jobs and were friendly. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. What more do you need. On the funny side one floor when you call for the down elevator the up one stops. Bet they fixed that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjimeverard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for the review. I’m glad you enjoyed your room and hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great location for a classic old guard hotel. We stayed here when Portland was having a boil water notice and the staff was handing out free bottles to everyone. We were a little nervous about taking a shower or using any water, but just decided that it would be like a trip to Mexico and made the best of it.

Great bar in the lobby that had some interesting local color having a drink.

Walk to everything downtown. I wish they had onsite parking, but found a spot on the street without too much trouble.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxwell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave us feedback. I am happy to read that our services were to your liking. We hope you will choose to stay with us during your next visit to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island,NY
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Benson is situated in easy walking distance from the Tri Met light rail system. Easily doable if you only have carry on airline luggage. About 7 minute walk from Pioneer Square MAX stop.

The nicely panel lobby with coffered ceiling make a great first impression. Check in staff were friendly and helpful.

Palm Court restaurant in lobby is great for for at very reasonable prices. Quality of food is excellent. Our waiter R, Mr. Wong made sure we had everything we needed.

Tom at the concierge desk was always helpful, made great suggestion of what to see in Portland. Made reservations for a few shows with us. Great service by Tom.

Room was larger than most regular rooms at a major branded hotel.

Noticed some well known people in lobby, not sure if the were guests or not.

Lobby is great to sit in have a drink and read the paper, make you feel you are in an Ivy league alumni club.

As in any hotel, there is a need for fresh paint here and there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I appreciate your review. I’m glad you enjoyed our amenities and our central location. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our experience at the Benson Hotel was a delight from start to finish! While the setting was exquisite, what makes this an outstanding hotel are the people - from bell staff to front desk, restaurant wait staff to housekeeping personnel. From check-in to departure, we were treated with professionalism, warmth, courtesy, and a genuine concern for our comfort and satisfaction. This attitude is not accidental - it is a very deliberate culture from the top on down. Congratulations on a job very well done - and we look forward to many more visits!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ahtenfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for the review. I am happy to read that your stay was an enjoyable one. I will forward your kind words to our staff and I hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing