We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #18 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I enjoyed The Benson Hotel very much for our four night stay. The hotel was elegant, beautifully designed and well serviced by ample staff. We felt quite secure and all our requests were easily met. Access to TriMet transportation is excellent and there are some good neighborhood restaurants within short walking distances. We were very happy with our choice of lodging and had a relaxing and interesting Portland vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirtythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for choosing The Benson Hotel during your vacation to Portland. I am glad that you were pleased with our ambiance and accommodations. It was our pleasure to serve you and we certainly appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,286 - 1,292 of 2,284 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Grand Old Hotel with amazing food in the heart of downtown Portland, OR. Amazing location. Piano bar. Wonderful food. If you're traveling to Portland for business or pleasure this is the place to stay. The staff has been there for years. It's always a pleasure to visit this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

At The Benson Hotel, we appreciate your loyal patronage. I am glad you would recommend staying with us for both business trips and leisurely vacations. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is over a hundred years old and the only way youd know it is the fabulous old lighting and such
It was bright clean and the staff were extremly friendly and helpful
The room service was fast and the food arrived hot and tasty
Other hotels in the area were 100.00 a night more so this hotel was even a great deal

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for providing a review. I am glad you enjoyed the quality and efficiency of our room service. Your comments will be shared with the rest of our team. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Benson Hotel on future trips to Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Everything is great for the Benson Hotel - the customer service, the great location, historic property. Only thing that holds the hotel back is something that has been commented on previously here on Trip Advisor. We were on the 9th floor and it sound like the traffic was right outside our window. Quite loud at night - time for some sound proof windows please!

Room Tip: Get a room on the highest floor you can - I cannot even fathom how loud it was down on the third or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Popoki63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your compliments regarding our location, friendly team and historic accommodations. I appreciate your comments and will utilize your feedback in future planning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

good location, near both the light rail and the streetcar---plenty of shopping nearby and good eats---great old place and the service was very good---there isn't a gift shop inside but the front desk can provide you with most items and there is certainly plenty of quick item stores around the area---my only complaint would be that the bed was too soft and the towels were pretty scratchy but would definitely stay there again when the need arises

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikesmutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

I apologize that you didn’t enjoy our Tempurpedic mattress. At The Benson Hotel we do have bed options from which to choose and we would be happy to provide you with a room that meets your preferences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Pretty much loved everything about our stay at the Benson in Portland. It really is a beautiful, historic hotel (but the rooms are very modern-fyi). the staff was great, in particular the bellmen and the concierge. My wife and I did a quick trip to celebrate our 21st anniversary and my bday. We caught a concert while there, and skipped the car and used the pretty awesome public transportation in Portland. The hotel is easy walking distance to everywhere you'd probably want to be-including the train to airport. Walk like four small blocks and for 10 bucks (round trip for 2) you can get to and from the airport with your luggage. I think the Benson hotel is a classy, affordable way to stay in Portland,a nd would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: They do an upgrade deal if rooms are available at no extra charge-they did ours automatically but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank rocketman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to celebrate both your birthday and anniversary with us! I am glad you found our central location convenient and that you were able to utilize Portland’s transportation system. We hope to become a tradition and welcome you back for future special occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at the Benson when we drove down from Vancouver, B.C. for a concert recently. The hotel is located in the downtown district and we only had to walk 5 - 6 city blocks to get to the venue. The Benson has a beautiful lobby and the rooms are certainly adequate. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am glad you found The Benson Hotel centrally located and close to all Portland has to offer. I appreciate your recommendation and look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,865 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 144 in Portland
2,195 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,438 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £120 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing