We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Charm”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Benson for 3 nights in June and was amazed at this establishment. It opened in 1912 and has been lovingly restored over the years to the tune of several million dollars. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful without the insincerity that is prevelant in so many places. They really seemed to care. The hotel is within easy walking to Powell's, Henrys or the market.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and courteous team members. We really appreciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,232 - 1,238 of 2,234 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Staff in this hotel are fantastic. The front desk staff are all girls, and are sweethearts. Very helpful and accommodating. The conceirge is also really nice and friendly and can help with any of your routes/suggestions/etc. The valets are very prompt and extremely nice! They will help you with all your bags, and will do the NYC "TAXXXXXIIIIIIIIII scream/whistle" haha. It's pretty cool (remember to give them a tip!) The rooms are big, and we found them very comfy. We got the King Size bed with a few of Broadway street, on the 8th floor, and it was fantastic!! I would definitely recommend this hotel. It's pretty cheap for a 4 star to begin with, and if you can get a deal it's really worth while! Keep in mind, gym is free, 10% off at macy's, and free internet WIFI, and free wine tasting every weekend! (not to mention the lobby is literally AMAZING)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out over Broadway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DominicO20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

I appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and look forward to sharing your feedback with our front desk team and concierge. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our amenities and the view from your room. Portland has so much to explore, I hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I often worry about room size at older, classic hotels but I needn't have worried at the Benson. I had a 2 queen room and we had plenty of room - and that included the bathroom that had to house all the beauty accoutrements of two women. Shelves galore! The location was perfect, right downtown and an easy walk to everything. The staff of the hotel was very nice and very accommodating of requests. I was there on business and had nice bottles of wine delivered to the artists I was working with and the staff was very helpful, even making sure if the bottles weren't taken that they get returned to me. The only issue I had was that they charged me a 20% room service fee on that...I was expecting to tip the person helping me. The lobby has coffee in the morning, the bar/restaurant was very cozy and right in the lobby and very nice for an after work drink. The piano player was very fun - did a slow, nice song that took us a minute to recognize as "Wrecking Ball." It became the song of the weekend! We also had a lovely breakfast there. There isn't on-site parking but there is parking across the street in a garage. The Benson does have valet but it is $33 per day (with in and out privileges). I usually stay at the Heathman but the Benson gives it a run for its money. Next trip it will be a tough decision as to where I am staying!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for the five star feedback. I am so glad you found our historic hotel spacious and that you enjoyed the live music in The Palm Court. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back the next time you find yourself in Portland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was my favourite hotel on our 2 week journey along the west coast USA: we stayed in quite a few on the way, and The Benson was the best. We were there for 2 nights.

It’s wonderfully old-fashioned, posh but friendly, beautiful, clean, spacious, quiet - everything a hotel should be. Our room was very clean, with a huge comfortable bed (could happily sleep there all day), nicely presented. Lots of space for your luggage, good shower, good service, parking (paid) just underneath the hotel - everything you need for comfort and rest.

And, they serve the best cooked breakfast ever! The bacon is to die for. I really enjoyed it, and had it twice. Kept trying to get it in other places, but no one can replicate it. The service was fast and very good. The dining room is grand - with beautiful chandeliers, elegant furnishings, starched napkins and very polite waiters in bow ties. It makes you feel special, and it isn’t even hugely expensive.

I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a comfortable stay and a first-class full English (well, in this case, American) breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank praskovya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

I am honored that we were your favorite hotel during your visit to the West Coast. Your compliments regarding our breakfast are appreciated, and I look forward to sharing them with The Palm Court staff. I hope your travels bring you back our way again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I enjoyed The Benson Hotel very much for our four night stay. The hotel was elegant, beautifully designed and well serviced by ample staff. We felt quite secure and all our requests were easily met. Access to TriMet transportation is excellent and there are some good neighborhood restaurants within short walking distances. We were very happy with our choice of lodging and had a relaxing and interesting Portland vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirtythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for choosing The Benson Hotel during your vacation to Portland. I am glad that you were pleased with our ambiance and accommodations. It was our pleasure to serve you and we certainly appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Grand Old Hotel with amazing food in the heart of downtown Portland, OR. Amazing location. Piano bar. Wonderful food. If you're traveling to Portland for business or pleasure this is the place to stay. The staff has been there for years. It's always a pleasure to visit this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

At The Benson Hotel, we appreciate your loyal patronage. I am glad you would recommend staying with us for both business trips and leisurely vacations. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is over a hundred years old and the only way youd know it is the fabulous old lighting and such
It was bright clean and the staff were extremly friendly and helpful
The room service was fast and the food arrived hot and tasty
Other hotels in the area were 100.00 a night more so this hotel was even a great deal

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for providing a review. I am glad you enjoyed the quality and efficiency of our room service. Your comments will be shared with the rest of our team. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Benson Hotel on future trips to Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 144 in Portland
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,838 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 144 in Portland
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £131 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing